1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Diversion - the Router Ad-Blocker

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by thelonelycoder, Aug 25, 2018.

  1. WET

    WET Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2013
    Messages:
    75
    Location:
    IL
    I have Diversion w/ Pixelserv v2.1.1 installed. I see the posters here have Pixelserv v2.1.3-test4 installed which I think is a test version.

    I would like to confirm v2.1.3-test4 is a test version, should I / why did the posters move to that version and how do I move to that version if I elext to do so?

    Thank you.

    Sorry, I see the Pixelserv thread in the forum which answers all my questions and will educate me better on Pixelserv.

    RT-AC68U 384.7-alpha2
     
    Last edited: Aug 26, 2018
  2. Adamm

    Adamm Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2,879
    New version working very smooth, big fan of how you now manage jffs script files. Hopefully this can be pushed upstream to the main entware installer and save us all headaches in the future.
     
  3. andrew2018

    andrew2018 Guest

    I tried upgrading from AB-Solution to Diversion but ran into some problems. I use ipset commands in a file /jffs/configs/dnsmasq.conf.add, along with /jffs/scripts/services-start and /jffs/scripts/nat-start to do domain-based routing over a couple of VPN connections.

    I can't figure out exactly why but Diversion seems to restart dnsmasq in a way that bypasses what I've set up and so the routing over the VPNs stops working. I'm sure I must be missing something obvious but would sure appreciate any tips.
     
  4. ^Tripper^

    ^Tripper^ Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2014
    Messages:
    222
    Location:
    Disneyland with the death penalty
    Woah. Was certainly not expecting this.

    Div.jpg

    87 with a fresh install of merlin 384.5

    It is in some sorta download (which keeps failing) loop.

    UPDATE: Tried reinstalling again. Worked on the third try. Yay. :)
     
    skeal likes this.
  5. Wisiwyg

    Wisiwyg Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Messages:
    124
    Thank you for the update!

    Having some trouble installing, The main menu does not have 'color' within the menu choices and the 'ep' menu option simply says [: bad number. Putty encoding set to UTF-8

    Any recommendations before I wipe and fresh install?

    running AC68U with 34E3j9527, DNS-TLS on, pixelserve-tls ...test, Skynet 6.3.3.

    TIA
     
  6. skeal

    skeal Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016
    Messages:
    3,923
    Location:
    Riderville, SK
    Update AMTM itself by using the "u" command.
     
    Wisiwyg likes this.
  7. Wisiwyg

    Wisiwyg Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Messages:
    124
    Thanks...getting message: "/opt/bin/amtm: line 227: theme_local not found"
    will probably reformat and reinstall fresh...
     
  8. skeal

    skeal Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016
    Messages:
    3,923
    Location:
    Riderville, SK
    That will work!!:D
     
    Wisiwyg likes this.
  9. Clark Griswald

    Clark Griswald Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    Messages:
    239
    Location:
    Northern California, USA
    @thelonelycoder
    All is working well, Thank You!

    Just wanted to be the first to ask...
    When are we going to get Diversion v5?;)
     
  10. Almost all is working well, indeed. Great work @thelonelycoder ;)

    [​IMG]
     
  11. thelonelycoder

    thelonelycoder Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    6,983
    Location:
    Switzerland
    While upgrading, the services-start file was removed to a folder called old-jffs_scripts on your device.
    services-start is no longer used by Diversion. Copy your content from old-jffs_scripts into a new file. Make sure no AB code is copied over.
     
  12. thelonelycoder

    thelonelycoder Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    6,983
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Server overload? Can't tell, maybe your ISP had a hiccup.
     
    ^Tripper^ likes this.
  13. thelonelycoder

    thelonelycoder Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    6,983
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Before you do anything I'd like to see your diversion.conf file content. Use sf in Diversion to show it.
     
  14. thelonelycoder

    thelonelycoder Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    6,983
    Location:
    Switzerland
    [​IMG]
     
  15. thelonelycoder

    thelonelycoder Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    6,983
    Location:
    Switzerland
  16. Clark Griswald

    Clark Griswald Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    Messages:
    239
    Location:
    Northern California, USA
    Good thing I didn't use "uw" code, since I used the wife's paypal account to make "our" donation to TheLonelyCoder.
     
  17. thelonelycoder

    thelonelycoder Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    6,983
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Thanks mate, appreciate your input.
    In the past months this code and especially the way I detect the entware device and start its services has been working really great. I hope to push it upstream for Asuswrt-Merlin after some time.
     
    Wisiwyg and Clark Griswald like this.
  18. Wisiwyg

    Wisiwyg Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Messages:
    124
    Oops... already wiped and clean install.
    Working fine, now. If it happens again I'll capture.
     
  19. Gatsu

    Gatsu Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2016
    Messages:
    21
    Updated. Everything working as expected at my end.
    Good job and thanks @thelonelycoder
     
  20. SMS786

    SMS786 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2017
    Messages:
    213
    @thelonelycoder Congrats on the new build..been greatly looking forward this!

    I had one question..where is the new location of the custom hosts file?.. (where we add addresses of additional hosts' lists we want to add)..