1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

[Release 384/NG] Asuswrt-Merlin 384.5 is now available

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by RMerlin, May 13, 2018.

  1. BlackMage

    BlackMage Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    When i updated to the firmware then connectivity, performance and stability problems occur...(The web interface has also jerky during construction)
     
  2. Please support SNBForums! Just click on this link before you buy something from Amazon and we'll get a small commission on anything you buy. Thanks!
  3. agilani

    agilani Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2012
    Messages:
    184
    This is on wireless? What
    This is on wireless? Quite a few of us have reported similar issues with the wireless stability since the upgrade. It seems to be more of an issue with the 2.4ghz radio, although i did have the 5ghz go out as well. The wired ports for the most part are fine. It appears to be a common issue. Right now the only way to resolve this may be to go back to the 380 branch of code for the device.
     
  4. BlackMage

    BlackMage Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    no, this was with a LAN connection

    with Wi-Fi was that a very bad to no connection, that's why i immediately went back to an old version, where everything was still working great(which it does now again)
     
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2018
  5. agilani

    agilani Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2012
    Messages:
    184
    @RMerlin
    Do we / does anyone have direct access to anyone at asus tech support to provide them with logs/debug/whatever they may need to troubleshoot wireless problems? Since i have stock installed now and the problems are still occurring with wireless...I'd be willing to spend some time tracking whatever information they need to help resolve this before i go back to 380.70

    right now I'm guessing the issue is with broadcast messages which may make this related to the code changes for aimesh... During the capture from my last problem period, i saw no broadcast traffic on the 2.4ghz channel and i started getting the dhcp loops in the logs again for some of my devices.

    many thanks!
     
    Vexira and Grisu like this.
  6. agilani

    agilani Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2012
    Messages:
    184
    Did you do a full wipe and configure without a restore? there is too much different in this code base compared with the last generation of code
     
  7. BlackMage

    BlackMage Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    oh no, i just updated
     
  8. RMerlin

    RMerlin Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    27,113
    Location:
    Canada
    Use the Feedback page on your router.
     
    Vexira likes this.
  9. agilani

    agilani Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2012
    Messages:
    184
    Ok, Thanks.
     
  10. unknownUser

    unknownUser Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    I noticed that my VPN Client connection stopped working after the update. This issue was ntp server was not able to be contacted to get the correct date and time.
    So I remove from my VPN Client the routing connection and reentered it - no, that wasn't the issue.
    The only way to get it working was to disable the VPN Client manually, get the update date/time and reenable it manually again.
    I don't think this is supposed to work like that, before the update the routing was fine
    (Router 192.168.1.1 0.0.0.0 WAN is the routing). I guess 'Block routed clients if tunnel goes down' isn't working correctly now, as even if it's actived, the routing over the WAN should work!? Using a 86U
     
  11. D_Day

    D_Day Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2018
    Messages:
    20
    I have thought the same thing about the kill switch not working properly.
    I have one openvpn client set up with exclusive dns and strict policy rules to three devices.
    It runs fine after setup but if I switch the client off to redirect the devices to WAN it just hangs, no vpn and no wan.
    I then have to reboot the router and everything works again.
    It’s a little annoying because I never had the problem until 384.5 final, all the alpha and beta’s worked fine.
    I also had the 2.4g wireless issue but that appears to have stopped after numerous factory resets.
     
  12. cowst

    cowst Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    215
    I have to update my signature.
    1-0 for you.

    You initially asked for AC86 (which I have now), then edited to AC68.
    1-1 :)
     
    kfp likes this.
  13. Bamsefar

    Bamsefar Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2014
    Messages:
    200
    Is it only I who have problem with 5GHz WiFi and MAC-filter? Because if I enable MAC filter on the 5GHz, everything (close to anyway) stops to work on 5GHz (the only thing that seems to work is my Sony mobile, but the other 10 or so clients are not working - yes I double checked all MAC entries)....
     
  14. kfp

    kfp Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2014
    Messages:
    271
    Is this behaviour only observed starting with 384.5?
     
  15. TheOldMan

    TheOldMan Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    120
    Location:
    USA
    My RT-AC3200 ran for 25+ days also. Just rebooted it. Many thanks, @RMerlin!
     
    scjr and AntonK like this.
  16. Howard_inGA

    Howard_inGA Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Messages:
    31
    384.5 18 days 16 hours of flawless operation...
    THANKS!!
     
    Beherit likes this.
  17. Bamsefar

    Bamsefar Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2014
    Messages:
    200
    I had it on 384.3 and decided to upgrade to 384.5 - no difference. I used to have so 382.1 - it was the last one I know worked. But then again, I might remember incorrect - I thought I check to see if anyone else has this odd behavior... I can give another example: the 5GHz with MAC filter on seems to like to restart the 5GHz radio part then and now, since my devices loses connection in an unregular pattern - makes no reason to do so. And if I run without MAC filter, it just works. Very annoying...
     
  18. kfp

    kfp Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2014
    Messages:
    271
    That’s good info, thanks. Though I don’t have a definitive answer for you.

    I was just wondering if it’s because a lot of devices now default to using a random MAC for Wifi discovery. Some also have the option to keep using that random MAC (Win10).
     
  19. bobiii

    bobiii Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    May 29, 2013
    Messages:
    76
    On my RT-AC5300 with approx. 50 clients...
    Uptime 30 days 4 hours 43 minute(s) 31 seconds on 384.5
     
    kfp likes this.
  20. Morac

    Morac Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2016
    Messages:
    129
    I have no idea what happened, but today when I got home my Internet was spotty. At first I thought it was my ISP, but I checked my router logs and it wad reporting over and over that it couldn’t write to /var/lib/misc/dnsmasq.leases because there was no space left on the device. This went back as far as the log went to June 11 8:58 pm, so nearly 24 hours.

    I have a AC88U which has about 500 MB of ram of which normally a little over 320 MB is free. Before rebooting I had 75 MB free. I wanted to ssh in to the router to see what was using all the space, but there wasn’t enough memory to fork a process to do so. All I could do was reboot. I now have 325 MB again.

    I don’t run anything special on the router. Just the basics and an OpenVPN server. It had been up 20 days without issue. Any idea what happened?
     
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2018
  21. scjr

    scjr Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2017
    Messages:
    321
    Location:
    "While I Breathe, I Hope"
    I see where Asus has released the source code for 20942, but not for 21045. Found it under RT-AC68U “others” downloads.
     
    skeal, stambeccuccio and kfp like this.
Please support SNBForums! Just click on this link before you buy something from Amazon and we'll get a small commission on anything you buy. Thanks!