What's new

Sending AT commands to 5G modem.

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Doner005

New Around Here
Hey Everyone,

I’m pretty new to customizing Asuswrt-Merlin so bear with me. My main goal is to be able to send AT commands to my 5G modem remotely that is connected to my router WAN port. So far I have DDNS setup so I can log into the web ui remotely but I have yet to figure 2 things I need to do to accomplish my goal.

First I need to be able access the modem via udp from the CLI. As of now I do this while on my home network either from MAC terminal or iOS/ipad app called ish using the Linux command “nc -u 192.168.100.1 5555”. I’ve tried to use this same command through ssh but I’m not sure if that’s the correct way or if I need to do something else first?

Second I need access to the CLI from the Web UI. Is this possible to add via addons? Thanks for any help you can provide.

Enabling remote web access to the router's GUI is strongly discouraged for security reasons. For the same reason router CLI access via the GUI is not allowed. The preferred method of remote access is via the router's VPN server.

I don't see why your nc command wouldn't work via SSH. Do you get an error message?

Enabling remote web access to the router's GUI is strongly discouraged for security reasons. For the same reason router CLI access via the GUI is not allowed. The preferred method of remote access is via the router's VPN server.

I don't see why your nc command wouldn't work via SSH. Do you get an error

I don't see why your nc command wouldn't work via SSH. Do you get an error message?
I get the error invalid option — ‘u’