What's new

RT-N66U, Dual WAN? Link Agg? 2 ISPs...

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

XeroGio

New Around Here
@KAD and/or @RMerlin

So while I'm not a complete novice at networking, I certainly am compared to all of you.

I've been trying to figure out how to properly utilize my two ISPs with the Asus RT-N66U. I am not currently using the Merlin firmware, but am not opposed in the least to it. Just not sure if Link Aggregation is the necessary method, or if there's something else that I'm overlooking in the standard Asus firmware for Dual WAN.

I've literally browsed every forum thread here pertaining to the RT-N66U and elsewhere during the past week trying to educate myself on it, and both KAD's successful Link Aggregation thread and Merlin's comments on several threads have increased my knowledge, but also my confusion! :confused:

This is what I have, and what I would like to do:

- 2 ISPs w/ modem each, 1 ASUS RT-N66U with most recent firmware.
- Mac OS X and Windows 7 computers at my disposal--need to use these two OS because of programs that are not supported for my secure testing and academic services in law school. I can certainly use Linux if necessary, but would prefer not outside of for setting up the router purposes.
- This is because almost all of my computer use must be done on OS X or W7 for my files to properly work with exam-taking and document-uploading programs. I'm sure someone will mention that Linux can be used, but the last thing I want to do is try to work-around and then have an invalidated exam file--hopefully this doesn't turn people off! It's law school, so when they say "Supported OS: Mac OS and Windows"...I stick to the terms with them!