Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

[Release] FreshJR Adaptive QOS (Improvements / Custom Rules / and Inner workings)

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by FreshJR, Jan 12, 2017.

  1. Jack Yaz

    Jack Yaz Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2017
    Messages:
    621
    eclp likes this.
  2. eclp

    eclp Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    May 15, 2016
    Messages:
    128
    Thank you very much, my lord!

    :)
     
    Vexira likes this.
  3. unsynaps

    unsynaps Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    94
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    I have a question that kinda goes back to the first page of this thread.

    Is there any "sure fire" way to tell if data going through the router gets classified as Unidentified? Like fire up a game then look at something through SSH to maybe find out what its calling that data?

    Or some way to look inside that definition file?
     
  4. Vexira

    Vexira Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2017
    Messages:
    759
    Location:
    Australia
    I'm trying to work out what to change in the script to get that to work. now I have a massive headache, because I can for see there will be some rounding required to get the values in to an acceptable range.
     
  5. gffmac

    gffmac Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2015
    Messages:
    78
    Is there a way to have the upload/download amount adjusted automatically based on time of day? My download speed can be greatly reduced during peak times.
    Thanks
     
  6. jpclarke

    jpclarke Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2015
    Messages:
    86
    Hi, I use a raspberry pi to run a scheduled speedtest, these figures are then put into nvram (up and down figures are reduced to 98% using bc which is installed via optware) and then the FreshJR script is run. If you want static values at scheduled times for your up and down rates, just update the nvram variables accordingly and run the FreshJR script.

    This can be done using scheduled scripts or manually kicked off.
     
    Vexira and gffmac like this.
  7. gffmac

    gffmac Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2015
    Messages:
    78
    That sounds like an idea, could you let me know the nvram commands for updating the upload and download please.
     
  8. jpclarke

    jpclarke Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2015
    Messages:
    86
    Here is the bit of my script that updates my up and down rates from the text files produced by the speedtest:

    nvram set qos_obw=$speedup
    nvram set qos_ibw=$speeddown
    nvram commit

    Change the variables to the numbers you want.
     
    gffmac likes this.
  9. gffmac

    gffmac Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2015
    Messages:
    78
    Do you know how to read back what a specific nvram value is currently?

    Sent from my HTC 10 using Tapatalk
     
  10. Jack Yaz

    Jack Yaz Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2017
    Messages:
    621
    nvram get variablename

    e.g. nvram get qos_obw
     
    gffmac likes this.
  11. jpclarke

    jpclarke Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2015
    Messages:
    86
    If you just type in nvram and press enter it will give you all available options. To read a value replace set with get and remove the = part.
     
    gffmac likes this.
  12. Gitsum

    Gitsum Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Messages:
    134
    Will this script still work with Merlin's new 382.** firmwares?
     
  13. klidec

    klidec New Around Here

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    I was just wondering the same. I don't think i want to go back to a world without this script unless Asus fixes the issue in newer firmwares.
     
  14. Vexira

    Vexira Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2017
    Messages:
    759
    Location:
    Australia
    cant see why it wouldn't, I'm running it on the new 382, seems to work for me, may need an update possibly.
     
    beboptrumpet likes this.
  15. Gitsum

    Gitsum Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Messages:
    134
    I tried it and it didnt seem to be working. Lots of data going through the "default" queue. Log showed firewall rules being applied though. Have to try installing it again maybe.
    Using AC88U with 382 beta1
     
  16. Vexira

    Vexira Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2017
    Messages:
    759
    Location:
    Australia
    did you factory reset?
     
  17. Gitsum

    Gitsum Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Messages:
    134
    Yes, but I didnt select the create new jffs on restart button either. Wonder if that messed it up.
     
  18. Csection

    Csection Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2016
    Messages:
    316
    Try unplugging power plug. Don't do create new if you have other scripts in the jffs. I only factory reset on fresh installs or if something gets really hosed up.
    Refreshing power can fix a lot of problems.
     
  19. 2992

    2992 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Any idea how to make the (adaptive) QoS working for the traffic routed through the TUN Interface? All my router clients connect using OpenVPN (TUN Interface), none of them are connecting directly to Internet/WAN.
    Thank you!
     
  20. Vexira

    Vexira Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2017
    Messages:
    759
    Location:
    Australia
    do
    you know the port number?
     

Share This Page