What's new

Asus Help

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

StinkyFeetMendoza

New Around Here
I started a thread in general discussion that I think is probably more appropriate here. I cannot figure out how to delete my original thread and I apologize for double posting. I think I am more likely to get help here.

Hello Everyone:
Im a complete newb to the forum and I am completely inept when it comes to setting up networks. My only experience is from trying to trouble shoot my netgear N600 router. I got advanced enough to upgrade my firmware! I really tried to research this on my own but I dont really know where to start so I apologize if I am asking stuff that has already been covered. My netgear worked great when I first got it. I have a large house(4000+ sq ft) and my netgear worked everywhere, even out in the garage and out by the pool. It was strong enough to even work out in my pool house. Overtime the range has slowly been diminishing to the point that it barely works on the second floor of my house. I then started having connectivity issues. The wifi signal would just drop out and thats when I started trying to trouble shoot it. After several hours on the phone with netgear, we determined the router was defective. I decided I would read some reviews and buy the "best" router out there. Everything I read said that the Asus RT-AC66u was the way to go for speed and range. I have spent the better part of the afternoon setting it up, watching all the Asus youtube videos and trying to read on the forum. I have an iMac, a PS3, and a Samsung Verizon Network Booster that are all hardwired in. I also have one PS3 and 4 mobile devices that are using wifi.