1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

[Official Release] AiMesh Firmware v3.0.0.4.384.20308 for All Supported Products

Discussion in 'ASUSWRT - Official' started by arthurlien, Feb 1, 2018.

Tags:
  1. visortgw

    visortgw Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    380
    I am doing that now on multiple networks without any problems.
     
  2. maxbraketorque

    maxbraketorque Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2015
    Messages:
    753
    It is possible to do it, and many people do it, but its not always the best way to set up a home wifi network. Devices that come and go from the network (phones, laptops, etc) will mostly end up on the 2.4 GHz band because that's what will come into range first. IMHO, its better to set up separate SSIDs for 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz, and then use the network preferences on your computer to preferentially connect to the 5 GHz network. Unfortunately, Android does not allow setting preferred wifi networks, so I just exclude the 2.4 GHz network from my phones.
     
    scope666 likes this.
  3. Ken Atkinson

    Ken Atkinson Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2018
    Messages:
    76
    Location:
    Edinburgh, Scotland
    For Smart Connect to work surely both id's need to be the same. I've not switched smart connect on yet was waiting until i'm happy mesh is stable before throwing something else into the mix.
     
  4. RandomName23

    RandomName23 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2018
    Messages:
    146
    It is absolutely okay to use the same SSID for both bands, in fact some mesh systems like Orbi won't even let you specify a different SSID. Aimesh does let you, one of the reasons I much prefer it over other systems. If you're router supports Smart Connect I recommend giving it a try. I've been using it with the default settings and have not once ended up on the 2.4 Ghz band in my home for devices that support 5 Ghz. With my old router that didn't support Smart Connect I would frequently end up on the 2.4 band even when I was in range to receive a 5 Ghz signal and my speeds were crap so I did what others indicated and setup separate SSIDs so I could force my devices to the band I wanted. So in the end I think it depends on your needs and capabilities of your router.
     
    OzarkEdge and Ken Atkinson like this.
  5. maxbraketorque

    maxbraketorque Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2015
    Messages:
    753
    I think your last sentence captures the key points. With my dual router setup, there is no place in my home or yard where 2.4 GHz provides faster wireless speeds than 5 GHz (2.4 GHz RSSI can be and often is better but not speed), so I only use 2.4 GHz now for my wireless cameras.
     
    scope666 and RandomName23 like this.
  6. Adam

    Adam New Around Here

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Is anyone getting weird issues, where it looks like the stronger AP just dropped you (almost as if its radio is going through a reboot) and you are in dead air for a minute or so? My cell phone data usage went way up, since these drops kept happening.
    My 3 x RT-AC68U got almost unusable, and I had to reboot the main router and the nodes after a couple of days of use. I'm not sure if that might have been due to extensive use of IPTV or what, but it was running into issues with the DHCP server (My android phone telling me that the network was full). Even after a total wipe/factory restore it was doing that. Finally, I've plugged in a different router, and changed the whole AUS setup to AP AiMesh. Now it's finally stable.
    This was on the same SSID for 2.4 and 5 GHz, and pretty much on default setup.
     
  7. Volfi

    Volfi Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2018
    Messages:
    80
    Depends.. :) Around my appartment are 20+ active networks on 2.4GHz, but only two on 5GHz (108 and 161 channels). Having seperate SSIDs means I can "force" my devices to stay on 5GHz (channel 36, 80MHz width), and only few legacy ones are given passwords for 2.4GHz band.

    This gives me better network stability.
     
    scope666 likes this.
  8. Ken Atkinson

    Ken Atkinson Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2018
    Messages:
    76
    Location:
    Edinburgh, Scotland
    My GUI showing firmware update available for AC88U running 384_20308 , not in a position to update at the moment , product webpages not updated for new version yet either.... wonder whats fixed/added ?
     
  9. Flying Dutchman

    Flying Dutchman Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2013
    Messages:
    189
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Most likely KRACK vulnerabilities are solved.

    In another thread I read that the servers are being synchronized at the moment, so new firmware will become available within 24 hours.
     
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2018
    Ken Atkinson likes this.
  10. Ken Atkinson

    Ken Atkinson Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2018
    Messages:
    76
    Location:
    Edinburgh, Scotland
    Cool thanks , can't update for a day or so anyway, but think will switch on smart connect when i update as mesh seems pretty stable
     
  11. mlippold

    mlippold Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2016
    Messages:
    62
    Updated to 20379 from 20308 and all is well on my RT-AC5300 (non-mesh setup).
     
    arthurlien likes this.
  12. Mike Gates

    Mike Gates New Around Here

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2018
    Messages:
    1
  13. mlippold

    mlippold Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2016
    Messages:
    62
    Looks like you left off the /us in that URL.

    Try this:
    https://www.asus.com/us/Networking/RTAC68U/HelpDesk_BIOS/
     
  14. RandomName23

    RandomName23 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2018
    Messages:
    146
    Has anyone been able to get email notifications to work from the Aiprotection section? I have hits in the 2 way intrusion detection but never receive any emails.
     
  15. Junkbot

    Junkbot New Around Here

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Just wanted to post on this thread as it is most current:

    Is it possible to disable 2.4Ghz?

    2.4Ghz is way too congested in my area, and I want to be courteous to my neighbors and use 5Ghz only. When I set up AiMesh, I can turn off 2.4Ghz antenna on the ROUTER (the 2.4Ghz LED on the ROUTER turns off), but the 2.4Ghz light does not turn off on the NODE. I can also connect to the 2.4GHz SSID on my phone.

    I guess this is a similar problem where you cannot configure some things in the node directly.
     
  16. RandomName23

    RandomName23 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2018
    Messages:
    146
    Is there a way to reboot the aimesh nodes from any UI, either web or iOS? Also, does anyone else have this problem where when they reboot only the main aimesh router they get slow speeds on the aimesh node until the aimesh node has been rebooted at which point full speeds are reestablished?
     
  17. OzarkEdge

    OzarkEdge Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2018
    Messages:
    2,586
    Location:
    USA
    My 2xRT-AC86U 3.0.0.4.384.81858 wireless AiMesh with SB6141 modem is on the main level with a 77' wireless backhaul. The house router covers (3) 1650 sq ft levels; the detached garage node covers 1750 sq ft; brick construction. Both cover a 2-acre lot. The backhaul signal is 3 bars 5G. Roaming Assistant node steering is enabled with defaults. Smart Connect node band steering is enabled with defaults, same SSIDs, and fixed channels. AiProtection is enabled. A USB 3.0 HDD is attached in 2.0 Mode.

    This replaced a 2xRT-AC68U AiMesh with a backhaul signal of 2-3 bars (no WiFi Range Boost). Smart Connect is not supported on AC1900/AC68/AC66 B1; the SSIDs have to be separate.

    Speedtest.net results...

    My install notes:
    o ASUS AiMesh = router/AP + nodes = root node + remote nodes
    Use the highest spec router as the root node.
    A non-AiMesh site router is required when the root node is in AP Mode.
    The remote node limit was 4 star nodes, or 3 star nodes plus 1 daisy-chain node max.
    Mixing routers/firmware, wired/wireless backhauls, and star/daisy-chain topologies is permitted.
    o AC86U: Asuswrt, Hard Reset FAQ, Manual
    o AC68U: Asuswrt, Hard Reset FAQ
    o AiMesh FAQs, Factory Default Reset
    o WiFi: Lessons, Insights, Speeds, Beam Forming, Roaming/Secrets, Smart Connect, Troubleshooting/Addendum
    o Use a UPS to protect network and firmware upgrades

    o Power OFF router and cable modem
    o Connect router WAN to cable modem (blue tape cable) and router LAN to PC
    o Power ON router and wait for it to settle (power cycle/drain)
    o Hold router Reset until Power LED flashes slowly and wait for it to settle (factory default reset)
    o Power ON cable modem and wait for it to settle
    o Browse to router.asus.com (or 192.168.1.1 or 192.168.50.1) and login to router webUI when required (default credentials are admin, admin)
    o Perform router Quick Setup for firmware check
    Browse to router.asus.com/index.asp to bypass Quick Setup.
    o Check/Upgrade router firmware (select version link for release notes)
    o Perform router Restore w/Initialize and wait for it to settle (factory default reset w/initialization AFTER firmware upgrade)
    Reset/webUI Restore clears settings in NVRAM; reboot restores defaults from CFE.
    WebUI Restore w/Initialize also clears logged data in /jffs folder.
    o Power OFF router and cable modem

    o Repeat above for node except keep power ON afterward for AiMesh install
    o Disconnect node and place near router (77' works here)

    o Connect router WAN to cable modem (blue tape cable) and router LAN to PC
    o Power ON router and wait for it to settle
    o Power ON cable modem and wait for it to settle
    o Perform router Quick Setup and configuration:
    - enable Smart Connect w/Auto wireless mode, set same SSIDs and fixed channels
    If SC forces Auto channels, disable it and set separate SSIDs and fixed channels.
    - set 2.4 WLAN to OE(-24), 20 MHz, ch 1,6,11 or 1,5,9,13 (non-overlapping, least congested), WPA2-Personal AES*
    - set 5.0 WLAN to OE, 80 MHz, ch 149,153,157,161,165 (non-radar, highest power), WPA2-Personal AES*
    - do not hide SSIDs (speeds client connection)
    - confirm ALL bands are broadcasting (required to add node)
    - confirm Roaming Assistant is enabled per band (2.4/5.0 defaults are -70/-70 dBm)
    - disable Airtime Fairness per band (incompatible with some adapters)
    - disable Universal Beamforming per band, if causing instability/lower link rates with legacy adapters
    - set guest WLANs to OE(-24) Guest, disable intranet access*
    Guest WLANs broadcast from root node only (an AP guest WLAN is NOT isolated from LAN)
    - set router static IP 192.168.1.1 and DHCP server pool 192.168.1.10-254 (assign router manual IPs within pool; assign client side static IPs outside pool)
    - disable UPnP* (enable UPnP or forward port(s) manually, if desired)
    - set WAN DNS servers* (Quad9 9.9.9.9 and 149.112.112.112)
    - set local Time Zone and DST settings
    - disable SIP Passthrough, if interfering with VoIP on port 5060 (SIP device on node may need to use TCP/TLS)
    - confirm Telnet is disabled*
    - confirm SSH is disabled*
    - confirm Authentication Method is set to HTTP (required to add node?)
    - confirm Web Access from WAN is disabled!*
    - search for and add AiMesh node (node must be in factory default reset state; will automatically enable WPS)
    Removing a node will automatically reset that node.
    - disable WPS after adding node*
    - enable AiProtection\Network Protection*
    Administration\Privacy Withdraw will disable all Trend Micro features.
    - if USB disk, disable UPnP Media Server to conserve router resources and set Network Place device name (RT-NAS)
    - set USB 3.0 Mode to 2.0 to protect 2.4 WLAN/range from interference
    *Security setting
    o Power OFF/ON router and browse to GRC Shields Up! to test WAN security, and Speedtest.net to test ISP speeds

    o Deploy node(s) within range of router's 5.0 band, even if using a wired backhaul (alternate backhauls enable self-healing), or daisy-chain node(s) within range of another node's 5.0 band
    The Wireless Log lists RSSI values and Tx/Rx rates for a node's wireless backhaul MACs. Change channel/adjust backhaul distance/path for a signal of 4 bars or RSSI greater/more positive than -68 dBm. Tighten and face antennas (~3.5 dBi) in W-formation (keep antennas vertical for level coverage... no tilted donut). See antenna pattern and coverage.
    o If possible, install wired backhaul from router LAN to node WAN for full-duplex Ethernet
    o Configure node connection priority to force using wired backhaul (required with some switches that defeat Auto sensing of connection type)
    o If necessary, relocate node to adjust band coverage/overlap to affect node steering (not too near, not too far) and/or reduce Tx power
    o If necessary, adjust Roaming Assistant RSSI threshold per band to affect node steering
    o If necessary, adjust Smart Connect rules to affect node band steering

    o Confirm the integrity of all cabling (Cat5e or better)
    o Reboot network infrastructure/clients to clear lingering conditions
    o Configure client side wireless properties to improve client band steering; forget wireless connections to clear lingering conditions; update wireless adapter drivers
    o Disable unnecessary WiFi Direct APs in wireless printers and media boxes that may interfere
    o Install WiFi Analyzer Classic Android app or similar to monitor ambient WiFi signals
    o Do NOT install ASUS Router app (mobile platforms are too fragile/insecure, imo)

    o Use webUI to upgrade firmware:
    Run WinMD5 to verify firmware file MD5 code by Asus.
    - Remove/eject USB disk
    - Check/Upgrade/Upload nodes/router
    - Remove nodes to reset; Restore w/Initialize router to reset
    - Configure router from scratch; add nodes; disable WPS
    - Mount and scan USB disk
    o Power OFF/ON router and test WAN security and ISP speeds

    o 21140 OK
    x 32797,9 remote node client connection/speed degrades
    x 45149 Trend Micro crashes
    o 45713,7 OK, excessive Auto ch scanning, TM consumes memory
    x 81039 excessive Auto ch scanning, webUI lock up, erratic CPU, new RA defaults, PULLED
    o 81049 OK, excessive Auto ch scanning
    o 81351,2 OK
    o 81369 OK
    o 81792 OK, SC allows fixed channels! PULLED
    o 81858 OK

    AiMesh uses performance routers with features including Asuswrt-Merlin, extends LAN/WLANs, improves roaming, centralizes management, auto configures WLANs and wireless backhauls, maintains fast/dedicated wired/wireless backhauls, and can be incrementally recovered/upgraded. Future is tri-band WiFi6e.

    OE
     
    Last edited: May 11, 2020
    unclebuk, Vonplatz, unknownz and 32 others like this.
  18. Quad80

    Quad80 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2018
    Messages:
    114
    I just noticed the other day that the mesh seems to be showing up as individual clients on my client list, one for each wifi band, but under the same IP address. It didn't do this before, I haven't updated to the new firmware that was just updated, and I didn't change any settings. It didn't do this when I first set up the mesh, but for some reason it just started doing it. Is anyone else seeing this? Screenshots are attached, one from desktop, one from app, since both are showing this behavior.
     

    Attached Files:

  19. RandomName23

    RandomName23 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2018
    Messages:
    146
    Just curious why the decision to use OpenDNS vs the built in trend micro? I have been using software at the client level but have been thinking about doing it at the router level.
     
  20. OzarkEdge

    OzarkEdge Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2018
    Messages:
    2,586
    Location:
    USA
    My use of OpenDNS precedes my use of ASUS routers. I did not realize there was a Trend Micro option... but even so, I like to spread the love around. OpenDNS is reputable and it's not Google.

    I only mentioned OpenDNS here to provide context... it's currently in my router and in my notes!

    OE
     
    SeattleJJFish, E3000 and HuskyHerder like this.