What's new

VyOS for Home

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

coxhaus

Part of the Furniture
Is anybody running this at home? How are you finding it for home use?

I think once I make a configuration, I can use it over and over again like using a Cisco configuration.

Do you find switching snapshots of the OS easy?

I am thinking about using it for home. I do not want to compile my own code. I am a complete noob to this.

So a regular home user only has access to nightly snapshot builds? I wouldn't trust that kind of model when wanting a stable environment.

I'm currently running OPNsense and wondering why I need it over a lean, mean OpenWrt build on x86. Generally, I'll try any router OS once, but I don't really see VyOS as a desirable free alternative for me.

Depends how comfortable you are with command line networking...

VyOS is very capable, but a steep learning curve even for a networking pro - for home use, it's probably overkill...

lean, mean OpenWrt build on x86

Because x86/amd64 is not a priority for OpenWRT...

Says much that OpenWRT is the basis for Qualcomm and Mediatek BSP's, and FreeBSD/NetBSD are foundations for many commercial devices...

In a FOSS LAN/WLAN - I'm ok with a BSD based router (pfSense/opnSense), and a a linux BSP (openwrt/dd-wrt) for the Access Points, as this plays to strengths of both.

What I have found is a couple of users which turned away from VyOS. They seem to have funding issues which causes lags, and you may end up on EOL Debian code for a while.

I think I am losing interest.

Command line is no problem for me. It would be like working on a Cisco Pix firewall. It just takes time.

They are preparing a very beautiful graphical interface for VyOS