Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

[Release] FreshJR Adaptive QOS (Improvements / Custom Rules / and Inner workings)

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by FreshJR, Jan 12, 2017.

  1. eclp

    eclp Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    May 15, 2016
    Messages:
    128
    Can anyone say why the script starts twice? Or is this behavior normal, have I perhaps done something wrong?

    Code:
    Sep 24 10:41:04 87u: Adaptive QOS: Modification Script Started
    Sep 24 10:41:13 87u: Adaptive QOS: Modification Script Started
    Sep 24 10:41:35 87u: Adaptive QOS: Changing container for Unidentified Traffic & Applying Custom Rules
    Sep 24 10:41:35 87u: Adaptive QOS: Changing minimum alloted bandwidth per QOS category to user defined percentages
    Sep 24 10:41:45 87u: Adaptive QOS: No change required for Unidentified Traffic Container or Custom Rules
    Sep 24 10:41:45 87u: Adaptive QOS: Changing minimum alloted bandwidth per QOS category to user defined percentages
     
  2. klidec

    klidec New Around Here

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    How would i be able to prioritize homekit/homebridge activity on the network?
    Would this tweak help me do so? I'm not sure where this activity gets categorized today or how to check.
    Any help would be appreciated.
     
  3. Vexira

    Vexira Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2017
    Messages:
    759
    Location:
    Australia
    thats not normal are you using manual bandwith
     
    eclp likes this.
  4. Vexira

    Vexira Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2017
    Messages:
    759
    Location:
    Australia
    you can do it by default in adaptive qos,under bandwirh monitor
     
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2017
  5. klidec

    klidec New Around Here

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    I'd like to prioritize homekit communications traffic coming to and from any device in my network. How could i use bandwidth monitor to do that? Almost all my devices have the potential to communicate via homekit.
     
  6. strangeluck

    strangeluck Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2015
    Messages:
    47
    I don't know much about homebridge or homekit, but it seems the default port homebridge uses is 51827, while homekit communicates with icloud on port 5223. Not sure this helps, but for example to make rules putting all traffic on ports 51827 and 5223 into the "others" container use the following:

    Code:
    ##DOWNLOAD
    ${tc} filter add dev br0 protocol all prio 1 u32 match ip dport 51827 0xffff flowid ${Others}
    ${tc} filter add dev br0 protocol all prio 1 u32 match ip dport 5223 0xffff flowid ${Others}
    ##UPLOAD
    ${tc} filter add dev eth0 protocol all prio 1 u32 match ip sport 51827 0xffff flowid ${Others}
    ${tc} filter add dev eth0 protocol all prio 1 u32 match ip sport 5223 0xffff flowid ${Others} 
    
     
  7. klidec

    klidec New Around Here

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks! I'll start experimenting.
     
  8. Vexira

    Vexira Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2017
    Messages:
    759
    Location:
    Australia
    is there a way to get the, script to automatically calculate 90% of the bandwidth entered.
     
  9. jpclarke

    jpclarke Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2015
    Messages:
    86
    To do floating point calculations in bash you will need to use something like bc available on optware.
     
    Vexira likes this.
  10. FreshJR

    FreshJR Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2016
    Messages:
    174
    It doesn't make a difference for your statement but we are using ash not bash.

    Vexira just multiply by 90 then divide by 100 using the expr command. It will truncate the floating point. Problem solved.

    If you can't figure it out, I'll send u an updated version
     
  11. eclp

    eclp Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    May 15, 2016
    Messages:
    128
    Is set to manual bandwith.
    However, the many syslog entries come only after router restart. Later only three entries.
     
  12. eddiez

    eddiez Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2015
    Messages:
    423
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Got these:
    22:57:53 kernel: HTB: quantum of class 10011 is big. Consider r2q change.
    Oct 9 22:57:53 kernel: HTB: quantum of class 10012 is big. Consider r2q change.
    Oct 9 22:57:53 kernel: HTB: quantum of class 10013 is big. Consider r2q change.
    Oct 9 22:57:54 kernel: HTB: quantum of class 10011 is big. Consider r2q change.
    Oct 9 22:57:54 kernel: HTB: quantum of class 10015 is big. Consider r2q change.
    Oct 9 22:57:54 kernel: HTB: quantum of class 10012 is big. Consider r2q change.
    Oct 9 22:57:54 kernel: HTB: quantum of class 10016 is big. Consider r2q change.
    Oct 9 22:57:54 kernel: HTB: quantum of class 10013 is big. Consider r2q change.
    Oct 9 22:57:54 kernel: HTB: quantum of class 10015 is big. Consider r2q change.
    Oct 9 22:57:55 kernel: HTB: quantum of class 10016 is big. Consider r2q change.

    Started popping up in 68_4, both in manual and automatic setting.

    Did not modify anything. No mentioning in earlier firmware, already updated to 1.92, no difference.

    Anyone know what's the issue?
     
  13. Jack Yaz

    Jack Yaz Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2017
    Messages:
    621
    No issue. Warning that can be ignored.
     
    eddiez likes this.
  14. Vexira

    Vexira Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2017
    Messages:
    759
    Location:
    Australia
    Also use manual bandwidth
     
  15. Vexira

    Vexira Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2017
    Messages:
    759
    Location:
    Australia
    ok appreciated its a bit confuseing for me lol, havent been on the pc for a while.
     
  16. eddiez

    eddiez Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2015
    Messages:
    423
    Location:
    Netherlands
    This one as well?

    Oct 10 15:51:23 kernel: htb: htb qdisc 14: is non-work-conserving?
    Oct 10 15:52:05 kernel: htb: htb qdisc 11: is non-work-conserving?
     
  17. Vexira

    Vexira Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2017
    Messages:
    759
    Location:
    Australia
    Annoying error the it's not a big issue.
     
  18. eclp

    eclp Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    May 15, 2016
    Messages:
    128
    Can I do it remove the call /jffs/scripts/FreshJR_QOS completely out of firewall-start and move it to services-start? I want to do this to avoid double calls of the script.

    Code:
    Sep 24 10:41:04 87u: Adaptive QOS: Modification Script Started
    Sep 24 10:41:13 87u: Adaptive QOS: Modification Script Started
    Sep 24 10:41:35 87u: Adaptive QOS: Changing container for Unidentified Traffic & Applying Custom Rules
    Sep 24 10:41:35 87u: Adaptive QOS: Changing minimum alloted bandwidth per QOS category to user defined percentages
    Sep 24 10:41:45 87u: Adaptive QOS: No change required for Unidentified Traffic Container or Custom Rules
    Sep 24 10:41:45 87u: Adaptive QOS: Changing minimum alloted bandwidth per QOS category to user defined percentages
     
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2017
  19. Jack Yaz

    Jack Yaz Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2017
    Messages:
    621
    I borrowed the Check_Lock function from @Adamm skynet project, to prevent duplicate runs
     
  20. eclp

    eclp Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    May 15, 2016
    Messages:
    128
    @Jack Yaz ...
    And where did you insert the function, can you possibly make it available?
     

Share This Page