1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Opinion's on the Asus RT-AC87

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by Maverick3837, May 26, 2019.

1. Maverick3837

Maverick3837 New Around Here

I have been using the RT-AC87 for about 5 years now, and it has always been a rock solid router in my opinion. My friend has the opportunity to purchase one, but as with anything, technology moves fast, and for the price of an RT-AC87, there are other routers out there with better performance for the price. What are your personal opinions of the RT-AC87, and is it worth even considering buying that router anymore due to it's age. The only reason I ask, is because of the success that I have personally had with it, and how fun the Merlin Firmware is! :) His router useage is about like mine. Movie streaming, web browsing, nothing a cheapo router probably couldn't handle.

2. ApexRon

ApexRon Senior Member

If your current router meets all your needs, I would not buy new. Historically, I have only purchased new routers because my devices had newer capability that my current router did not support. I used to take one of my older routers on vacation with me when the hotels had bad WiFi. Now, I don't even do that since all my devices that I have with me use a VPN service and hotel WiFi is usually pretty darn good.

Maverick3837 likes this.
  3. L&LD

L&LD Part of the Furniture

I have never recommended the RT-AC87U and I would find it hard to recommend it today.