1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

RT-AC68U as a bridge?

Discussion in 'ASUS AC Routers & Adapters' started by Greg.Fundy, May 23, 2018.

  1. Greg.Fundy

    Greg.Fundy New Around Here

    Joined:
    May 23, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    I have a remote observatory with no internet available. I currently use a Verizon hotspot for internet access. We are looking to install an automation system and weather station that has to be hardwired, cannot use wireless connection. Is it possible to use the ASUS RT-AC68U to receive my hotspot signal and then connect the ASUS to the automation and weather station systems? I am not familiar with routers nor the terminology but from what i have read it seems that some routers can use a bridge mode to accomplish what i need. Thank you for your help.
     
  2. bbunge

    bbunge Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2014
    Messages:
    604
    Location:
    Pennsylvania USA
    You can but you may have to use a custom firmware such as DD-WRT which does support the AC68U. There is an instruction on setting up a WiFi repeater with DD-WRT that should work. Years ago I traveled with a laptop that had no WiFi and used a Linksys WRT54G set up with DD-WRT. Would automatically connect to the strongest WiFi!

    Sent from my P01M using Tapatalk
     
    Greg.Fundy likes this.
  3. Ronald Schwerer

    Ronald Schwerer Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2017
    Messages:
    234
    If you've got a supported Verizon LTE/G3/G4 USB Cell modem, you can use ASUS AC68U out-of-the-box. I've even tethered my Android cell phone. Works pretty well once you get it set-up.
     
  4. roguetr

    roguetr Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    May 6, 2018
    Messages:
    64
    From what you've said, you need the router to act as a wireless client (as opposed to a repeater) and potentially a bridge, which should be entirely possible but I'm not sure out of the box. I think this is known as media bridge mode in the Asus firmware, which implies it should bridge (the hotspots network would be relayed to the wired ports).

    I've done this with ubiquiti unifis and OpenWRT. The client access part was fine but adding the transparency of a bridge was temperamental at best, due to specific features not being supported by the wireless chipset. Luckily I don't think you need that transparency.

    Fyi a bridge usually implies two dedicated devices either end connecting two seperate physical network segments, usually seamlessly. You may not get that seemless integration (but you may). Worst case you end up with double NAT.

    Somebody else should be able to chime in but basically you configure the router to connect to your hostspot and any wired client will have internet access.

    Of course the suggestion of tethering via USB above is just as valid but you will be required to physically connect it. Your milage may vary with the ability to utilise the hotspot amongst additional devices simultaneously when it's connected like this.

    Sent from my MI 5 using Tapatalk
     
    Last edited: May 23, 2018
    Greg.Fundy likes this.
  5. roguetr

    roguetr Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    May 6, 2018
    Messages:
    64
  6. Greg.Fundy

    Greg.Fundy New Around Here

    Joined:
    May 23, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Thank you everyone for your help. It sounds like this is possible from what everyone has posted, will have to try several solutions to find what works but sounds like it will work.
     
  7. agilani

    agilani Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2012
    Messages:
    454
    Connect your verizon mifi and use it as a USB wan with the ac68 and then use the ac68 which is a better access point for all your use.

    if you dont' want to do that, you can setup the ac68 as a repeater and configure it to use the verizon mifi as its' access point/router. If you use repeater mode all the wired ports and wireless ssid can be used on the ac68. If you set it up as media bridge, only the wired ports will work.
     
    Greg.Fundy likes this.
  8. roguetr

    roguetr Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    May 6, 2018
    Messages:
    64
    I'm guessing this is the intended outcome. I get the impression they will only be there intermittently and a permanent exposed wifi connection isn't required.

    Sent from my MI 5 using Tapatalk
     
    Greg.Fundy likes this.