Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

[Alpha] Asuswrt-Merlin 382.1 Alpha

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by RMerlin, Sep 25, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. RMerlin

    RMerlin Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    24,220
    Location:
    Canada
    Can either of you get me some exact steps to reproduce it? Even after editing two different clients, they both kept their custom content here.

    Check the output of the following command:

    Code:
    nvram show | grep vpn.*_custom
    
    It should show one _custom entry for all five clients. If not, then it might indicate some default values are missing/undefined.
     
  2. LouisvilleUK

    LouisvilleUK Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2015
    Messages:
    35
    For me, I upload .ovpn file and hit “apply”. Within Custom Configuration I have the following:

    remote-cert-tls server
    fast-io
    sndbuf 524288
    rcvbuf 524288
    auth-nocache
    pull-filter ignore client-ip
    pull-filter ignore block-ipv6
    pull-filter ignore socket-flags
    pull-filter ignore reneg-sec

    On reboot, only the first line is there: remote-cert-tls server. Everything else is gone.

    Output:
    vpn_client1_custom=remote-cert-tls server
    vpn_client2_custom=
    vpn_client3_custom=
    vpn_client4_custom=
    vpn_client5_custom=
    vpn_client_custom=remote-cert-tls server
    vpn_server1_custom=
    vpn_server2_custom=
    vpn_server_custom=
    size: 60739 bytes (70333 left)
     
  3. RMerlin

    RMerlin Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    24,220
    Location:
    Canada
    I see it now. It's not getting erased, it's getting truncated after a reboot.
     
  4. RMerlin

    RMerlin Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    24,220
    Location:
    Canada
    Any nvram value that contains a carriage return seems to get truncated now. And since libnvram is now closed source... Sigh.
     
  5. Jack Yaz

    Jack Yaz Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2017
    Messages:
    621
    "Progress" am i right?
     
  6. MacG32

    MacG32 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2017
    Messages:
    44
    Location:
    PT US
    There are connected clients not showing up in the Client View List, but they are visible in Wireless Log and DHCP leases. They are connected to 2.4GHz. Trying to change settings to get them to show up again. They showed up before.

    [Accept DNS Configuration: Exclusive] and [Redirect Internet traffic: Policy Rules (strict)] still shows my ISP's DNS in https://ipleak.net .

    This was in the log. It's the first time I've seen a jffs2 warning. kernel: jffs2: warning: (14647) jffs2_sum_write_data: Not enough space for summary, padsize = -171 .

    There's nothing listed under Port Forwarding.

    Disable Asusnat tunnel: I set it to No and the 2.4GHz clients showed back up in the Client View List.

    Clients with Blocked internet access that are 2.4GHz clients are showing as wired Interfaces without Tx/Rx Rates and Access times in the Client View List, even though they stream music and videos via Samba shares.

    Rebooted today and ports are being forwarded under Port Forwarding.
     
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2017
  7. RMerlin

    RMerlin Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    24,220
    Location:
    Canada
    See this post.
     
    MacG32 likes this.
  8. RMerlin

    RMerlin Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    24,220
    Location:
    Canada
    I uploaded a new build.

    Code:
    06a182f Bump revision to alpha 3; updated documentation
    23ec29b webui: fixed field validation on Tools->Other Settings page
    8e9789e webui: improve/fix field validation on OpenVPN client and server pages
    78f61e3 webui: allow dots in validator.safeName method
    caa44af webui: limit OpenVPN logging verbosity to 6 - higher levels require compiling OpenVPN with debug enabled
    81dd0e9 rc: implement boot time migration of VPN custom into base64-encoded custom2
    f4f8858 openvpn: store custom configs base64-encoded
    3a7f84d webui: store the digest value instead of the digest label (was broken by d12b9a3991ab4eaa1e5a64841b0c5a2deae18889)
    0322b27 rc: enable rate report for HTB classifier on HND (for QoS stats report) (Closes #29)
    4f5750b iproute2-4.x: fix location of config files
    f8a987b openvpn: define default NCP ciphers for OpenVPN clients
    
     
    MacG32 likes this.
  9. .TT.

    .TT. Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2016
    Messages:
    20
  10. LouisvilleUK

    LouisvilleUK Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2015
    Messages:
    35
    First, thank you RMerlin for spending time on 86U development!

    Wow, VERY nice performance with OpenVPN. I’m getting full throughput of 200 down with cipher AES-128-GCM.

    A couple things I’m seeing with OpenVPN:
    - Redirect internet traffic must be set to All in order to route clients through VPN. Policy Rules (strict) is still not routing clients.
    - Custom Configuration options are now sticking around after reboot. However, when I upload .opvn file, it will not accept: pull-filter ignore “reneg-sec”. When I manually add to Custom Config and hit Apply, it goes away.
     
    admiral2145 likes this.
  11. .TT.

    .TT. Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2016
    Messages:
    20
    Just noticed bandwidth monitor/traffic analyzer shows all VPN traffic as upload.
     
  12. MacG32

    MacG32 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2017
    Messages:
    44
    Location:
    PT US
    I'm getting connected through an OpenVPN Client, but my ISP's DNS is leaking.
     
  13. jim769

    jim769 Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    Messages:
    741
    Location:
    USA, Michigan
    Sorry off topic. And you hate these questions but any time line at all for the 88 and 3100 ???
     
  14. KnightRider

    KnightRider Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2017
    Messages:
    15
  15. jim769

    jim769 Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    Messages:
    741
    Location:
    USA, Michigan
  16. RMerlin

    RMerlin Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    24,220
    Location:
    Canada
    Works properly for me, both Policy Rule and Policy Rule (strict) mode.

    Nothing new there, been the same in the past due to how traffic monitoring works.

    I don't. I won't begin looking at the 382 GPL release for the AC88 and AC3100 until I'm done with the AC86U, whenever that will happen. I don't even know yet if that 159xx GPL is compatible with the 164xx GPL currently used by 382.1.
     
  17. jim769

    jim769 Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    Messages:
    741
    Location:
    USA, Michigan
    Thank You !!!
     
  18. RMerlin

    RMerlin Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    24,220
    Location:
    Canada
    Works for me. One thing to note however, if your file is UTF-8 encoded, it might not display the " " properly in the Custom area. This issue also existed in previous releases, and is only cosmetic - the config.ovpn file is properly read and parsed by OpenVPN.

    I'll "flatten" the UTF-8 content so it displays properly in the textarea field.
     
  19. .TT.

    .TT. Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2016
    Messages:
    20
    Has robocfg function been removed on this platform?
    Is there any other way to set duplex manually?
     
  20. RMerlin

    RMerlin Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    24,220
    Location:
    Canada
    Robocfg does not support the network switch used by the RT-AC86U.

    There are new Broadcom replacements, but they are proprietary tools and therefore we have no documentation as to how to use them to do anything.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page