What's new

VPN Service Settings on Router using Asuswrt-Merlin

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

polarvista

Occasional Visitor
I have recently signed up for VPN service through Private Internet Access (PIA), and I am able to successfully browse/download using their Windows client software, with minimal drop in speeds (1.9Mbs dropped to 1.7Mbs). I am interested in setting up the VPN settings on the RT-N66U, once the Asuswrt-Merlin firmware has been flashed on the router. I am new to VPN but appreciate the wealth of information the forum contributors offer, so I wanted to see if the DD-WRT settings provided by the VPN service company would apply to the Asuswrt-Merlin build as well:

DD-WRT: VPN PPTP Setup

1. In DD-WRT, access the VPN tab found under the Services section.
2. Enable the PPTP Client.
3. Set the Server IP or DNS Name to us-midwest.privateinternetaccess.com.
4. Set the MPPE Encryption to mppe required,no40,no56,stateless.
5. Enable NAT.
6. Enter your User name and Password.
7. If these steps do not work, please setup PPTP in the WAN section instead.

DD-WRT: VPN OpenVPN Setup

1. Access the Administration area and then go to Commands and finally Startup.
2. Enter the following:
echo username >> /tmp/password.txt
echo password >> /tmp/password.txt
/usr/bin/killall openvpn
/usr/sbin/openvpn --config /tmp/openvpncl/openvpn.conf --route-up /tmp/openvpncl/route-up.sh --down-pre /tmp/openvpncl/route-down.sh --daemon​
3. Access the VPN tab found under the Services section.
4. Enable the OpenVPN Client.
5. Set the Server IP/name to us-midwest.privateinternetaccess.com [*].
6. Set the Port to 1194.
7. Set the Tunnel Device to TUN.
8. Set the Tunnel Protocol to UDP.
9. Set the Encryption Cipher to Blowfish CBC (Default).