What's new

Antenna Configuration for 3x3 MIMO MiniPCIe Dual-Band NIC

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

ODINITE

New Around Here
Hello everyone,

What is the ideal antenna set up for a 3x3 MIMO NIC?

Background:
I am thinking of purchasing a SparkLAN WPEA-128N (Atheros AR9380) to replace my dying Intel Centrino Wireless-N 130 card. I know I need to add another antenna to my laptop (MSI GT683R: I have been servicing laptops for the past three years and am VERY comfortable disassembling and changing laptop components) to get the full potential out of this card and the appropriate router / modem / ISP, but that is neither here nor there for this topic...).

I was considering replacing the current antennae as well, but have no idea what combination of antennae to purchase and connect. 2.4GHz, 5GHz, or dual-band.

Worst case scenario, I may end up purchasing 3 of each and try all 27 combinations! This would be very time consuming and costly and I am hoping to avoid it.

I've been searching through numerous webpages and have been unable to find appropriate information regarding this. I have emailed SparkLAN in hopes that they know the ideal antenna configuration as well.

If you have more questions, please just ask!

Thank you for your help,

ODINITE

It's 3x3:3 on both bands, so ideally all three are dual-band antennas. I'd just add a third antenna and call it a day tho, unless the best reception is critical to you :)