Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

[Release] Asuswrt-Merlin 380.65 is now available

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by RMerlin, Feb 3, 2017.

  1. Stef2018

    Stef2018 New Around Here

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Hello

    I'm a fan of Merlin running on my severals Asus routers for several years now and I love it.
    Thank you. Thank you for all the efforts done. Thank you forum fans.

    Last week I started to use AiProtection - Time Scheduling for my son last "√Čtape" at school so it will be easier for him to focus on his homework and examen preps.
    Yesterday (saturday) he complained at 9:05 that his link was still down. I had to open it starting at 8:00 (instead of 9:00) and that fixed it.
    Again today the problem reoccured. His time on his phone is good so as the time on the Asus.
    I also rebooted his phone around 9:15 and it was still blocked.

    I revisited all the schedule by widening the windows.

    Anyhow my work around is ok for now and I will do some more tests this week on my own.
    Probably this behavior is the same with the original rom ....

    Anyone have experienced that?
     
  2. RMerlin

    RMerlin Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    24,655
    Location:
    Canada
    Try rebooting the router. The service might be confused by last week's shift to summer time.
     
    visortgw likes this.
  3. Stef2018

    Stef2018 New Around Here

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    It was obviously!
    It's working great now :)

    Thank you
     
  4. visortgw

    visortgw Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    135
    Summer?!? We had more than two feet of snow on Tuesday!!!
     
    joegreat and Sanna1967 like this.
  5. Stef2018

    Stef2018 New Around Here

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Ya and by law summer tires were allowed wednesday.
    Close to 2 feets here !!!!
     
  6. hjohan13

    hjohan13 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    May 23, 2016
    Messages:
    54
    Location:
    Sweden
    AC5300 with 380.65 (and 380.65-2) shows wrong time in Sweden. Anybody any suggestions...
     
  7. joegreat

    joegreat Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    1,478
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    Yes, set the correct week for switching to summer time in the settings under Administration! :eek:

    In this March it's the 4th Sunday to switch time +1 hour and in this year October it will be even the 5th Sunday to switch back!
     
  8. paulbates

    paulbates Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2015
    Messages:
    94
    Location:
    Dearborn, Mi
    Upgraded to 65_2 on an AC88. The only unexpected thing was a blank MAC address under WAN / Internet connection. It took a few minutes to discover that as everything connected to the router, but the router wouldn't connect to the internet. I selected MAC Clone (because its fast/easy) and after a few minutes everything came back. All my other settings seem to have been preserved.

    As an FYI, changing the MAC seems to be a predictable way to get comcast to change the IPV4 Internet IP provided behind their modem. Disconnect/reconnect never does that for me

    Paul
     
  9. hjohan13

    hjohan13 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    May 23, 2016
    Messages:
    54
    Location:
    Sweden
    Thanks. Will try tonight....have really looked for that setting...
     
  10. programatix

    programatix Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015
    Messages:
    27
    Hi RMerlin,

    I'm having issue when after a certain amount of space or files been used or created on a ext3 partition, I'll get OOM whenever further files are created. I'm not sure what actually caused the issue but if I delete files from that particular partition, then I can create more files again without the OOM being triggered.

    The log captured is as below,
    Code:
    Mar 20 20:14:05 kernel: httpd invoked oom-killer: gfp_mask=0xd0, order=0, oomkilladj=0
    Mar 20 20:14:05 kernel: Call Trace:
    Mar 20 20:14:05 kernel: [<8000f41c>] dump_stack+0x8/0x34
    Mar 20 20:14:05 kernel: [<80057508>] out_of_memory+0x1fc/0x264
    Mar 20 20:14:05 kernel: [<8005937c>] __alloc_pages+0x318/0x360
    Mar 20 20:14:05 kernel: [<800593ec>] __get_free_pages+0x28/0x4c
    Mar 20 20:14:05 kernel: [<800c2be4>] proc_file_read+0x94/0x32c
    Mar 20 20:14:05 kernel: [<8007d864>] vfs_read+0xbc/0x164
    Mar 20 20:14:05 kernel: [<8007de2c>] sys_read+0x50/0xbc
    Mar 20 20:14:05 kernel: [<800111b0>] stack_done+0x20/0x44
    Mar 20 20:14:05 kernel: Mem-info:
    Mar 20 20:14:05 kernel: lowmem_reserve[]: 0 14224
    Mar 20 20:14:05 kernel: HighMem free:70384kB min:512kB low:4096kB high:7680kB active:26148kB inactive:28268kB present:1820672kl: task 165 (syslogd) got 22 points
    Mar 20 20:14:05 kernel: printk: 391 messages suppressed.
    Mar 20 20:14:05 kernel: httpd invoked oom-killer: gfp_mask=0xd0, order=0, oomkilladj=0
    Mar 20 20:14:05 kernel: Call Trace:
    Mar 20 20:14:05 kernel: [<8000f41c>] dump_stack+0x8/0x34
    Mar 20 20:14:05 kernel: [<80057508>] out_of_memory+0x1fc/0x264
    Mar 20 20:14:05 kernel: [<8005937c>] __alloc_pages+0x318/0x360
    Mar 20 20:14:05 kernel: [<800593ec>] __get_free_pages+0x28/0x4c
    Mar 20 20:14:05 kernel: [<800c2be4>] proc_file_read+0x94/0x32c
    Mar 20 20:14:05 kernel: [<8007d864>] vfs_read+0xbc/0x164
    Mar 20 20:14:05 kernel: [<8007de2c>] sys_read+0x50/0xbc
    Mar 20 20:14:08 kernel: printk: 225 messages suppressed.
    Mar 20 20:14:08 kernel: httpd invoked oom-killer: gfp_mask=0xd0, order=0, oomkilladj=0
    Mar 20 20:14:08 kernel: Call Trace:
    Mar 20 20:14:08 kernel: [<8000f41c>] dump_stack+0x8/0x34
    Mar 20 20:14:08 kernel: [<80057508>] out_of_memory+0x1fc/0x264
    Mar 20 20:14:08 kernel: [<8005937c>] __alloc_pages+0x318/0x360
    Mar 20 20:14:08 kernel: [<800593ec>] __get_free_pages+0x28/0x4c
    Mar 20 20:14:08 kernel: [<800c2be4>] proc_file_read+0x94/0x32c
    Mar 20 20:14:08 kernel: [<8007d864>] vfs_read+0xbc/0x164
    Mar 20 20:14:08 kernel: [<8007de2c>] sys_read+0x50/0xbc
    Mar 20 20:14:13 kernel: printk: 477 messages suppressed.
    Mar 20 20:14:13 kernel: httpd invoked oom-killer: gfp_mask=0xd0, order=0, oomkilladj=0
    Mar 20 20:14:13 kernel: Call Trace:
    Mar 20 20:14:13 kernel: [<8000f41c>] dump_stack+0x8/0x34
    Mar 20 20:14:13 kernel: [<80057508>] out_of_memory+0x1fc/0x264
    Mar 20 20:14:13 kernel: [<8005937c>] __alloc_pages+0x318/0x360
    Mar 20 20:14:13 kernel: [<800593ec>] __get_free_pages+0x28/0x4c
    Mar 20 20:14:13 kernel: [<800c2be4>] proc_file_read+0x94/0x32c
    Mar 20 20:14:13 kernel: [<8007d864>] vfs_read+0xbc/0x164
    Mar 20 20:14:13 kernel: [<8007de2c>] sys_read+0x50/0xbc
    
    There is sufficient swap space most of the time,
    Code:
                 total       used       free     shared    buffers     cached
    Mem:        239672     105448     134224          0       8760      29780
    -/+ buffers/cache:      66908     172764
    Swap:       761656      70060     691596
    
    Any help would be greatly appreciated.
     
  11. joegreat

    joegreat Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    1,478
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    Well, seeing how much swap used you are running by sure out of memory! :oops:

    You need to reduce the no. of services and/or mange the memory usage of the services and/or the kernel parameters for memory handling.
     
  12. hjohan13

    hjohan13 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    May 23, 2016
    Messages:
    54
    Location:
    Sweden
    Thanks. Works.....
     
  13. programatix

    programatix Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015
    Messages:
    27
    I don't get it. At the time when OOM occurred, the log states that there is 70384kB of free RAM. Also the swap used is definitely low.

    Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk
     
  14. joegreat

    joegreat Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    1,478
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    Memory handling in Linux is not that simple - have a look into here for all the options for memory handling related to vm/swap.

    My current settings to avoid memory shortage (as outline here) in the init-start script are:
    echo 49152 > /proc/sys/vm/min_free_kbytes
    echo 1 > /proc/sys/vm/overcommit_memory
    echo 384 > /proc/sys/vm/overcommit_ratio
    echo 5 > /proc/sys/vm/dirty_background_ratio
    echo 10 > /proc/sys/vm/dirty_ratio
    echo 500 > /proc/sys/vm/vfs_cache_pressure
    # Scheduler setup moved to post-mount script
    # echo cfq > /sys/block/sda/queue/scheduler
    # echo noop > /sys/block/mtdblock3/queue/scheduler
    # echo noop > /sys/block/sdb/queue/scheduler
    echo 3 > /proc/sys/vm/drop_caches
    echo 20 > /proc/sys/vm/swappiness
     
    programatix and spalife like this.
  15. nyxagamemnon

    nyxagamemnon Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2013
    Messages:
    45
    Here's an issue I've noticed with the AC88U. Over time 2-4 weeks my internet speed will start to degrade and slow down and I will get micro freezing in games (happens in overwatch conan etc all games) Basically my router will just hiccup causing a massive ping spike and then go on as normal. If i reboot the router things go back to normal and then the process just starts again.

    1. Factory reset was done when moving to the Merlin firmware from Asus.

    2. I notice CPU 1 gets way more load than CPU 2.

    3. I'd provide logs but I had to reboot my router to get my net back. When it slows down again I can post logs.

    4. I don't have any signal issues just the internet speed.

    5. Router is hooked up to a Netgear cm600 cable modem.
    Any ideas as to what causes this slow degredation?
     
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2017
  16. Blinkyz

    Blinkyz Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2015
    Messages:
    328
    Location:
    Leaving this board
    Because this is not a beta ,its an official release
     
  17. cyroxn

    cyroxn New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Have you tried to troubleshoot your problem before crying?
    You've contributed nothing with your comments, like how you've flashed your router(done a factory reset for example) or how you've set up your router.

    Edit: So to summarize: You commented on a release thread of a custom firmware about how horrible the software is, then called it essentially garbage and the release irresponsible. All of that without any good information about your issue, how you've installed the firmware or how your router was set up.
    After I commented on your lack on information you just comment on how troubleshooting is a waste of time and try to play a victim of a forum that "[...]would rather shame users for their lack of knowledge than accept that the product is faulty"
    I'm lacking words to comment on that... o_O
     
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2017
  18. RMerlin

    RMerlin Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    24,655
    Location:
    Canada
    I'm in the middle of a major change at work (in addition to having been sick the last few days), and have zero time to devote to this hobby right now. If for you that's not good enough, then feel free to go back to Asus's stock firmware.
     
    ChrisR, eddiez, Keith Burt and 21 others like this.
  19. AndreiV

    AndreiV Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Messages:
    280
    Location:
    UK
    Who is the turd that is doing the flaming?

    Maybe it is down to the connection type but my AC3200 has had absolutely zero connection issues with 380.65_2 installed .

    PPOE VDSL2 fibre.

    My neighbour has no issue , nor do 2 others I know running the Ac3200.

    Have you rebooted the router? Have you tried a factory reset?
     
    Blinkyz likes this.
  20. chevyman142000

    chevyman142000 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2015
    Messages:
    13
    I had issues on my AC68U with 380.65_2. CPU Core 1 would go 100% and just stay there. Internet speeds got real slow and/or randomly would not load things. Also had some weird issues with the web interface not showing that it had a WAN IP, DDNS was not working, and the WiFi icon was not lit green even though it was on and broadcasting. I did a factory reset and it has been fine since.
     
    AndreiV likes this.

Share This Page