1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

TP-Link AC1200 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router Archer C5 V2 Reviewed

Discussion in 'Wireless Article Discussions' started by thiggins, Sep 7, 2016.

  1. thiggins

    thiggins Mr. Easy Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    13,841
    [​IMG]
    TP-LINK's AC1200 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router Archer C5 V2 is a very different router than the original.

    Read on SmallNetBuilder
     
  2. ndrp

    ndrp Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2014
    Messages:
    46
    Can you turn Archer C5 V2's Ethernet flow controll off?

    The measured WAN to LAN throughput is 919 Mbps. What happens when WAN to LAN traffic simultaneusly goes to 100 Mbps client and 1000 Mbps client?
     
  3. thiggins

    thiggins Mr. Easy Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    13,841
    Not that I know of

    I don't understand your question.
     
  4. ndrp

    ndrp Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2014
    Messages:
    46
    If I connect 100 Mbps and 1000 Mbps client to Archer does one get 800 Mbps and other 100 Mbps.

    If I use a separate switch I get only 100 + 100 Mbps when slower client is downloading. If 100 Mbps client is to connected to Archer is gigabit connection limited to 100 Mbps?
     
  5. thiggins

    thiggins Mr. Easy Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    13,841
    I haven't run the experiment, so can't answer the question.
     
  6. ndrp

    ndrp Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2014
    Messages:
    46
    My Asus RT-N18 doesn't like mixed 100 and 1000 Mbps clients.

    WAN to LAN:
    Gigabit client: 938 Mbps
    100 Mbps client: 94 Mbps
    Both downloading at the same time: 104 Mbps and 93 Mbps.

    I limited one computer's speed to 10/10 Mbps. Now gigabit client got only 11 Mbps. 10/10 client got 9,4 Mbps.
     
  7. thiggins

    thiggins Mr. Easy Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    13,841
    I know of no router that exposes Ethernet flow control controls. This feature is available only on managed / smart switches.

    What happens when you disable flow control on the NICs?

    We did this article on flow control awhile ago.
     
  8. ndrp

    ndrp Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2014
    Messages:
    46
    That doesn't help when the server is on WAN side. If server is on LAN side disabling the flow controll on the server NIC solves the problem.

    When server is on the WAN side enabling or disabling the flow controll has no effect. I think the problem is between the WAN port and the switch.

    I forwarded a port to 10/10 Mbps client. When sending 15 Mbps UDP traffic from WAN to 10/10 Mbps client traffic to gigabit client stops.

    Code:
    Iperf3
    - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
    [  5]  48.00-49.00  sec  37.2 MBytes  312 Mbits/sec
    [  7]  48.00-49.00  sec  37.1 MBytes  311 Mbits/sec
    [  9]  48.00-49.00  sec  36.9 MBytes  310 Mbits/sec
    [SUM]  48.00-49.00  sec  111 MBytes  933 Mbits/sec
    - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
    [  5]  49.00-50.00  sec  36.3 MBytes  304 Mbits/sec
    [  7]  49.00-50.00  sec  36.1 MBytes  303 Mbits/sec
    [  9]  49.00-50.00  sec  36.1 MBytes  303 Mbits/sec
    [SUM]  49.00-50.00  sec  109 MBytes  910 Mbits/sec
    - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
    [  5]  50.00-51.00  sec  25.5 MBytes  214 Mbits/sec
    [  7]  50.00-51.00  sec  25.6 MBytes  215 Mbits/sec
    [  9]  50.00-51.00  sec  25.6 MBytes  215 Mbits/sec
    [SUM]  50.00-51.00  sec  76.7 MBytes  644 Mbits/sec
    - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
    [  5]  51.00-52.00  sec  0.00 Bytes  0.00 bits/sec
    [  7]  51.00-52.00  sec  0.00 Bytes  0.00 bits/sec
    [  9]  51.00-52.00  sec  0.00 Bytes  0.00 bits/sec
    [SUM]  51.00-52.00  sec  0.00 Bytes  0.00 bits/sec
    - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
    [  5]  52.00-53.00  sec  0.00 Bytes  0.00 bits/sec
    [  7]  52.00-53.00  sec  0.00 Bytes  0.00 bits/sec
    [  9]  52.00-53.00  sec  0.00 Bytes  0.00 bits/sec
    [SUM]  52.00-53.00  sec  0.00 Bytes  0.00 bits/sec
    - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
    
     
  9. Samir

    Samir Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    701
    Location:
    HSV
    I just read this article and was wondering how the v2 and the ea6350 mentioned in the article would fare as just access points? The contender they're up against is the ac1700 comcast all in one that my wife loves...
     
  10. thiggins

    thiggins Mr. Easy Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    13,841
    Their radio performance would be the same whether AP or router.
     
  11. Samir

    Samir Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    701
    Location:
    HSV
    Thank you. But how would each fare against the contender?