What's new

AX86U questions

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

homeofwind

Regular Contributor
Hi Members,

I am new to ASUS router/Meilin and just bought 2 AX86U for the aimesh. Some questions I like to ask for advice:

My internet is 120/10. The house is old one with about 3000 square feet-2 stories and basement.

1. Shall I wait for the stable Meilin firmware for AX86U or can start using the Beta 2 version? Any risks and what it is the benefit? If I load the beta Meilin, shall I load only to the main router or should do both as I use 1 as node.

2. How to extend AX86U's 5G coverage? I am testing 2 AX86U aimesh now (wireless) and cannot do wired as it is a 2 floor and there is no feasible way to get the node wired. As it is an old house and the main router can only be placed in the far end of the basement-I don't have options. I am placing the node AX86U on the second floor and getting 35/10 from it-not very good IMO given the money spent for the 2 units. Will the beta Meilin help at all for the signal? Shall I get the 2nd node-a cheaper one just for the coverage? Or worst is to move the modem closer to the stair where there is more open space?

3. Any settings adjustment on the factory router QOS that can help?

4. 5g coverage is my main concern and I am having more wifi6 stuff-if you have better router model with better 5g coverage please share with me.

Thanks for the help!

ASUS suggest to have 3-5m between connected wireless routers :) https://www.asus.com/support/FAQ/1040444/

with QoS on for this router speed limit will be 300Mbit+ - changing it will not improve your situation. You can always disable it and check.