What's new

Asus Merlin Question on LAN restrictions

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

junoonibhai

New Around Here
I am fairly new to Asus Merlin and while I browsed through a number of threads, I was not able to locate a solution to my predicament. I have some consumer devices (TV, Roku, etc.) connected via a network cable to my router. I would like to segment the network so the consumer devices cannot access the local LAN (almost like a guest segment). I know how to do this for the wireless network as it is pretty straightforward. I have set these devices up with a static IP to make it easier to identify them, but any guidance in sharing how to limit these devices from accessing local LAN would be much appreciated. Thanks in advance!

....VLANs, but that is not at all straightforward on this firmware and certainly not for the fainthearted.

Actually, I too was wary, but I found VLANs on the RT-AC68U is pretty trivial to set up (5 commands, not including Firewall rules) but to support wired VLANs naturally requires your infrastructure to support the VLAN traffic.

I also read the article regarding IoT isolation and despite the scaremongering journalistic articles warning that potentially "my toaster/fridge" could end up killing me if I didn't do something about it, I find other priorities in life take precendence, although the following story :

e.g. http://www.networkworld.com/article...-smart-light-bulbs-and-5-000-iot-devices.html made me smile! :D

So over the last few weeks (when I'm 'bored') I've been having a little tinker with IoT VLANs.

I have VLANS 5,10,15,20 & 200 daisy chained, currently off port 4 on the router to different rooms via:
Code:
1 x Netgear GS108PEv3 8-port switch (4 POE ports)