[Beta] Asuswrt-Merlin 384.10 Beta is now available

  • ATTENTION! As of November 1, 2020, you are not able to reply to threads 6 months after the thread is opened if there are more than 500 posts in the thread.
    Threads will not be locked, so posts may still be edited by their authors.
    Just start a new thread on the topic to post if you get an error message when trying to reply to a thread.
Status
Not open for further replies.

dugaduga

Senior Member
Beta 2. Im having a problem clearing old certs from openvpn clients, particularly "client certificate" and also "certificate revocation list"; removing the data and saving it does not clear it, so I cannot connect to VPN servers with those clients
 
Last edited:

dugaduga

Senior Member
Other problems: Certain clients will connect but not others. Client one for example refuses to work. Also I am unable to start multiple openvpn clients at once; the provider supports multiple connections. All settings except IP are the same as the one that is connected and functional, however I get this error with client three, (this is while client 2 is connected):

Code:
Mar 19 03:25:25 ovpn-client3[23187]: Options error: No client-side authentication method is specified.  You must use either --cert/--key, --pkcs12, or --auth-user-pass
Mar 19 03:25:25 ovpn-client3[23187]: Use --help for more information.
Mar 19 03:25:25 syslog: VPN_LOG_ERROR: 487: Starting OpenVPN failed...
 
Last edited:

dugaduga

Senior Member
Strange phenomenon, client 2 got renamed to client 3, and other clients were renamed; some had no name, here is a screenshot



 

dugaduga

Senior Member
Bricked. After rebooting to see if this would rectify the issue, it went into an infinite boot loop; Factory default/reset button doesn't change that. I cannot access the router at all. Looks like the latest firmware bricked my AC66U B1
 

RMerlin

Asuswrt-Merlin dev
Bricked. After rebooting to see if this would rectify the issue, it went into an infinite boot loop; Factory default/reset button doesn't change that. I cannot access the router at all. Looks like the latest firmware bricked my AC66U B1

Just tested it on my RT-AC66U_B1 and no issue here. Based on your previous posts I suspect your nvram content was corrupted (perhaps it was full). Turn the router on while pressing the WPS button, and release it once the power led flashes - this will reset it to factory default.
 

Vexira

Part of the Furniture
Will nvram corruption affect upnp forwarding?

I have noticed a lot of nvram consolidation of space messages I did read they were just some the router does and not to worry about it from a form search.

I'm just trying to determine what in my network is bugging out again.
 
Last edited:

dugaduga

Senior Member
Just tested it on my RT-AC66U_B1 and no issue here. Based on your previous posts I suspect your nvram content was corrupted (perhaps it was full). Turn the router on while pressing the WPS button, and release it once the power led flashes - this will reset it to factory default.

@RMerlin I have done that a few times and it just keeps on cycling on reboot. All the lan leds go dark, then all leds flash, and the cycle continues. When I hit WPS and wait for it to blink, then let go, I let it sit for a good 3-5 minutes before powering it off myself. How long does the reset take and should I be powering it off when the power led starts blinking?

Update I see the blinking led is for firmware restoration, I will try this and update shortly
 
Last edited:

Asad Ali

Very Senior Member
@RMerlin I have done that a few times and it just keeps on cycling on reboot. All the lan leds go dark, then all leds flash, and the cycle continues. When I hit WPS and wait for it to blink, then let go, I let it sit for a good 3-5 minutes before powering it off myself. How long does the reset take and should I be powering it off when the power led starts blinking?

That's the process for manually clearing the NVRAM:

1- Power off the Router.
2- Press and hold down the WPS button.
3- While holding the WPS button, plug in the power cable to turn router on.
4- Keep holding the WPS button for 30 seconds before releasing. The router should reboot.
5- It's Done!!
 

dugaduga

Senior Member
That's the process for manually clearing the NVRAM:

1- Power off the Router.
2- Press and hold down the WPS button.
3- While holding the WPS button, plug in the power cable to turn router on.
4- Keep holding the WPS button for 30 seconds before releasing. The router should reboot.
5- It's Done!!

I tried this and it does not reboot, the led keeps blinking. This is supposed to initiate a router restore mode according to asus , however holding the WPS button while the router is already running did result in it rebooting (unless it was just reboot cycling like before), and I tried this multiple times. I tried uploading firmware via the firmware restoration tool exactly as described by ASUS and it claims the router is "not in restoration mode"
 
Last edited:

dugaduga

Senior Member
Sometimes it stops cycling for a few minutes, a zenmap scan shows two closed ports tcp 139 & 445, that is it; then the router continues on rebooting
 

RMerlin

Asuswrt-Merlin dev
his is supposed to initiate a router restore mode according to asus

Make sure you do follow the posted instructions closely. The WPS button must be pressed BEFORE turning the router on, not while it's already running. This will do a factory default reset.
 

dugaduga

Senior Member
oye, I am confusing wps with reset! didn't even know there was another button there... aaaaaaaaaaaaaand it looks like its working, bingo. Sorry about the confusion, the firmware is not the issue here, sorry merlin.!
 
Last edited:

dugaduga

Senior Member
crl revocation list still not clearing on my openvpn client, did a factory default and restored settings, cant delete it.
 

RMerlin

Asuswrt-Merlin dev
crl revocation list still not clearing on my openvpn client, did a factory default and restored settings, cant delete it.
I'll take a look. In the meantime delete the file from /jffs/openvpn/ .

Sent from my P027 using Tapatalk
 

dugaduga

Senior Member
Issues connecting to multiple vpns at one time, although IP is set you can see it shows the client is connecting to nothing;

Mar 19 10:27:23 syslog: VPN_LOG_ERROR: 487: Starting OpenVPN failed...
Mar 19 10:27:57 ovpn-client2[13325]: Options error: No client-side authentication method is specified. You must use either --cert/--key, --pkcs12, or --auth-user-pass
Mar 19 10:27:57 ovpn-client2[13325]: Use --help for more information.
Mar 19 10:27:57 syslog: VPN_LOG_ERROR: 487: Starting OpenVPN failed...

This happens on client 2 no matter whether client one is connected or not; looks exactly like what was happening earlier; in other words, some of the other clients should work just fine.


 
Last edited:

dugaduga

Senior Member
Rules for routing client traffic through the tunnel, removing clients from this does not work successfully on client 2
 
Status
Not open for further replies.

Similar threads

Latest threads

Sign Up For SNBForums Daily Digest

Get an update of what's new every day delivered to your mailbox. Sign up here!
Top