1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

[RT-AC86U, 384.17] can't remove; no space left on device

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by Yousif Kelaita, Jun 4, 2020.

  1. Yousif Kelaita

    Yousif Kelaita Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2018
    Messages:
    20
    I started getting a lot of "no space left" errors in log, amtm, etc.

    GUI says JFFS is 41/48 MB full, but if I try to delete the TrafficAnalyzer.db file, I get the error message:

    rm: can't remove 'TrafficAnalyzer.db': No space left on device

    I've seen similar issues reported in threads here, but the conversation always leads elsewhere...Any advice on how to delete this file or free up some space? Am I boned? So many settings I'd lose if I had to factory reset...
     
  2. ArC

    ArC Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2019
    Messages:
    18
    Hi,
    One option is: Go to Administration -> System -> Format JFFS partition at next boot and set to "YES" then reboot the router
     
  3. Yousif Kelaita

    Yousif Kelaita Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2018
    Messages:
    20
    I will go to that eventually, but I guess I would lose all my custom settings.
     
  4. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    12,105
    Location:
    UK
    You have to turn off the Traffic Analyser before you can delete it's file.
     
  5. Yousif Kelaita

    Yousif Kelaita Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2018
    Messages:
    20
    Thanks for the advice. Gave that a try but it doesn't delete, neither in the GUI nor command line.
     
  6. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    12,105
    Location:
    UK
    I would leave the Traffic Analyser disabled and also disable "custom scripts and configs" on Administration - System. Then reboot the router and try to delete the file again.
     
  7. Yousif Kelaita

    Yousif Kelaita Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2018
    Messages:
    20
    No luck there either. My understanding is it has something do with the jffs filesystem needing space to be able to delete a file. But still haven't found the magic command that might let me free up some space on it.
     
  8. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    12,105
    Location:
    UK
    Look to see if there's some other large file that is causing the problem rather than assuming it's TrafficAnalyzer.db.
    Code:
    du -a /jffs | sort -g
     
  9. Yousif Kelaita

    Yousif Kelaita Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2018
    Messages:
    20
    Thanks for your continued help.

    TrafficAnalyzer.db is the largest at 27 MB, followed by nt_center.db at 17 MB, followed by WebHistory.db at 3 MB. What is nt_center?
     
  10. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    12,105
    Location:
    UK
    It's the "Notification_Center" :confused:. It's a closed source component from Asus. It looks like it's to do with IFTTT (e.g. Alexa). I'd delete it and reboot.
     
  11. Yousif Kelaita

    Yousif Kelaita Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2018
    Messages:
    20
    Same error message...anything I try to delete on the /jffs gives the same error.
     
  12. Jack Yaz

    Jack Yaz Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2017
    Messages:
    3,831
    Is it worth trying:
    Code:
    cat /dev/null > /jffs/.sys/TrafficAnalyzer/TrafficAnalyzer.db
    
     
  13. Yousif Kelaita

    Yousif Kelaita Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2018
    Messages:
    20
    Similar error message, can't create:

    -sh: can't create TrafficAnalyzer.db: No space left on device
     
  14. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    12,105
    Location:
    UK
    Do you have jffs errors reported in the router's syslog?
     
  15. Yousif Kelaita

    Yousif Kelaita Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2018
    Messages:
    20
    Yes it repeats the following over and over:

    Jun 4 15:24:18 kernel: jffs2: Argh. No free space left for GC. nr_erasing_blocks is 0. nr_free_blocks is 0. (erasableempty: yes, erasingempty: yes, erasependingempty: yes)
    Jun 4 15:24:18 kernel: jffs2: jffs2_reserve_space_gc of 196 bytes for garbage_collect_dnode failed: -28
    Jun 4 15:24:18 kernel: jffs2: Error garbage collecting node at 00dd9f34!
     
  16. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    12,105
    Location:
    UK
    Oh dear. I've seen this before and it was difficult to resolve even with doing a factory reset.

    As I don't have the same router as you can you show me the output of this command:
    Code:
    nvram get x_Setting
     
  17. Yousif Kelaita

    Yousif Kelaita Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2018
    Messages:
    20
  18. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    12,105
    Location:
    UK
    OK. Well I don't know of a painless solution. The best I can think of is that you use the GUI to backup your current nvram and jffs data. Then do a factory reset with initialise. If that wipes the jffs partition you could then try restoring both the nvram and jffs.

    My concern with this is all the reports that the "initialise" option appears to not work properly on the RT-AC86U.
     
  19. Yousif Kelaita

    Yousif Kelaita Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2018
    Messages:
    20
    I see, I'll give some time for additional input but move to do that in the near future...maybe I'll use this chance to upgrade to an AX88U...
     
  20. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    12,105
    Location:
    UK
    Rather than doing a full factory reset you could try what @ArC suggested in post #2 and just try to reformat the jffs partition (having backed it up first). And then restore it afterwards. That way almost all of the router settings would be preserved and you would be mainly restoring the custom scripts and configs.