[Release] Asuswrt-Merlin 384.9 is now available

  • ATTENTION! As of November 1, 2020, you are not able to reply to threads 6 months after the thread is opened if there are more than 500 posts in the thread.
    Threads will not be locked, so posts may still be edited by their authors.
    Just start a new thread on the topic to post if you get an error message when trying to reply to a thread.

bbunge

Very Senior Member
I'm losing my internet connection several times a day.
I give the reboot command on stubby and the link goes online again.
Would the problem be in Stubby or Asuswrt?

Code:
Feb  8 07:11:05 WLCEVENTD: wl0.1: Disassoc 68:C6:3A:A3:45:1A
Feb  8 07:11:07 WLCEVENTD: wl0.1: Assoc 68:C6:3A:A3:45:1A
Feb  8 07:11:07 dnsmasq-dhcp[767]: DHCPDISCOVER(br0) 68:c6:3a:a3:45:1a
Feb  8 07:11:07 dnsmasq-dhcp[767]: DHCPOFFER(br0) 192.168.10.34 68:c6:3a:a3:45:1a
Feb  8 07:11:07 dnsmasq-dhcp[767]: DHCPREQUEST(br0) 192.168.10.34 68:c6:3a:a3:45:1a
Feb  8 07:11:07 dnsmasq-dhcp[767]: DHCPACK(br0) 192.168.10.34 68:c6:3a:a3:45:1a ESP_A3451A
Feb  8 07:11:18 dnsmasq-dhcp[767]: DHCPREQUEST(br0) 192.168.10.33 84:8e:0c:bf:e9:e4
Feb  8 07:11:18 dnsmasq-dhcp[767]: DHCPACK(br0) 192.168.10.33 84:8e:0c:bf:e9:e4 iPadMini
Feb  8 07:28:08 dnsmasq-dhcp[767]: DHCPREQUEST(br0) 192.168.10.9 30:9c:23:df:4e:4b
Feb  8 07:28:08 dnsmasq-dhcp[767]: DHCPACK(br0) 192.168.10.9 30:9c:23:df:4e:4b Ryzen
Feb  8 07:41:54 WLCEVENTD: eth5: Assoc 84:8E:0C:BF:E9:E4
Feb  8 07:41:54 WLCEVENTD: eth6: Disassoc 84:8E:0C:BF:E9:E4
Feb  8 07:41:54 WLCEVENTD: eth6: Disassoc 84:8E:0C:BF:E9:E4
Feb  8 07:41:55 dnsmasq-dhcp[767]: DHCPDISCOVER(br0) 84:8e:0c:bf:e9:e4
Feb  8 07:41:55 dnsmasq-dhcp[767]: DHCPOFFER(br0) 192.168.10.33 84:8e:0c:bf:e9:e4
Feb  8 07:41:56 dnsmasq-dhcp[767]: DHCPREQUEST(br0) 192.168.10.33 84:8e:0c:bf:e9:e4
Feb  8 07:41:56 dnsmasq-dhcp[767]: DHCPACK(br0) 192.168.10.33 84:8e:0c:bf:e9:e4 iPadMini
Feb  8 07:49:18 dropbear[9550]: Child connection from 192.168.10.9:63058
Feb  8 07:49:18 dropbear[9550]: Password auth succeeded for 'admin' from 192.168.10.9:63058
Feb  8 06:49:34 S61stubby: restart Stubby DNS over TLS /opt/etc/init.d/S61stubby
Feb  8 06:49:35 admin: Started stubby from .
Disable Network Monitoring.

Sent from my SM-T380 using Tapatalk
 

tdub42

Regular Contributor
Having this issue with my 3100 as well. I will try another channel to see if it works longer than a day or two. My 5GHz will not connect at all since upgrade. I factory reset then used the restore tool.

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk
 
Last edited:

roundaway

Occasional Visitor
Hey folks - I apologize but I can't find the answer.
I cannot seem to dirty upgrade my two 66U_B1 (68U firmware) from .8_2 to .9.
Is this a known issue?
My AC5300 took some nudging (a couple tries) but worked.
No dice on the 66U_B1/68U
Was able to dirty flash my 66U_B1 from .8_2 to .9 without incident. Been up for over 6 days.
 

hjohan13

Regular Contributor
Had a lot of dropouts with 384.8.0 and 2. Had to restart the router every now and then. 384.9 runs rock solid. Running 2 86U's. 1 as a Router and 1 as a media-bridge. Also a Netgear EX8000 as media-bridge.
Accessing the 2 media-bridges often fail via Firefox and Edge after updating to 384.9. Any suggestions?
 
Last edited:

scjr

Very Senior Member
7 days uptime and WiFi is rock solid. I have four iOS devices, two TVs and a laptop on the network. Thank you, Eric!
 

EventPhotoMan

Very Senior Member
I'm losing my internet connection several times a day.
I give the reboot command on stubby and the link goes online again.
Would the problem be in Stubby or Asuswrt?

Code:
Feb  8 07:11:05 WLCEVENTD: wl0.1: Disassoc 68:C6:3A:A3:45:1A
Feb  8 07:11:07 WLCEVENTD: wl0.1: Assoc 68:C6:3A:A3:45:1A
Feb  8 07:11:07 dnsmasq-dhcp[767]: DHCPDISCOVER(br0) 68:c6:3a:a3:45:1a
Feb  8 07:11:07 dnsmasq-dhcp[767]: DHCPOFFER(br0) 192.168.10.34 68:c6:3a:a3:45:1a
Feb  8 07:11:07 dnsmasq-dhcp[767]: DHCPREQUEST(br0) 192.168.10.34 68:c6:3a:a3:45:1a
Feb  8 07:11:07 dnsmasq-dhcp[767]: DHCPACK(br0) 192.168.10.34 68:c6:3a:a3:45:1a ESP_A3451A
Feb  8 07:11:18 dnsmasq-dhcp[767]: DHCPREQUEST(br0) 192.168.10.33 84:8e:0c:bf:e9:e4
Feb  8 07:11:18 dnsmasq-dhcp[767]: DHCPACK(br0) 192.168.10.33 84:8e:0c:bf:e9:e4 iPadMini
Feb  8 07:28:08 dnsmasq-dhcp[767]: DHCPREQUEST(br0) 192.168.10.9 30:9c:23:df:4e:4b
Feb  8 07:28:08 dnsmasq-dhcp[767]: DHCPACK(br0) 192.168.10.9 30:9c:23:df:4e:4b Ryzen
Feb  8 07:41:54 WLCEVENTD: eth5: Assoc 84:8E:0C:BF:E9:E4
Feb  8 07:41:54 WLCEVENTD: eth6: Disassoc 84:8E:0C:BF:E9:E4
Feb  8 07:41:54 WLCEVENTD: eth6: Disassoc 84:8E:0C:BF:E9:E4
Feb  8 07:41:55 dnsmasq-dhcp[767]: DHCPDISCOVER(br0) 84:8e:0c:bf:e9:e4
Feb  8 07:41:55 dnsmasq-dhcp[767]: DHCPOFFER(br0) 192.168.10.33 84:8e:0c:bf:e9:e4
Feb  8 07:41:56 dnsmasq-dhcp[767]: DHCPREQUEST(br0) 192.168.10.33 84:8e:0c:bf:e9:e4
Feb  8 07:41:56 dnsmasq-dhcp[767]: DHCPACK(br0) 192.168.10.33 84:8e:0c:bf:e9:e4 iPadMini
Feb  8 07:49:18 dropbear[9550]: Child connection from 192.168.10.9:63058
Feb  8 07:49:18 dropbear[9550]: Password auth succeeded for 'admin' from 192.168.10.9:63058
Feb  8 06:49:34 S61stubby: restart Stubby DNS over TLS /opt/etc/init.d/S61stubby
Feb  8 06:49:35 admin: Started stubby from .
I got this alsowith the last release. So I rolled back. Disappointing in Asus, again.
 

EventPhotoMan

Very Senior Member
If you encounter frequent assoc and disassoc with the same WiFi device, perhaps you need to fine tune your Smart Connect Rule setting, or just disable Smart Connect.
I do t use smart connect and this issue is persistent. When I get some time I’ll have to give it a try again.
 

GHammer

Senior Member
I do t use smart connect and this issue is persistent. When I get some time I’ll have to give it a try again.
I'm fairly certain that is not the cause.
My devices do this and they are not mobile phones.
Some things just like to renew their connection, especially ones with cheap 2.4 GHz chips in them along with poor programming to use it.
Is it clutter? Yep, but it makes other entries standout when scrolling through.
 

ppfoong

Regular Contributor
I'm fairly certain that is not the cause.
My devices do this and they are not mobile phones.
Some things just like to renew their connection, especially ones with cheap 2.4 GHz chips in them along with poor programming to use it.
Is it clutter? Yep, but it makes other entries standout when scrolling through.
Or maybe you have a congested 2.4GHz environment.

I use the Wi-Fi Radar's Channel Statistics to find out the best available center channel and manually set to that channel.
 

ppfoong

Regular Contributor
I do t use smart connect and this issue is persistent. When I get some time I’ll have to give it a try again.
I also don't use Smart Connect.

This is what I observed. When I return from outside, my handphone will first connect to 2.4GHz, within seconds will disconnect from 2.4GHz and connect to 5GHz, then stayed on with 5GHz until I go out, which it will disconnect from 5GHz. If I set my handphone to forget the 2.4GHz password, then it will only connect/disconnect with 5GHz. There will be less log entries.
 

RMerlin

Asuswrt-Merlin dev
Apologies if this has already been covered - I've read the entire thread but may have missed something, and haven't been up to date with the rest of the forum for a couple of weeks.

I flashed 384.9 and dnsmasq wouldn't start up properly. I tracked it down to having a "dhcp-script=" entry in my /jffs/configs/dnsmasq.conf.add file. (This pointed to a script that emailed me when a new device joins my guest wifi, which I based off https://www.snbforums.com/threads/identify-guest-network-clients.37355/#post-306755.)

It seems that there is now already a "dhcp-script=/sbin/dhcpc_lease" entry in the default /etc/dnsmasq.conf, so by adding my own "dhcp-script" line to dnsmasq.conf.add I was creating a duplicate command when the .add file was merged in, and dnsmasq wouldn't start up. I don't think dhcp-script was present in /etc/dnsmasq.conf in previous releases but I could easily be wrong, will try to investigate more later.

All resolved now, though I'll have to find another way of getting those email notifications. If anyone has any insights I'd be glad to hear them, but for now I'm just posting this in case it's useful to anyone else.

PS. Almost forgot to say thanks for the update. :)
It was changed by Asus.

My recommendation would be to use a postconf script. Modify that line to call your script, and at the end of your script insert the /sbin/dhcp_lease call (make sure to also pass all arguments you received if there is any - I don't know if that's the case with dhcp-script).

I got this alsowith the last release. So I rolled back. Disappointing in Asus, again.
Why is it Asus failing if your unsupported customization (stubby) isn't compatible with their code?
 

preacher65

Regular Contributor
My recommendation would be to use a postconf script. Modify that line to call your script, and at the end of your script insert the /sbin/dhcp_lease call (make sure to also pass all arguments you received if there is any - I don't know if that's the case with dhcp-script).
Thank you! Not only has that worked, but I had a "lightbulb moment" and I think the use of postconf scripts has finally clicked into place in my head. And I love learning new things even more than I like fixing problems. So thanks again.

dhcp-script receives up to 4 arguments, so can someone kindly confirm please if this would be correct as the last line of my script, in order to pass the same 4 arguments? (I'm far better at changing other people's code than I am at writing it.)
Code:
/sbin/dhcp_lease $1 $2 $3 $4
Do I need quotes? Can I just use [email protected] (or "[email protected]")?
 
Last edited:

EmeraldDeer

Very Senior Member
Thank you! Not only has that worked, but I had a "lightbulb moment" and I think the use of postconf scripts has finally clicked into place in my head. And I love learning new things even more than I like fixing problems. So thanks again.

dhcp-script receives up to 4 arguments, so can someone kindly confirm please if this would be correct as the last line of my script, in order to pass the same 4 arguments? (I'm far better at changing other people's code than I am at writing it.)
Code:
/sbin/dhcp_lease $1 $2 $3 $4
Do I need quotes? Can I just use [email protected] (or "[email protected]")?
I do not see a pre-existing dhcp-script line in /etc/dnsmasq.conf nor a lease script in /sbin which I presume is actually your creation.
You would not put arguments to your script in the postconf script line because that is merely where the script name is set, not where it is called to run. It is called later by dnsmasq when DHCP events occur with four arguments.
This minimalist implementation is working:
Code:
# cat dnsmasq.postconf
#!/bin/sh
CONFIG=$1
source /usr/sbin/helper.sh
pc_delete "no-negcache" $CONFIG
pc_append "neg-ttl=3600" $CONFIG
pc_append "dhcp-script=/jffs/scripts/log-dhcp.sh" $CONFIG
#
. /opt/share/diversion/file/post-conf.div # Added by Diversion

# cat log-dhcp.sh
#!/bin/sh
myscriptname=`/usr/bin/basename $0`
/usr/bin/logger -t ${myscriptname} -p local6.info "Action $1, MAC $2, IP_address $3, Hostname $4"
 
Last edited:

tallytr

Senior Member
7 days uptime and WiFi is rock solid. I have four iOS devices, two TVs and a laptop on the network. Thank you, Eric!
6 days 18 hours 23 minute(s) 34 seconds on RT-AC86U. No issues at all other than not using AiProtection...
 
Last edited:

GHammer

Senior Member
Or maybe you have a congested 2.4GHz environment.

I use the Wi-Fi Radar's Channel Statistics to find out the best available center channel and manually set to that channel.
I'm going to guess that your theory is not applicable if Smart Connect is off like mine is.
 

det721

Part of the Furniture
6 days 18 hours 23 minute(s) 34 seconds on RT-AC86U. No issues at all other than no using AiProtection...
Is it really needed to put the minutes and seconds ?? Almost like you anticipate a failure. :rolleyes:o_O
 

bearever

Regular Contributor

Dabombber

Senior Member
Do I need quotes? Can I just use [email protected] (or "[email protected]")?
Best to test it if you're not sure which will work.
a.sh
Code:
#!/bin/sh

echo '[email protected]'
. b.sh [email protected]
echo '"[email protected]"'
. b.sh "[email protected]"
echo '$*'
. b.sh $*
echo '"$*"'
. b.sh "$*"
b.sh
Code:
#!/bin/sh

echo "$# arguments"
for VAR in "[email protected]"
do
   echo -e "\t$VAR"
done
sh a.sh "foo bar" foo bar
Code:
[email protected]
4 arguments
        foo
        bar
        foo
        bar
"[email protected]"
3 arguments
        foo bar
        foo
        bar
$*
4 arguments
        foo
        bar
        foo
        bar
"$*"
1 arguments
        foo bar foo bar

So "[email protected]" would be best.
 

ppfoong

Regular Contributor
6 days 18 hours 23 minute(s) 34 seconds on RT-AC86U. No issues at all other than no using AiProtection...
Hmm... AiProtection works fine for me. I cleared the Malicious Sites Blocking and IPS hit count to 0 after the upgrade. Infected Device Prevention and Blocking has always been 0 all the while.

Let me recall... at the first 2 hours, the Malicious Sites Blocking and IPS hit count remain at 0 although I purposely went and visit some torrent download sites which used to produce hits.
Running "ps" in ssh terminal can see process "dcd -i 3600 -p 43200 -b -d /tmp/bwdpi/" is up and running.

Then I saw hit counts in Malicious Sites Blocking and IPS shown in Asus Router app when I accessed the router using the app. When I access using web browser again, the hit counts also shown there now.

Maybe the Asus Router app has triggered something, or maybe just coincident. But AiProtection is working fine now, including IPS hit counts.
 

Similar threads

Latest threads

Sign Up For SNBForums Daily Digest

Get an update of what's new every day delivered to your mailbox. Sign up here!
Top