What's new

Upgrade to PC Router for Torrents?

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Assimilator87

New Around Here
Hey guys! Finally joined this very knowledgeable forum :) I'm a networking noob so please bare with me. So whenever I turn on torrents, my internet cuts out. I'm guessing I can mess with the maximum connection settings to solve this issue, but I'd prefer to leave the settings at infinite and just throw more processing power at it. Is the maximum number of connections possible pretty much determined by the router's CPU speed? If so, I have a 1.5Ghz Athlon XP system lying around, collecting dust, and was wondering if that would be sufficient to handle any workload imaginable. If the PC router is the way to go, I'll definitely need some help setting it up and would greatly appreciate your assistance.

Thanks everyone!

Hey guys! Finally joined this very knowledgeable forum :) I'm a networking noob so please bare with me. So whenever I turn on torrents, my internet cuts out. I'm guessing I can mess with the maximum connection settings to solve this issue, but I'd prefer to leave the settings at infinite and just throw more processing power at it. Is the maximum number of connections possible pretty much determined by the router's CPU speed? If so, I have a 1.5Ghz Athlon XP system lying around, collecting dust, and was wondering if that would be sufficient to handle any workload imaginable. If the PC router is the way to go, I'll definitely need some help setting it up and would greatly appreciate your assistance.

Thanks everyone!