amtm amtm - the Asuswrt-Merlin Terminal Menu

  • ATTENTION! You'll notice a Prefix dropdown when you create a thread. If your post applies to one of the topics listed, please use that Prefix for your post. When browsing the thread list you can use the Prefix to filter the view.
  • ATTENTION! As of November 1, 2020, you are not able to reply to threads 6 months after the thread is opened if there are more than 500 posts in the thread.
    Threads will not be locked, so posts may still be edited by their authors.
    Just start a new thread on the topic to post if you get an error message when trying to reply to a thread.

thelonelycoder

Part of the Furniture
For me, the installation command does nothing.

Code:
# curl -Os https://raw.githubusercontent.com/decoderman/amtm/master/amtm && sh amtm
#
How could it and where did you get that line?
The # out-comments it. Remove the #.
 

Makaveli

Very Senior Member
This is very cool thank you for doing this.

Skynet has peeked my interest and wouldn't mind using this for the install. However i'm not sure of the benefits of Skynet I should post in the skynet thread don't want to derail.
 

thelonelycoder

Part of the Furniture
This is very cool thank you for doing this.

Skynet has peeked my interest and wouldn't mind using this for the install. However i'm not sure of the benefits of Skynet I should post in the skynet thread don't want to derail.
I'm doing nothing else but run the scripts maintainers exact install command.
amtm saves you to paste or remember these.
 

skeal

Part of the Furniture
This is very cool thank you for doing this.

Skynet has peeked my interest and wouldn't mind using this for the install. However i'm not sure of the benefits of Skynet I should post in the skynet thread don't want to derail.
Let me say IMHO this set of scripts is the best! You won't find a better supported solution.
 

Raphie

Senior Member
In the terminal, enter
Code:
cd /opt/bin
then
Code:
ls
About 10 binaries should be listed. One of them called ab-solution.
I get below
ASUSWRT-Merlin RT-AC5300 380.68-4 Wed Oct 4 19:03:28 UTC 2017
[email protected]:/tmp/home/root# cd /opt/bin
[email protected]:/tmp/mnt/AB-Solution/entware/bin# ls
ab-solution firewall localedef.new pixelserv-tls xargs
find locale.new opkg pixelserv-tls.backup
[email protected]:/tmp/mnt/AB-Solution/entware/bin#
 

Raphie

Senior Member
Also, if you start AB-Solution and enter s, what is the first start option listed?
Code:
Thank you to all contributors, in whichever form
 you did.

 ---------------------------------------------------

 How to start AB-Solution:

 Start AB-Solution from anywhere with:
 ab-solution

 Alternative ways to start:

 When in /home/root, start AB-Solution with:
 ./ab-solution.sh  or
 sh ab-solution.sh
 Outside the home dir, start AB-Solution with:
 sh /tmp/mnt/AB-Solution/ab-solution.sh

 ---------------------------------------------------

 Hit [Enter] to return to Menu
 

thelonelycoder

Part of the Furniture
Correct, it returns foundit
That's the check I do, so it should work. And AB-Solution found it true as well.
As a test, select r remove in amtm and remove it.
Then enter this in your terminal:
Code:
cd
which brings you to the home directory.
Then copy/paste the amtm install command and install it again.
 

Raphie

Senior Member
nope, no joy, starts via jffs/scripts but not directly. seems that symlink or how you call it doesn't work on my system
this is what I see in root
[email protected]:/tmp/home/root# l
-rw-rw-rw- 1 admin root 2769 Nov 28 08:40 .ash_history
drwx------ 2 admin root 60 Aug 1 2015 .ssh/
lrwxrwxrwx 1 admin root 35 Aug 1 2015 ab-solution.sh -> /tmp/mnt/AB-Solution/ab-solution.sh*
-rw-rw-rw- 1 admin root 10247 Nov 28 08:38 amtm
[email protected]:/tmp/home/root#
when i cd in land in /tmp/home/root, nothing wrong with amtm, but it's something in my config.
 

thelonelycoder

Part of the Furniture
nope, no joy, starts via jffs/scripts but not directly. seems that symlink or how you call it doesn't work on my system
this is what I see in root
when i cd in land in /tmp/home/root, nothing wrong with amtm, but it's something in my config.
You figure it out. Make sure you start amtm with
Code:
/jffs/scripts/amtm
or else the link in /opt/bin will not be created if your system suddenly and reluctantly accepts a link in it ;)

The file in /home/root is the temporary download location while installing. It will not survive a reboot, which is intended.
 

Raphie

Senior Member
no worries, just added the full path to my putty shortcut, will dive into this next time i need to clean jffs with a major firmware update
 

thelonelycoder

Part of the Furniture
By # I meant I ran it as root. Here is the full version,

Code:
[email protected]:/tmp/home/root# curl -Os https://raw.githubusercontent.com/decoderman/amtm/master/amtm && sh amtm
[email protected]:/tmp/home/root#
That's a simple curl command and ought to work, same as with Skynet install.
Try this, cd'ing first to the home dir, calling curl directly from its location, trying to download 3 times if it fails:
Code:
cd;/usr/sbin/curl --retry 3 -Os https://raw.githubusercontent.com/decoderman/amtm/master/amtm && sh amtm
 

Protik

Senior Member
That's a simple curl command and ought to work, same as with Skynet install.
Try this, cd'ing first to the home dir, calling curl directly from its location, trying to download 3 times if it fails:
Code:
cd;/usr/sbin/curl --retry 3 -Os https://raw.githubusercontent.com/decoderman/amtm/master/amtm && sh amtm

This worked. It seems the by default curl is used from,

Code:
[email protected]:/tmp/home/root# which curl
/opt/bin/curl

Which does not work.
 

HardCat

Regular Contributor
@thelonelycoder - I have a small suggestion. In keeping with ab-solution and Skynet, It would be nice to have a little colour. As time permits, of course. :)
 

thelonelycoder

Part of the Furniture
@thelonelycoder - I have a small suggestion. In keeping with ab-solution and Skynet, It would be nice to have a little colour. As time permits, of course. :)
This has been on the back of my mind too.
But I don't use a config file in amtm and I'd like users to have a choice.

And that is what I have here in a local version, the selected color theme in AB-Solution.
I was just waiting for a request for it before implementing it.

If AB-Solution is not installed, then no-colors, else, guess what?
 

Raphie

Senior Member
Can I make a menu structure suggestion?
Separate the install scripts from the run scripts?


-----------------------------------------------------
SNBForums Asuswrt-Merlin Terminal Menu
-----------------------------------------------------
amtm v0.1 by thelonelycoder

--SNBForums install/update scripts--
1 AB-Solution
2 Skynet
3 dnscryp
4 Entware
5 pixelserv-tls beta version

--Open--
6 Skynet
7 AB-Solution

--amtm options--
u Update
r Remove
a About
e Exit
----------------| INFO |----------------
/opt/bin detected!
You can now start amtm with "amtm"
(without the quotes)
________________________________________
Enter selection:
 

thelonelycoder

Part of the Furniture

Latest threads

Sign Up For SNBForums Daily Digest

Get an update of what's new every day delivered to your mailbox. Sign up here!
Top