Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

[Alpha] Asuswrt-Merlin 382.1 Alpha

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by RMerlin, Sep 25, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. .TT.

    .TT. Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2016
    Messages:
    20
    Ok, thanks =)

    Found the proper command if anyone needs it.
    "ethctl eth0 [email protected] enable " solved my connection problem and i can finally remove my second router. (issue also present in Asus original FW)
    You can also use:
    ethctl <interface> media-type [option]
    [option]: auto - auto select
    2500FD - 2500Mb, Full Duplex
    1000FD - 1000Mb, Full Duplex
    1000HD - 1000Mb, Half Duplex
    100FD - 100Mb, Full Duplex
    100HD - 100Mb, Half Duplex
    10FD - 10Mb, Full Duplex
    10HD - 10Mb, Half Duplex
     
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2017
    ChriscomIT likes this.
  2. princi

    princi Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    Messages:
    63
    Do you notice any benefit from using fast-io in your OVPN parameters?

    Maybe I should try it.
     
  3. MacG32

    MacG32 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2017
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    PT US
    Port Forwarding for the VPN isn't showing up. Memory is staying at 94% usage. I also noticed that dates and times skip around in the log.
     
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2017
  4. RMerlin

    RMerlin Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    24,184
    Location:
    Canada
    It's a timezone issue. The change from uclibc to glibc means quite a few changes relative to environment. Asus is apparently still sorting things out, as they just added zoneinfo data with the last release.
     
    MacG32 likes this.
  5. Temchenko

    Temchenko Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2017
    Messages:
    15
    RMerlin
    How about Trend Micro stuff on alpha builds(QOS, Security)? Are they still buggy? Would you recommended enabling them?
     
  6. RMerlin

    RMerlin Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    24,184
    Location:
    Canada
    382_16644 contained the new version of the Trend Micro engine, which should generally be more stable. Beyond that I can't comment, as I don't use the RT-AC86U on my network.
     
  7. Broken Hope

    Broken Hope Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Messages:
    39
    Is the WiFi-Rader stuff supposed to work? Always shows 0% channel capacity and the site survey stuff always just shows my router and nothing else.
     
  8. RMerlin

    RMerlin Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    24,184
    Location:
    Canada
    You have to enable Data Collection on the Configuration tab, then wait a minute or two.
     
  9. Broken Hope

    Broken Hope Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Messages:
    39
    Yeah that got the graphs working, thanks. Just got the AC86U today and put Merlin straight on, seems to be working fine so far.
     
  10. Broken Hope

    Broken Hope Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Messages:
    39
    I know you said it was closed source now but network map doesn't seem to work very well to see the manufacturer of the device, when you hover over the icon it just says loading manufacturer and never actually does.
     
  11. RMerlin

    RMerlin Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    24,184
    Location:
    Canada
    No longer under my control.
     
  12. KnightRider

    KnightRider Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2017
    Messages:
    15
    Best to report it to Asus support!
     
  13. Broken Hope

    Broken Hope Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Messages:
    39
    Which email/site do I use for that?
     
  14. stambeccuccio

    stambeccuccio Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2015
    Messages:
    209
    Location:
    Italy
    MacG32 likes this.
  15. Broken Hope

    Broken Hope Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Messages:
    39
    I didn’t report it via the router page but via the support link on the website, I just got a generic copy and paste regarding resetting and flashing the router.

    Any idea how to do a proper bug report?
     
  16. RMerlin

    RMerlin Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    24,184
    Location:
    Canada
    New test build uploaded. As the remaining OpenVPN issues should be resolved, I upgraded it to 2.4.4.

    Code:
    bbf3994 openvpn: update to 2.4.4
    14a9a9a dhd: add prebuilt dhd tool for SDK7114
    4c67600 bwdpi: fix prebuilt folder names for HND
    b233a4a build: add gitignore so user-created toolchain symlinks won't get staged
    460f0a5 wlceventd: make prebuild sdk-specific rather than arch-specific
    88a710b iptables: added ipt_account userspace lib for non-HND
    05ec0a8 rc: fixed a few corner cases were stealth mode wouldn't be respected
    fc7f4c9 et: add missing et userspace tool on SDK7114
    099b95b Merge branch 'sdk7'
    4269f4d nfs: NFS fixes:
    9d4aacf rc: only use MASQUERADE --mode on HND platform
    984ca96 sdk7114: implement kludges for using SDK7114 binary blobs from 382_15850 with GPL 382_16466
    bcde9eb Merge AM380.68_4 SDK7114; merge RT-AC88U and RT-AC3100 binary blobs from GPL 382_15850
    68aec78 dnsmasq: update to 2.78
    a7bc772 webui: don't override rtkswitch port status with stale data, so we can use the updated values obtained through ajax
    0f1d22b webui: fix incorrect access to qos_sched value when enabling QoS
    d86e483 webui: add leading zero to DHCP lease values, for better layout and also fix sorting by remaining time
    52ef767 rstats: add missing parameter to _dprintf() call that might otherwise cause it to segfault
    94cbfa6 openvpn: make helper scripts more robust to search path collisions
    1d8d271 build: removing memaccess, hoping nothing needs it.
    2b40e6e webui: replace atob()/btoa() functions with replacements that can handle UTF8
    
     
    MacG32 and LouisvilleUK like this.
  17. john9527

    john9527 Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Messages:
    4,702
    Location:
    United States
    Did you run into breakage in the ASUS openvpn mods (setting nvram error state) as a result of the changes in openvpn route.c? (They removed a variable declaration that's required for a function call to get data to set the state)
     
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2017
  18. RMerlin

    RMerlin Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    24,184
    Location:
    Canada
    No, it compiled fine here without any change.
     
  19. john9527

    john9527 Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Messages:
    4,702
    Location:
    United States
    Took a look at your repositories....you didn't carry the '--enable-iproute2' compile flag on the 382 code. You'll see it when you add 2.4.4 to the 380 code which has that flag. It's a pretty easy fix for the ASUS added code.
     
  20. MacG32

    MacG32 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2017
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    PT US
    Upgraded to the new test build. OpenVPN is working excellent. There are no DNS leaks. All of the clients, except the connected client, are showing up in the Client List with Asusnat tunnel disabled. All of the Forwarded Ports are showing. Memory usage is at 75-77%. Wi-Fi Radar isn't working, but I think it's due to Wireless MAC Filtering.

    Was going to use my old 68P as a repeater, but the 86U's signal reaches out much farther. My farthest computer, 38ft (11.5824m) and through 4 walls away, now has full signal at 5GHz.

    When using Wireless | General | 5GHz | Protected Management Frames: Capable, the signal speed drops to a max of 54Mbps with a bandwidth of 20MHz while only using 802.11a and the control channel. I noticed my TV buffering from a stream, turned on Acrylic Wi-Fi and that's what it reported. When I disabled Protected Management Frames, it went back to 1733.4Mbps with a bandwidth of 80MHz while using 802.11a,n, & ac and all 4 channels. The Guest Networks are not affected.

    Thank you @RMerlin for all of your great work! I appreciate it very much so!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page