What's new

AsusWRT Merlin + Entware: no ftdi_sio.ko module to load.

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

sekapalle

New Around Here
I'm a newbie, so thanks in advance for your appreciated help and please don't care about my english.

I've an Asus NT-R66U on which I've installed and used for a certain time an old version of Merlin asuswrt + entware. I have got no problem in installing and using an usb to serial smartcard reader some months ago.

Last week I realized that my asus lost all its parameters without any reason and that it was unable to use entware (JFFS partition cleared).

Since I've seen there were newer releases of Merlin asuswrt, I decided to upgrade with new fw and I installed Merlin 374.43 and, afterward, entware.

Unlikely from the previous installation of the old fw, this time I've got in trouble with the functionality of the USB smartcard reader.

With dmesg I realized the Asus recognized the disposal as cellular modem so as suggested in the post

http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/forums/showthread.php?p=91279

I tried to insert the commands

modprobe -r -v option.ko
insmod usbserial
insmod ftdi_sio

in the script services-start.sh so to load the new module ftdi_sio.ko, but without success.

Giving the same commands in telnet I realized that the system replies with a:
insmod: 'ftdi_sio.ko': module not found.

So I tried to give from telnet the command
modprobe ftdi_sio with the following answer:
modprobe: module ftdi_sio not found in modules.dep

I've found this file but I haven't found the relative raw in it.

So I searched for the module "ftdi_sio.ko" in the file system, without finding it.