What's new

Question regarding OpenVPN Server configuration

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Deetlemore

Occasional Visitor
I have an OpenVPN server configured and running on an AX86U Pro with firmware 3004.388.4, and I'm connecting to it using the OpenVPN for Android app. I have Advertise DNS to clients enabled, and when I connect the app log notes that both redirect-gateway and redirect-private are specified. I want all DNS traffic routed through the tunnel, so I believe redirect-gateway is what I want. How would I go about removing redirect-private, or is that even an issue? I looked through a few threads mentioning this log message but I'm still a novice with networking, so I'm a bit lost.

Everything seems to be routing through the VPN server as intended, I can access my PC remotely, IPV6 works, etc., so I may just be overthinking this.

1696441764609.png

Something else that came to mind today, is there a way to access the configuration file for the server/router itself, say through SSH? I can at least confirm that there's no mention of either redirect in the client config file, so I'm assuming it's on the router side.

Show us the complete connection log from the client. I cannot find anywhere in the router's source code where the redirect-private option is used.

Try disabling IPv6 Server mode and see if that stops the message.

Something else that came to mind today, is there a way to access the configuration file for the server/router itself, say through SSH? I can at least confirm that there's no mention of either redirect in the client config file, so I'm assuming it's on the router side.
Code:
cat /etc/openvpn/server1/config.ovpn

Last edited: