1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

amtm - the Asuswrt-Merlin Terminal Menu

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by thelonelycoder, Nov 26, 2017.

  1. thelonelycoder

    thelonelycoder Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    6,985
    Location:
    Switzerland
    How could it and where did you get that line?
    The # out-comments it. Remove the #.
     
  2. Makaveli

    Makaveli Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2016
    Messages:
    779
    Location:
    Canada
    This is very cool thank you for doing this.

    Skynet has peeked my interest and wouldn't mind using this for the install. However i'm not sure of the benefits of Skynet I should post in the skynet thread don't want to derail.
     
  3. thelonelycoder

    thelonelycoder Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    6,985
    Location:
    Switzerland
    I'm doing nothing else but run the scripts maintainers exact install command.
    amtm saves you to paste or remember these.
     
    Makaveli likes this.
  4. skeal

    skeal Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016
    Messages:
    3,923
    Location:
    Riderville, SK
    Let me say IMHO this set of scripts is the best! You won't find a better supported solution.
     
  5. Protik

    Protik Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2017
    Messages:
    250
    Location:
    /boot
    By # I meant I ran it as root. Here is the full version,

    Code:
    [email protected]:/tmp/home/root# curl -Os https://raw.githubusercontent.com/decoderman/amtm/master/amtm && sh amtm
    [email protected]:/tmp/home/root#
    
     
  6. Raphie

    Raphie Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2017
    Messages:
    235
    I get below
     
  7. Raphie

    Raphie Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2017
    Messages:
    235
    Code:
    Thank you to all contributors, in whichever form
     you did.
    
     ---------------------------------------------------
    
     How to start AB-Solution:
    
     Start AB-Solution from anywhere with:
     ab-solution
    
     Alternative ways to start:
    
     When in /home/root, start AB-Solution with:
     ./ab-solution.sh  or
     sh ab-solution.sh
     Outside the home dir, start AB-Solution with:
     sh /tmp/mnt/AB-Solution/ab-solution.sh
    
     ---------------------------------------------------
    
     Hit [Enter] to return to Menu
    
     
  8. Raphie

    Raphie Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2017
    Messages:
    235
    Correct, it returns foundit
     
  9. thelonelycoder

    thelonelycoder Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    6,985
    Location:
    Switzerland
    That's the check I do, so it should work. And AB-Solution found it true as well.
    As a test, select r remove in amtm and remove it.
    Then enter this in your terminal:
    Code:
    cd
    which brings you to the home directory.
    Then copy/paste the amtm install command and install it again.
     
  10. Raphie

    Raphie Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2017
    Messages:
    235
    nope, no joy, starts via jffs/scripts but not directly. seems that symlink or how you call it doesn't work on my system
    this is what I see in root
    when i cd in land in /tmp/home/root, nothing wrong with amtm, but it's something in my config.
     
  11. thelonelycoder

    thelonelycoder Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    6,985
    Location:
    Switzerland
    You figure it out. Make sure you start amtm with
    Code:
    /jffs/scripts/amtm
    or else the link in /opt/bin will not be created if your system suddenly and reluctantly accepts a link in it ;)

    The file in /home/root is the temporary download location while installing. It will not survive a reboot, which is intended.
     
  12. Raphie

    Raphie Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2017
    Messages:
    235
    no worries, just added the full path to my putty shortcut, will dive into this next time i need to clean jffs with a major firmware update
     
  13. thelonelycoder

    thelonelycoder Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    6,985
    Location:
    Switzerland
    That's a simple curl command and ought to work, same as with Skynet install.
    Try this, cd'ing first to the home dir, calling curl directly from its location, trying to download 3 times if it fails:
    Code:
    cd;/usr/sbin/curl --retry 3 -Os https://raw.githubusercontent.com/decoderman/amtm/master/amtm && sh amtm
     
  14. Protik

    Protik Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2017
    Messages:
    250
    Location:
    /boot
    This worked. It seems the by default curl is used from,

    Code:
    [email protected]:/tmp/home/root# which curl
    /opt/bin/curl
    
    Which does not work.
     
  15. HardCat

    HardCat Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Messages:
    173
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    @thelonelycoder - I have a small suggestion. In keeping with ab-solution and Skynet, It would be nice to have a little colour. As time permits, of course. :)
     
    thelonelycoder likes this.
  16. thelonelycoder

    thelonelycoder Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    6,985
    Location:
    Switzerland
    This has been on the back of my mind too.
    But I don't use a config file in amtm and I'd like users to have a choice.

    And that is what I have here in a local version, the selected color theme in AB-Solution.
    I was just waiting for a request for it before implementing it.

    If AB-Solution is not installed, then no-colors, else, guess what?
     
    HardCat likes this.
  17. Raphie

    Raphie Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2017
    Messages:
    235
    :cool: Genius!
     
  18. Raphie

    Raphie Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2017
    Messages:
    235
    Can I make a menu structure suggestion?
    Separate the install scripts from the run scripts?


    -----------------------------------------------------
    SNBForums Asuswrt-Merlin Terminal Menu
    -----------------------------------------------------
    amtm v0.1 by thelonelycoder

    --SNBForums install/update scripts--
    1 AB-Solution
    2 Skynet
    3 dnscryp
    4 Entware
    5 pixelserv-tls beta version

    --Open--
    6 Skynet
    7 AB-Solution

    --amtm options--
    u Update
    r Remove
    a About
    e Exit
    ----------------| INFO |----------------
    /opt/bin detected!
    You can now start amtm with "amtm"
    (without the quotes)
    ________________________________________
    Enter selection:
     
  19. eclp

    eclp Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2016
    Messages:
    310
  20. thelonelycoder

    thelonelycoder Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    6,985
    Location:
    Switzerland