What's new

would like to connect two routers

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

smgchandler

New Around Here
i have a rt n66 and a ac66 that i would like to connect together - purpose is having extra wired connections in den and longer range for wireless and also i am getting tivo roamio and possibly tivo mini to use over the air with antennae in near future - i am not an expert but have set up one router before but that is the extent of my experience here so -- i dont understand bridge or even my choices here so keep that in mind. Also i might want to wirelessly reconnect a set of 4 security cameras that i have that used a dvr hard wired- at one time- due to lightning i had to replace routers that it was set up on but that will be later after i figure the two routers out !! i dont really need to be able to transfer files from different computers in the house - just to receive good wireless signal for hd tv and ipads cellphones etc - i appreciate in suggestions you have to offer even if i picked the wrong routers i am open to all suggestions thanks

In an ideal scenario you would have one of your devices as a wireless router (the default setup) and then run an Ethernet cable from it to the other device in a remote location. The second device would be configured in "Access Point(AP) mode".

That way you have maximum wireless coverage as well as the availability of wired connections in both locations.