1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

How to access RT-AC68U web GUI when acting as a media bridge?

Discussion in 'ASUSWRT - Official' started by Derek, Nov 7, 2018.

  1. Derek

    Derek New Around Here

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    I have two RT-AC68U routers in the following configuration:

    Main Router
    RT-AC68U running firmware 3.0.0.4.384.32799 (latest version)
    Wireless Router Mode (Connects to WAN)
    Wireless clients only
    IP: 192.168.1.1
    Web GUI admin URL: https://192.168.1.1:8443

    Media Bridge
    RT-AC68U running firmware 3.0.0.4.384.32799 (latest version)
    Media Bridge Mode
    Wireless connection to Main Router
    Wired clients only
    IP: 192.168.1.100 (statically assigned via Manual Assignment on Main Router like this)
    Web GUI admin URL: ???

    My NAS and some other wired clients are connected to the Media Bridge and this setup works really well.

    I can access the Main Router's web GUI from a laptop connected to the Main Router using the typical ASUS SSL URL https://192.168.1.1:8443.

    So far so good.

    But as of yet I have not figured out how to access the Media Bridge's web GUI from a laptop connected to the Main Router. I get browser connection timeouts trying http://192.168.1.100 or https://192.168.1.100:8443.

    Clearly there is something basic I don't yet understand about media bridge mode. Any help accessing the Media Bridge's web GUI from a connection to the Main Router would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. Please support SNBForums! Just click on this link before you buy something from Amazon and we'll get a small commission on anything you buy. Thanks!
  3. Sonyrolfy

    Sonyrolfy Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2018
    Messages:
    20
    Derek likes this.
  4. Derek

    Derek New Around Here

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks. I appreciate the tip. Unfortunately all the ASUS Device Discovery utility found is my Main Router (192.168.1.1). My Media Bridge did not show up at all in that utility. I'm certain the Media Bridge is functioning correctly as 192.168.1.100 because I can connect to wired devices plugged into it, but apparently the ASUS utility can't see it. :-(
     
  5. Grisu

    Grisu Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,294
    think it is only possible to reach it in media bridge mode via SSH (not GUI) as it doesn't route anymore.
     
  6. Squall Leonhart

    Squall Leonhart Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2018
    Messages:
    56
    IP: 192.168.1.100 (statically assigned via Manual Assignment on Main Router like this)
    Web GUI admin URL: Same as IP + Port
     
  7. SwampKracker

    SwampKracker Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    103
    Media Bridge mode is not special with regard to accessing the web-ui. Rather than trying to use DHCP and manually assign an IP to the media bridge from the router, why not just manually assign an IP to the media bridge? This example may not be an RT-AC68U, but it works the same as for the RT-N66U. How well the RT-AC68U works as a media bridge is another story...
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Grisu

    Grisu Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,294
    maybe I mixed things when running as Aimesh node, then you can revert back only via SSH or best reset button.
     
  9. Derek

    Derek New Around Here

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    @SwampCracker:

    That's certainly the more typical way to set up a static IP on the media bridge so I'll go ahead and do that.

    Regardless, my problem seems to have resolved on its own. I'm not sure why because I didn't make any changes yet, but this morning when I opened http://192.168.1.100 my Media Router's web GUI came up. I'm not sure what changed to make it start working since for the last few days I've been getting nothing but connection timeouts from that URL.

    It might be some general ASUS flakiness because I see other odd behavior around Media Bridge clients. For example, when I view the client list in my Main Router's web GUI, I often do not see the Media Bridge listed as a client even though it's clearly working because devices connected to the Media Bridge do show up in the Main Router's client list. However, just to be quirky, every once in a while the Media Bridge itself also shows up in my Main Router's client list. So there is definitely some inconsistency around Media Bridge behavior.

    I'd feel better knowing exactly what happened to make the Media Bridge web GUI start working, but at least for now the problem has disappeared. I might do a factory reset and try a few more things to get to the bottom of this, but at least now I know that things can work as expected.

    Thank you to everyone who replied.
     
Please support SNBForums! Just click on this link before you buy something from Amazon and we'll get a small commission on anything you buy. Thanks!