Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

[Release] Asuswrt-Merlin 380.65 is now available

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by RMerlin, Feb 3, 2017.

  1. rtn66uftw

    rtn66uftw Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2015
    Messages:
    106
    Hi Merlin & all,

    I'm having problem with DHCP Server page on AC3100. It takes more than 5-10 min to load all static IP clients on FF (they won't show up at all on Edge or Chrome). If I change anything I couldn't press Apply button. Looks like the button is frozen or smth. How can I fix it? Belows are the steps I did to get static IP

    1. Flashed from 380_64_2 to 380_65 then did a factory reset
    2. Configured everything from scratch w/ settings similar to my other RT-AC68U
    3. Used John's save NVRAM utility to save dhcp_staticlist from the AC68U running John's fork v22E4
    4. Populated dhcp_staticlist to the AC3100, then do "nvram commit" & restart

    Thanks!
     
  2. rtn66uftw

    rtn66uftw Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2015
    Messages:
    106
    Also occasionally 2.4GHz channel completely lost connection. All clients still showed normal connect symbol but couldn't access to the internet at all. Only a reboot would fix it. Is this a problem with this firmware version only? TiA
     
  3. RMerlin

    RMerlin Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    23,189
    Location:
    Canada
    There's been no wireless changes (and very little changes overall in fact) with 380.65_2. If you are having wireless issues, try the usual recommendations: disable MU-MIMO and Airtime Fairness.
     
    rtn66uftw likes this.
  4. ToonTonic

    ToonTonic Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2016
    Messages:
    58
    Out of interest when was the last changes made in relation to WiFi?

    Since the most recent update (RT-AC88U) I've had all kinds of issues with WiFi devices at range, most specifically on the 2.4ghz band.

    Even got to the point where I dug out my old RT-N66U just to get a WiFi signal to my RING PRO doorbell (crazy I know) and that cuts out too!!. I also tried an AC Wireless extender just for the bell...that was a total waste of time.

    Prior to this (I was on up to date ASUS firmware rather than Merlin) I had no issues with WiFi in my house & nothing has changed within the property.

    5ghz was also very strong throughout (ring doorbell was on this band originally) but that band now becomes unusable unless I'm more or less on top of it.

    I've tried the usual culprits (channel change etc) and have since followed up with turning off MU-MIMO & Airtime fairness.

    I'm at a loss.

    Ponder a full reflash but not sure if that would help in any way.

    Appreciate any advice or questions.

    Toon
     
  5. chibby

    chibby Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Hi!

    i recently had a similar problem - my connection drops were caused by a bad HDMI cable running nearby (solution was to switch to displayport).
    A year ago i had speed drops caused by an USB-3-hub (here a clip-on ferrite was enough).
    So maybe check and deactivate any other devices around your router to test that?

    Other ideas: run around with a notebook and check wireless noise and SNR at different places. Maybe something else is interfering with your wireless. Reducing channel bandwidth from 80 to 40 MHz (5GHz) helped here too.

    ~ all the best
     
  6. Morac

    Morac Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2016
    Messages:
    49
    Same router with the same problem. Though my 2.4 Ghz band has always been lousy do to overcrowding, my 5 Ghz band used to be great no matter what the channel. Now I need to use 48 or lower because the router has problem "hearing" devices on 5 Ghz. The devices themselves have no problem "hearing" the router, but the router shows one bar of signal strength.

    This doesn't seem to affect most devices, but my iPad can no longer connect on those higher channels unless I'm within a few feet of the router. Strangely once I connect I can wander away and it will stay connected, sometimes even at full speed. I can't find any rhyme or reason, but rebooting the router seems to help.

    Up until flashing 380.65.2, I never had a problem with 5 Ghz set to "Auto". Maybe I was lucky and it was always using lower channels, but that seems unlikely considering I've toggled Auto off a number of times and it always picks 142 or higher.

    Nothing else has changed recently.
     
  7. rromeroa

    rromeroa Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2015
    Messages:
    30
    Hi!

    Updated to 380.65.2 my RT-AC68U. I've been with Merlin for a long time and I've never had this messages in syslog:

    Dead loop on virtual device vlan2, fix it urgently!
    Dead loop on virtual device vlan2, fix it urgently!
    Dead loop on virtual device vlan2, fix it urgently!

    what does it mean? And how can I fix it?

    Thanks !.
     
  8. RMerlin

    RMerlin Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    23,189
    Location:
    Canada
    380.61, last summer, when GPL 3831 was merged in.
     
    stambeccuccio likes this.
  9. John Ottestad

    John Ottestad New Around Here

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    I have a ASUS N66U router running 380.65 fw. I run selective routing to SmartDNSproxy using openvpn. Everything works perfect, expect "start with wan". When i check the "start with wan" box and reboots, the router starts up and the green light indicates that the VPN tunnel is up. But the VPN tunnel is not up - there is no connection to wan over the tunnel via the remote server. Manual start of the tunnel works like a charm. Any idea what could be the problem ?
     
  10. james2947

    james2947 New Around Here

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Hey guys,

    I need help!

    I’m trying to migrate from Tomato to Merlin 380.65_2. I have an ASUS RT-AC68U Router that won’t go into Recovery / Rescue mode. I’ve tried everything conceivable:

    - Standard Protocol: Hold ‘Reset’ Button while Plugging-in Router
    - DWRT 30/30/30 trick
    - SSH clear nvram
    - Holding WPS button instead of Reset button

    Nothing works!

    Any ideas???

    Thanks!
     
  11. joegreat

    joegreat Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    1,377
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    There is NO 30-30-30 "trick" on Asus routers - why this myth does not go away? :oops:
    See NVRAM/factory default reset info for details on the CORRECT reset of Asus routers.
    Did you carefully follow the instructions for the recovery mode? Especially waiting until the Power LED at the front panel flashes slowly and setting the static IP address on the PC...

    Than you have to use the ASUS Firmware Restoration tool from the utility download page to load the new firmware.
     
    Last edited: Mar 14, 2017
    james2947 and fafot like this.
  12. Diamond67

    Diamond67 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2015
    Messages:
    76
    See this thread:
    https://www.snbforums.com/threads/t...d-while-flashing-from-tomato-to-merlin.29077/
    I'm not sure if it's useful or not.
     
    james2947 likes this.
  13. Blinkyz

    Blinkyz Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2015
    Messages:
    305
    Location:
    At work
    james2947 and heysoundude like this.
  14. Reinvented

    Reinvented Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2015
    Messages:
    96
    380.65_2 for AC3100 is horrible. Causes my 5GHz to drop randomly. Did a fresh install and setup everything again from scratch. Reverted back, and everything seems fine.

    Edit: MU-MIMO and Airtime fairness are always disabled for me just fyi.
     
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2017
  15. chipped

    chipped Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    It's got to be something that was changed in 380.65_2

    I've used every version, including Beta's and I haven't changed settings very much. Airtime Fairness was always on for me and didn't cause these very frequent lockups.

    I think you'll find that everyone here is in the same boat as me.

    Also, because the wireless isn't dropping on the laptop and comes good after some time it might indicate that it's not specifically being caused by the wireless driver.

    I'm happy to replicate the problem when I have some time tomorrow hopefully.
     
  16. Morac

    Morac Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2016
    Messages:
    49
    If you have the 5 Ghz channel set to Auto, change it to 48 or lower. That's what worked for me.
     
  17. Csection

    Csection Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2016
    Messages:
    280
    Also try channels 149 through 165. I can't use the lower channels in my area.
    I have "Airtime Fairness" on and it does not seem to interfere with my wifi though I am in "Bridge" mode now. I have used it in router mode and no prob with my 5ghz.
    What all the experts on here will tell you is make sure that you other computers and devices have the latest drivers.
     
  18. Morac

    Morac Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2016
    Messages:
    49
    For me with the latest update I could not connect to my AC88U with channels 149 and up unless I was within a few feet of the router.
     
  19. onetwobr

    onetwobr New Around Here

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    Brazil
    Hi guys,

    Well, my problem does not only occur with this version of Merlin but can anyone help me? :)

    https://www.snbforums.com/threads/ac66u-ipv6-dmz.38060/

    With the Asus "oficial" firmware ipv6 works like a charm but the Internal LAN performance is so poor (not to mention the lack of features) :p

    Tks a lot!
     
  20. Reinvented

    Reinvented Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2015
    Messages:
    96
    I never use Auto. Using auto is ALWAYS bad. Only 161.
     

Share This Page