1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Constant Log Spam "rc_service: watchdog 247:notify_rc start_cfgsync" on RT-AC68U

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by rkk2025, Apr 24, 2019.

  1. rkk2025

    rkk2025 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2017
    Messages:
    26
    Hi, this seems to have been going on for a while now, I don't know with which upgrade it started, but it still happens on the lates AsusWRT Merlin Firmware 384.10_2, altough it has been happening already in previous versions. A complete factory reset and reflash didn't help at all.

    It seems like every few seconds another line is added in the Log saying "rc_service: watchdog 247:notify_rc start_cfgsync". It also seems to happen at the same time a CPU spike happens. What I can see with "htop" is that CPU usage is rather low 0-1% and then a process called "watchdog" appears putting the CPU at around +-30%, and right after that a process called "mtdblock3" uses around 50% or more CPU for a short amount of time. And this keeps happening again and again every few seconds.

    Any idea what could be causing it and how to fix it?
     
  2. appleseed

    appleseed Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Location:
    everywhere
    It's an odd problem that hits some users with no clear solution I can see. An Asus tech said it was fixed but it comes back from time to time: https://www.snbforums.com/threads/r...04-notify_rc-start_cfgsync.46274/#post-401757 . So now you know what you're in for.

    Could be (low probability) internal flash going bad: (Netgear forum) https://community.netgear.com/t5/Ge...vernight-with-high-SY-and-high-WA/m-p/1504484 , or it could be an Asus/Trend Micro closed-source problem, or it could be AI Mesh related: https://www.snbforums.com/threads/p...builds-are-available.47385/page-4#post-413920

    This doesn't answer your question but it also happened as recently as January Alpha build so at least you are not alone, which can be helpful with troubleshooting, or not: https://www.snbforums.com/threads/384-9_alpha-builds-testing-all-variants.54050/page-19#post-461023

    I use Merlin with minimal settings and I don't have this issue so I can only think the best answer for now is to try it again. Unplug all external drives, hit the factory reset, do a minimal config, no VPN, wait... view the logs, wait...wait... view htop/ logs,... and monitor htop/logs again while slowly turning your settings back on (and then plugging in your externals). The error should show itself again, or it won't.

    Factory reset appears to work for this member: https://www.snbforums.com/threads/f...to-work-on-dsl-ac68u.48702/page-3#post-463980

    I would suggest leaving anything VPN, AI Mesh, or Trend Micro off until last to help narrow your search.
     
  3. appleseed

    appleseed Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Location:
    everywhere
    Btw,
    is it a DSL or TM AC1900 converted router ?

    Also see this from Merlin: https://www.snbforums.com/threads/mtdblock3-cpu-usage-every-10-seconds.38764/#post-320195