What's new

Secure Asus RT-AX3000 home network router

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

GoldWing

Regular Contributor
I've recently upgraded to an Asus RT-AX3000 to have a home router that is WiFi 6 (a.k.a 802.11ax or WPA3) compatible.

With the upgrade I'm trying to secure the router and home network as much as possible, and learning in the process. I'm no network expert.

Because I would like to enable HTTPS login to the router with 2 home wired (i.e. J45) PCs to the router I'm thinking the Let's Encrypt alternative is the best route.

Questions:

1) How can I make sure the router connects to the internet via port 80 for domain validation and certificate renewal? See the "RT-AX3000_WAN_DDNS_tab2.jpg" image below of what I believe is the correct area to setup Let Encrypt within the RT-AX3000 which would be Advanced Settings > WAN > DDNS tab. I did do some searching and found some information about port forwarding per the URL of "https://www.asustor.com/knowledge/detail/?group_id=1006" which I do not for sure is applicable, and do not know about the NAS settings applicability.

2) How do I obtain the Let's Encrypt certificate for the router?

3) Is having port 80 open for Let's Encrpt a security issue for the home network? I did some research on this issue and did find the URL of "https://letsencrypt.org/docs/allow-port-80/" on Let's Encrypt, but would appreciate other users / experts feedback on this issue. I"m not sure my E Setting below is going to cause a problem for Let's Enrcrypt, so your feedback would be appreciated.