What's new

Modem recommendation for 300 Mbps & Netgear r7800

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

OMGponies

Occasional Visitor
Is there a recommended modem for my Netgear R7800? I get 300/20 Mbps from Grande in Austin. They recommend a 16x4 DOCSIS 3.0 (minimum) or a 24x8 DOCSIS 3.0 (best performance modem):

https://mygrande.com/modems

I care more about quality of connection/low latency than higher bandwidth, and I'm currently using a modem leased from them with a Puma6 chipset, so I don't have anything good to compare to.

Edit:
I work a lot from home so I'm always on a VPN, and I have frequent video calls. I'm an engineer so I don't mind detailed recommendations. Thanks.

Last edited:
Is there a recommended modem for my Netgear R7800? I get 300/20 Mbps from Grande in Austin. They recommend a 16x4 DOCSIS 3.0 (minimum) or a 24x8 DOCSIS 3.0 (best performance modem):

https://mygrande.com/modems

I care more about quality of connection/low latency than higher bandwidth, and I'm currently using a modem leased from them with a Puma6 chipset, so I don't have anything good to compare to.

Edit:
I work a lot from home so I'm always on a VPN, and I have frequent video calls. I'm an engineer so I don't mind detailed recommendations. Thanks.

NetGear CM600 gets a lot of good reviews on my ISPs page on DSLReports. Its non-PUMA ..24x4 3.0.
I have the Aris 6183 ..its a 16x4..its been solid but as you go up in speed you want more channels.