What's new

Accessing router settings.

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Tooney

New Around Here
I have been using the RT-N66U for a few months now. All is well until a few days ago, where I experienced random disconnects during gaming (on both P2P and non-P2P multiplayer games).

To add salt to injury, my desktop fails to connects to the default gateway 192.168.1.1, whereas my laptop does it just fine. It has never been like this and I've been left to using my laptop to troubleshoot to no avail.

I have tried:
• factory resetting
• trying multiple merlin's firmware
• installing new WiFi drivers
• resetting windows firewall to factory settings
• turning off background applications
• changing the gateway to another address such as 192.168.1.6
• different web browsers, including the dreaded IE
• clearing browser cookies and cache

All of which still left my desktop unable to finish connecting to 192.168.1.1. It will load the page...part of it, and the refreshing browser circle loops infinitely, and the page never fully renders, and I can't navigate to other pages within router settings.

Note my other internet-connected devices connect and work just fine. And internet on the desktop works fine, minus the occasional disconnects and the default gateway. I repeat, this problem has only surfaced a few days ago, after months of error-less use.

Anyone got any ideas? The desktop itself is running Windows 8.1 (I've upgraded a few hours ago hoping it'd fix the problem).

Last edited:
I have been using the RT-N66U for a few months now. All is well until a few days ago, where I experienced random disconnects during gaming (on both P2P and non-P2P multiplayer games).
Hi,