Ethernet Cable Not Detected

  • ATTENTION! As of November 1, 2020, you are not able to reply to threads 6 months after the thread is opened if there are more than 500 posts in the thread.
    Threads will not be locked, so posts may still be edited by their authors.
    Just start a new thread on the topic to post if you get an error message when trying to reply to a thread.

Shaikhisa39

Occasional Visitor
Hii Every One Good Morning .. i am facing problem hear if any one can help me .. My Ethernet Cable is not getting detected by my laptop Via Router I am using Netgear R7800 router .. and from same lan port when i try to connect to my desktop it get connected .. tried every possible way which i knw rest network adapter tried installing and uninstall of network adapter .. clear dns tried running command for netsh .. tried to connect via different lan port but the same problem it shows that lan cable not connected or its broken but as i mentioned it gets connected to the desktop very easily as i have buy a new cat6 cable so ther is no chance of that the cable is broken or faulty .. and if u think my laptop motherboard is faulty that's also not a case because when i tried to connect it via direct connection provided by my isp provider direct lan cable which is not plugged in router it get connected .. so if anyone can help me on this .. Thanks

Sent from my GM1901 using Tapatalk
 

degrub

Very Senior Member
use only one cable for testing. What operating system ?
What do the lights on the router lan port show when you connect the laptop to it ? Do same for the pc.
What do the lights on the laptop lan port show ?, do same for the pc.
Connect the laptop to the isp device port. What do the lights show on the isp device and the laptop ?

That will give you an idea if the laptop is making a physical connection and should show if 100 mbit or 1000 mbit link rate.

the router manual and the laptop manual should tell you how to interpret the lights.
 

Shaikhisa39

Occasional Visitor
No when i connect to my laptop it doesn't light uo on yhe router but when i get connected to my desktop it light up and alow me to use the internet its the only problem i am facing when i m connecting to my laptop

Sent from my GM1901 using Tapatalk
 

degrub

Very Senior Member
Then it is not making a physical connection.
When you take the same cable and connect the laptop to the isp device, what do the lights show ?
 

Klueless

Very Senior Member
Windows => Control Panel => Network Settings => Ethernet => Network Connections => LAN Connection => Diagnose?
 

Shaikhisa39

Occasional Visitor
Then it is not making a physical connection.
When you take the same cable and connect the laptop to the isp device, what do the lights show ?
Yes it's not making physical connection .. so is there any solution for this .. bcz when i connect it to laptop with router the router light doesn't blink up

Sent from my GM1901 using Tapatalk
 

Klueless

Very Senior Member
Yes it says that network cable is not properly plugdin or may be broken
Lucky for me I've a great (read affordable!) computer repair shop just down the street. In lieu of that WiFi or a USB to Ethernet dongle?

EDIT: Dummy me. I missed the part where you said it worked when connected to ISP equipment. Perhaps set the NIC to fixed 100 or something rather than auto-negotiate?
 
Last edited:

degrub

Very Senior Member
When you take the same cable and connect the laptop to the isp device as mentioned in your original post, what do the lights show ?

In the original post you said that it worked, but it was not clear if you were using a different cable.
 

Shaikhisa39

Occasional Visitor
When you take the same cable and connect the laptop to the isp device as mentioned in your original post, what do the lights show ?

In the original post you said that it worked, but it was not clear if you were using a different cable.
Ok got it no that's a different cable it shows white light

Sent from my GM1901 using Tapatalk
 

Shaikhisa39

Occasional Visitor
When you take the same cable and connect the laptop to the isp device as mentioned in your original post, what do the lights show ?

In the original post you said that it worked, but it was not clear if you were using a different cable.
Ok so see hear the one which i marked with red that's a different cable i m getting connected through the internet on my laptop from that cable and the one which i marked with yellow i m not getting connected its a 20M long cat 6 wire .. and on the same wire which i marked with yellow is connecting to my desktop but not on laptop and the black wire which is there is my isp wire from which i m getting internet i hope u understand so i m not able to identify what's the problem .. the resion y i m on it is the place the yellow mark wire is my work place so i need an internet connectivity there via wired connection and from the red marked one when i get connected it shows me the orange light as u can see


Sent from my GM1901 using Tapatalk
 

coxhaus

Part of the Furniture
That grey cable marked red is not a good cable. It has too much wire out from the plug. It needs to be replaced. The black cable marked blue also.

You would be OK if you were doing 10 meg. They are bad for a 100 or a 1000 meg.
 

degrub

Very Senior Member
show us a picture of your laptop ethernet port.
i wonder if the cat6 cable is not able to fully insert.
The other thing you can try is if you have an unmanaged switch 5 or 8 port, plug it into the other end of the cat6 cable in your work area. Then plug a cable into that from your laptop to the small switch.
 

Shaikhisa39

Occasional Visitor
show us a picture of your laptop ethernet port.
i wonder if the cat6 cable is not able to fully insert.
The other thing you can try is if you have an unmanaged switch 5 or 8 port, plug it into the other end of the cat6 cable in your work area. Then plug a cable into that from your laptop to the small switch.
I have tried all of the port

Sent from my GM1901 using Tapatalk
 

degrub

Very Senior Member
Not the Netgear router lan ports, but a separate switch on the other end of the cat6 cable. Then, use another cat5e cable to connect from that switch to the laptop.

if the laptop port works when plugged into the marked red cable and also when plugged into the blue marked cable, then you may have a failing cable termination or wire on the cat6 cable that shows up when it is moved to plug into the laptop. .

did the laptop work on that cat6 cable before ?

If so, what changed just before it stopped working ?
 

Shaikhisa39

Occasional Visitor
Not the Netgear router lan ports, but a separate switch on the other end of the cat6 cable. Then, use another cat5e cable to connect from that switch to the laptop.

if the laptop port works when plugged into the marked red cable and also when plugged into the blue marked cable, then you may have a failing cable termination or wire on the cat6 cable that shows up when it is moved to plug into the laptop. .

did the laptop work on that cat6 cable before ?

If so, what changed just before it stopped working ?
Yes it was working on cat 6 before.. i had done nothing changes

Sent from my GM1901 using Tapatalk
 

degrub

Very Senior Member
How are you set up to accept windows updates ? auto ?

when was the last one ?
was that about when this stopped working ?
if so, can you roll back ?

the other thing to look at is device manager - anything broken ?

Just to prove out that it is not a hardware issue but a driver/os issue, can you get a linux distribution, maybe Ubuntu, on a bootable USB or DVD drive and do a trial (not install) and see if it connects across the cat6 cable.

i have seen some weird circumstances before where the nic would not autonegotiate the link rate correctly. placing a 5 port gigabit switch in between solved the issue. You can also try forcing the laptop nic to only use 100 mbit and see if that corrects it.
 

Shaikhisa39

Occasional Visitor
How are you set up to accept windows updates ? auto ?

when was the last one ?
was that about when this stopped working ?
if so, can you roll back ?

the other thing to look at is device manager - anything broken ?

Just to prove out that it is not a hardware issue but a driver/os issue, can you get a linux distribution, maybe Ubuntu, on a bootable USB or DVD drive and do a trial (not install) and see if it connects across the cat6 cable.

i have seen some weird circumstances before where the nic would not autonegotiate the link rate correctly. placing a 5 port gigabit switch in between solved the issue. You can also try forcing the laptop nic to only use 100 mbit and see if that corrects it.
Ok sure will do that fir will try with Linux

Sent from my GM1901 using Tapatalk
 

Latest threads

Sign Up For SNBForums Daily Digest

Get an update of what's new every day delivered to your mailbox. Sign up here!
Top