What's new

Need help picking a wireless router

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Tang Tonic

New Around Here
Hi,
First off, let me say that I am a newbie to the technical side of networking. I understand the difference in wireless network types, dual bands, and just about enough to confuse the heck out of me when it comes to making a decision on which router to get. So let me tell you what I got and what I want to do...

I have an Hp G60 with an atheros b/g adapter. Initially I would by a USB client adapter to give the laptop wireless n and dual band capability. Eventually I will upgrade to a newer laptop with the latest technology. My girlfriend has about a 2 year old Mac that she will be connecting to the network as well for basic internet browsing. I am not sure about her wireless card, but we would upgrade with USB if necessary.

I will be using the network for internet browsing and downloading music. I also plan on streaming my music to my stereo through an apple airport express (so the network must be compatible with airport express) as well as eventually streaming media to my TV using a ROKU or something like that. I don't have an HDTV yet, but plan on upgrading one day, so it would be nice to have HD streaming capabilities. I don't play video games, but I do have a large music collection that I have on the laptop which streams the music. I also have a copy of my music library and all my pictures on a buffalo hard drive. For this reason, the Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH has been appealing to me. However, I don't know if I would keep my music on a NAS or the laptop which would be doing the streaming. I prefer to have real-time access to the library.