What's new

Asus RT-AC68 Overclock not working

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

nils

New Around Here
Hi guys,

I'm new to asus routers so please excuse my stupidity however I've been trying to overclock my router to gain a little better OpenVPN performace.

Let me give you some facts first:

Code:
Model    RT-AC68U
Firmware Version    380.65_2
Firmware Build    Fri Mar 10 05:29:50 UTC 2017 merlin@aa65182
Bootloader (CFE)    1.3.0.6
Driver version    wl0: Jul 6 2016 20:27:36 version 6.37.14.126 (r561982)

Now I've tried to overclock the router via the nvram command and then reboot these settings did not stick so I went ahead and created the scripts:
Code:
cat /jffs/scripts/init-start

#!/bin/sh

nvram set clkfreq=1200,800

cat /jffs/scripts/service-stop

#!/bin/sh

nvram commit

And changed the permissions to allow execution however while the gui shows the speed at 1200 the BogoMips have not changed at all indicating that the overclock did not work.

Code:
cat /proc/cpuinfo

Processor : ARMv7 Processor rev 0 (v7l)

processor : 0

BogoMIPS : 199.06

processor : 1

BogoMIPS : 199.47

Features : swp half thumb fastmult edsp 

CPU implementer : 0x41

CPU architecture: 7

CPU variant : 0x3

CPU part : 0xc09

CPU revision : 0

Hardware : Northstar Prototype

Revision : 0000

Serial : 0000000000000000

What am I missing?

Thanks a lot in advance

You can try to put the RAM on 666 - not on 800 - I recall that on some models the RAM overclocking does not work.

Thanks for your suggestion, I've tried this but the issue remains there appears to be no change.

I've run the command manually changed my scripts and rebooted via the reboot command