What's new

Best setup for a wifi extender

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

jsn2233

Occasional Visitor
I use an RT-AC86U and don't get good signal at the other end of my house. What is a good option for extending the signal?

I have read that buying a cheap asus router and using it as a node would do the job. I have VPNs and specific settings that I would like to maintain on my network, is this possible when using a node?

Sorry if my questions are dumb I am not very good with networking.

You can use a purpose-built extender or mess with AiMesh. But either way, don't place the new node in the room where the signal is weak. Put it somewhere around mid-way between the two points. The extender or mesh node needs a decent signal to maintain enough bandwidth to pass on.

You can use a purpose-built extender or mess with AiMesh. But either way, don't place the new node in the room where the signal is weak. Put it somewhere around mid-way between the two points. The extender or mesh node needs a decent signal to maintain enough bandwidth to pass on.

My main concern is does this change any of the configuration when the extender middlemans the network? Or will all my configuration persist?

What would you personally suggest out of those two and which would be more cost effective? Thanks

Your router maintains the VPN and network settings. An extender just transparently bridges the LAN connection. It would no more change your network settings than plugging a switch into your router and plugging in other devices.

Extenders can be a little fidgety to set up, but it's what I've used in situations similar to yours.

Last edited: