What's new

Should I Give Asus Another Chance?

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Faluzure

New Around Here
I guess first thing I should do is state that I'm not new to networking. I'm an IT professional and know the ins-and-outs of networking but that is besides the point... My questions are based on the quality of Asus and to let you know of my past history.

I've never had a bad experience with Asus hardware (motherboards, graphics cards etc) until I purchased their N56U router. In the past I've used Linksys/Cisco-Linksys/Netgear related routers. I bought it several years ago when I got rid of DSL and went to Comcast. After looking at what was available at the time, I thought I'd give the Asus a try vs other brands (seeing how their other hardware never failed me).

At first, the product was amazing. Blistering speeds, great range on 2.4 GHz but poor range with 5 GHz (but I didn't use 5 GHz at the time). However over time, this device started getting worse and worse (both wired and wireless) and WAN connectivity.

My problems are that connectivity to the router itself from clients AND WAN connectivity from the router will simply die for 20-30 seconds at a time.

[[ Client Connectivity ]]