What's new

Frequencies and how to achieve maximum speed

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

captainFrantic

New Around Here
I'm new to networking, but am very interested in it. My network setup involves a Netgear Wireless Cable Modem Gateway (CG814GCMR), a Linksys-N Broadband Router (WRT160N), and a D-Link AirPlus DWL-G520 Wireless PCI Adapter(rev.B). The Netgear was given to me by my ISP, so I'm not sure if I have to use that or not. I realize that having three different brands is probably half my problem, just bare with me... I'm a newbie so any tips or knowledge would be very helpful in whatever form.

Anyway, I'm trying to figure out how to get the most out of my current setup. I've been looking through this article and the frequencies (802.11n,b,g) are confusing me. My D-Link AirPlus XtremeG Wireless Utility tells me that when I'm connected to the Netgear, it says I'm on the 802.11g frequency. And when I'm connected to the Linksys-N it says I'm on the 802.11b frequency whereas the article is about 802.11n. I want to be on the best frequency, whatever that frequency is, so what do I need to do to achieve this?

Visual representation

Netgear CG814GCMR====Linksys WRT160N ))) D-Link AirPlus DWL-G520

This article will give you a quick rundown of the differences between A/B/G/N. Basically, G is the defacto standard nowadays with virtually every product supporting it. N is faster and offers better range, but is a fairly new standard (which hasn't become 'official' yet), so support is still growing.