1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

[Preview] Early Asuswrt-Merlin 384.6 test builds are available

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by RMerlin, Jun 24, 2018.

  1. kfp

    kfp Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2014
    Messages:
    708
    Hmm, I wonder what has changed in your environment? IIRC you’ve had days of stability? Updated your Apple devices?
     
  2. Please support SNBForums! Just click on this link before you buy something from Amazon and we'll get a small commission on anything you buy. Thanks!
  3. AntonK

    AntonK Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2015
    Messages:
    137
    When is the 2.4 problem ever going to go away with these ASUS routers?
     
  4. jerry6

    jerry6 Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    633
    Location:
    Montreal
    No changes in the environment , everything has remained the same . Reinitialized again and reset all clients and router
     
  5. iManuB

    iManuB Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2017
    Messages:
    95
    Nice, work perfectly. One thing: after your command, my "problem" still there.
    I do not understand why I always have 192.168.2.1 and not 192.168.1.1 after restore or initialization.
     
  6. ajp2k14

    ajp2k14 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    Messages:
    48
    @RMerlin Will there be a new alpha anytime soon with the binary blobs form 21045 for the AC86U or are they inlcuded already?
     
  7. Striker317

    Striker317 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2015
    Messages:
    85
    PeterV, FadgewackeR and scjr like this.
  8. scjr

    scjr Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2017
    Messages:
    400
    Location:
    "While I Breathe, I Hope"
    PeterV, skeal and FadgewackeR like this.
  9. ajp2k14

    ajp2k14 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    Messages:
    48
    Thanks, I noticed it on Github but I wasn't sure! I guess I have to be patient... :)
     
  10. Grisu

    Grisu Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,028
    You really have 192.168.2.1 ?
    I have 2 RT-AC86U here and they both have 192.168.50.1 while my older 68U still got 192.168.1.1
    Think there is no difference between Merlin and stock.
     
    iManuB likes this.
  11. iManuB

    iManuB Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2017
    Messages:
    95
    Yep, because I have two cascading routers: first (Modem function), with 192.168.1.1 and RT-AC86U with 192.168.2.1. My RT-AC86U have 192.168.1.1 default value. But, after Restore or Initialize, I have always 192.168.2.1 and no 192.168.1.1.

    It seems that there is something wrong with cleaning the router.
     
  12. kfp

    kfp Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2014
    Messages:
    708
    So if you change it to 192.168.66.1, would that stick or go back to 2.1?
     
    iManuB likes this.
  13. iManuB

    iManuB Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2017
    Messages:
    95
    No, I don't think so.

    If I set 192.168.66.1 now, I'll have this number. But if I decide to initialize the router, I will always have 192.168.66.1 and not 192.168.1.1. I do not know if I explained myself.

    In short: if I initialize the router, the router must return to the factory settings. These factory settings also include the default address 192.168.1.1. Good. This does not happen to me.
     
  14. skeal

    skeal Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016
    Messages:
    1,746
    Location:
    Canada
    Disconnect everything. All WAN cables and usb devices, keep the cable link between the router and device used to flash. Try again.
     
  15. kfp

    kfp Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2014
    Messages:
    708
    Have you tried it or are you just guessing?

    It’ll be REALLY weird after an Initialization that the router cleared some settings but kept others.

    Is your modem/router combo in routing mode? Does it have DHCP? Maybe it’s issuing that IP address to your 86U?

    I don’t doubt what you’re observing, I just don’t think it’s because of a “buggy factory reset”.
     
    skeal likes this.
  16. john9527

    john9527 Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Messages:
    5,582
    Location:
    United States
    Make sure you don't have a browser extension like a password manager or autofill agent that is 'remembering' your last value and filling it in for you.
     
    iManuB likes this.
  17. Geraner

    Geraner Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Messages:
    123
    Location:
    Stockholm / Sweden
    ASUS released yesterday a updated firmware version for the 86U.
    Version 3.0.0.4.384.21140
     
  18. iManuB

    iManuB Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2017
    Messages:
    95
    I will try to set another address and I will do an initialization
     
  19. Grisu

    Grisu Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,028
    do it with WPS button pressed while power on and 15s longer, maybe than it clears more than with initialize. After that while on additional with reset button some seconds.

    Did you disconnect everything and only access via WiFi?
    Suppose it gets the old IP from anywhere else DHCP.
     
  20. Mutzli

    Mutzli Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2014
    Messages:
    64
    Did they release a change log?
    I don't see this new firmware yet, it still shows version 3.0.0.4.384.21045 on the ASUS BIOS&Firmware download page.
     
  21. Grisu

    Grisu Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,028
Please support SNBForums! Just click on this link before you buy something from Amazon and we'll get a small commission on anything you buy. Thanks!