• ATTENTION! You'll notice a Prefix dropdown when you create a thread. If your post applies to one of the topics listed, please use that Prefix for your post. When browsing the thread list you can use the Prefix to filter the view.
  • ATTENTION! As of November 1, 2020, you are not able to reply to threads 6 months after the thread is opened if there are more than 500 posts in the thread.
    Threads will not be locked, so posts may still be edited by their authors.
    Just start a new thread on the topic to post if you get an error message when trying to reply to a thread.

thelonelycoder

Part of the Furniture
@thelonelycoder, what list style is more efficient for sorting, hosts style or domains only?
Sorting where? Diversion initially sorts the list without the blocking IP, no matter if a hosts or domain list is used.
 

dugaduga

Senior Member
Sorting where? Diversion initially sorts the list without the blocking IP, no matter if a hosts or domain list is used.

sorting when downloading list updates from the web; for example; do host style lists require more processing because of the extra size and having to replace the 0.0.0.0 with diversions pixelsrv address? where as domain only only requires placing the blocking address at the beginning of each new line; if they are equal i may as well download domain only to save bandwidth...
 

thelonelycoder

Part of the Furniture
sorting when downloading list updates from the web; for example; do host style lists require more processing because of the extra size and having to replace the 0.0.0.0 with diversions pixelsrv address? where as domain only only requires placing the blocking address at the beginning of each new line; if they are equal i may as well download domain only to save bandwidth...
You can save bandwidth by using domains only files. But that's about it. The process for hosts or domain lists is the same while updating as I completely replace the files while doing it.
 

thelonelycoder

Part of the Furniture

CriticJay

Senior Member
Sooo..... looks like my USB thumb drive may be dying and need to replace it with a new one.

The challenge I'm trying to figure out is how I migrate my old configuration/certs to the new drive without having to do anything crazy.

I use Diversion + pixelserv-TLS (so obviously I want to maintain my configuration, whitelist, blacklist, TLS certificate etc.) -- i also use Skynet.
I am more concerned about my Diversion setup because that's where I have made more tweaks. If I had to re-install Skynet without my old config that's fine.
 

dave14305

Part of the Furniture
The challenge I'm trying to figure out is how I migrate my old configuration/certs to the new drive without having to do anything crazy.
Make a local backup in Diversion (d, 8, 2). It will be in /jffs/addons/diversion. Replace your drive and reinstall Diversion using the backup if prompted. If not prompted, uninstall Diversion (don't delete the backup) and reinstall through amtm and it should find your backup still there. Easy peasy.
 

thelonelycoder

Part of the Furniture
Sooo..... looks like my USB thumb drive may be dying and need to replace it with a new one.

The challenge I'm trying to figure out is how I migrate my old configuration/certs to the new drive without having to do anything crazy.

I use Diversion + pixelserv-TLS (so obviously I want to maintain my configuration, whitelist, blacklist, TLS certificate etc.) -- i also use Skynet.
I am more concerned about my Diversion setup because that's where I have made more tweaks. If I had to re-install Skynet without my old config that's fine.
Use the local backup function in d to make a backup.
Be sure to remove the Diversion WebUI files in d before making the local backup. Restoring with the WebUI enabled is not yet built in and it could cause trouble.

Then do the device swap and install Diversion through amtm, it’ll ask if you want to restore from backup.
The rest is just pure magic.
 

RMerlin

Asuswrt-Merlin dev
Apparently, there's a bypass YouTube ads trick that works in browsers. Request the desktop site when on mobile.
Add a dot to the .com name (.com.) and no ads are shown on YouTube and other platforms:
No ads:
https://www.youtube.com./watch?v=cZrOcCXNq5c
With ads:

Note that this particular video may not actually have inserted ads ;)

Not quite sure why, from a technical point of view, this would work. Adding a trailing dot merely tells your local resolver not to attempt appending your local domain to the DNS query. All I can think of is maybe the canonical URL is used as the referrer from within the local Javascript code, breaking the ability to insert the ads. In which case, pretty sure Google are gonna plug that hole once they figure it out.

Assuming this does work as reported - I'm still skeptical, pending any technical explanation.
 

Amwjujo

Regular Contributor
Apparently, there's a bypass YouTube ads trick that works in browsers. Request the desktop site when on mobile.
Add a dot to the .com name (.com.) and no ads are shown on YouTube and other platforms:
No ads:
https://www.youtube.com./watch?v=cZrOcCXNq5c
With ads:

Note that this particular video may not actually have inserted ads ;)
I was reading about this earlier today. It's quite interesting but for sure Google is going to fix it soon.
Maybe someone with the right knowledge around here can investigate and it can be used in the future in our advantage :D
 

SomeWhereOverTheRainBow

Very Senior Member
I was reading about this earlier today. It's quite interesting but for sure Google is going to fix it soon.
Maybe someone with the right knowledge around here can investigate and it can be used in the future in our advantage :D
if it can be used as a cname replacement, it might have an advantage, but i would not know where to begin on how that could be implemented. the down side is it assumes you are not signed in and may flag for you to sign in. if it does then it breaks this workaround. example would be on age restricted videos where the user is required to sign in from an adult account. hitting signin from the video breaks the effectiveness of the "." at the end of com.
 

Makaveli

Very Senior Member
Assuming this does work as reported - I'm still skeptical, pending any technical explanation.

Just tested this and it works.

Question will be how long until google closes this hole.
 

buckZor

New Around Here
Hey guys, fairly new to my ASUSRouter, I am loving Merlin and Diversion. I do have the Youtube blocking enabled and after at least a week of youtube watching with uBlock Origin disabled to help the router "learn" the Youtube ads I am still seeing tons. I've been following the Dnsmasq logfile and am not seeing any Youtube blocking. I've also verified that my DNS is set to only my router IP. Diversion is working wonderfully however with other ads. RT-AX88U, Firmware: 384.17, Diversion 4.1.12. Does anyone have any suggestions?
 

Diamond67

Senior Member
Something is terribly wrong and I don't know where to start to try to fix the situation. So I start here, with this thread.

When I just normally opened amtm and checked for updates, I got this:

Code:
Enter option  u
 amtm 3.1.7 FW             by thelonelycoder
 RT-AC68U (armv7l) FW-384.17 @ 192.168.1.1
    The Asuswrt-Merlin Terminal Menu

 1  open     Diversion                v4.1.12
 2  open     Skynet                    v7.1.8

 8  open     nsrum                    v30.3.0

 j1 open     connmon                   v2.6.0
 j3 open     scMerlin                  v1.1.2

 j5 open     uiDivStats                v2.1.0

ERROR: truncating field 8 <0x27d710> to 4 byteCollected errors:
 * parse_status: Failed to parse Status line for column
 * parse_status: Failed to parse Status line for locales
 * pkg_state_status_from_str: Internal error: state_status=armv7-2.6
 * pkg_get_installed_files: Failed to open //opt/lib/opkg/info/procps-~g-tkill.list: No such file or directory.
 * pkg_get_installed_files: Failed to open //opt/lib/opkg/info/$opkg.list: No such file or directory.
 ep manage   Entware packages    -> upd avail
- Package                version       -> has
- Package                version       -> has
- Package                version       -> has
- Package                version       -> has
- Package                version       -> has
- Package                version        -> ok
- Package                version       -> has
- Package                version       -> has


 m  menu     amtm   uu  force update   v3.1.7
_____________________________________________

 Third party script update(s) available! Use
 the scripts own update function to update.
_____________________________________________

When I open Diversion, I get this (notice the first line (syntax error) and obviously pixelserv-tls is not running:

Code:
/opt/bin/pixelserv-tls: line 1: syntax error: unexpected "("
 Diversion 4.1.12                 by thelonelycoder

 RT-AC68U (armv7l) FW-384.17 @ 192.168.1.1 IPv6

 37,638  blocked domains by  5  hosts file(s)
 4.832M t  11,135 w  626 n ads since Jun 15 05:20

 /mnt/ASUS_ENTWARE | Size 14.8G | Used 7.4G (53%)

 d   Diversion Standard   enabled
 c   communication        DivUn stats backup FWun

 a   ad-blocking          to IP 192.168.1.3
 l   logging              dnsmasq.log 4.2M

 ep  pixelserv-tls        192.168.1.3 (not running)

 b   blocking list  fs    Custom Thu, Sun @ 1:00
 el  edit lists            12 w  0 b  0 wb  86 yt

 f   follow dnsmasq.log

 e   exit  u  update                more options  o
____________________________________________________

 What do you want to do?

When I go from Diversion back to amtm, I get this (notice Entware line and "-> 8 p avail")

Code:
 amtm 3.1.7 FW             by thelonelycoder
 RT-AC68U (armv7l) FW-384.17 @ 192.168.1.1
    The Asuswrt-Merlin Terminal Menu

 1  open     Diversion                v4.1.12
 2  open     Skynet                    v7.1.8

 8  open     nsrum                    v30.3.0

 j1 open     connmon                   v2.6.0
 j3 open     scMerlin                  v1.1.2

 j5 open     uiDivStats                v2.1.0

 ep manage   Entware packages    -> 8 p avail

 dc manage   Disk check script   dcl show log
 lc manage   LED control  LEDs on
 sw manage   Swap file /mnt/ASUS_ENTWARE 2.0G

 i  show     all available scripts or tools
 u  check    for script updates

    amtm options
 e  exit      t  theme   r  reset   a  about

I rebooted the router but that didn't help. Disk check script log won't show any errors.

ep manage entware packages won't help.



Code:
1. Update and upgrade Entware packages
 2. Show installed Scripts and Entware packages

 Enter selection [1-2 e=Exit] 2

ERROR: truncating field 8 <0x32638> to 4 byteCollected errors:
 * parse_status: Failed to parse Status line for column
 * parse_status: Failed to parse Status line for locales
 * pkg_state_status_from_str: Internal error: state_status=armv7-2.6
 List of installed Entware packages (29)

 Package entware-upgrade version 1.0-1 has no valid architecture, ignoring.
 Package libatomic version 8.3.0-9 has no valid architecture, ignoring.
 Package pixelserv-|ls version 2.3.1-1 has no valid architecture, ignoring.
 Package libpcre version (null) has no valid architecture, ignoring.
 Package sqlite3-cli version 3310100-1 has no valid architecture, ignoring.
 Package libstdcpp version 8:iostall ok installed has no valid architecture, ignoring.
 Package |ibgcc version 8.3.0-9 has no valid architecture, ignoring.
 Package libsmartcols version (null) has no valid architecture, ignoring.
 $opkg - (2.23-9
 bind-dig - 9.14.8-1
 bind-libs - 9.14.8-1
 entware-opt - 227000-3
 entware-release - 1.0-2
 findutils - 4.7.0-1
 grep - 3.4-1
 htop - 2.2.0-2
 libedit - 20191025-3.1-1
 libncurses - 6.2-1
 libncursesw - 6.2-1
 libopenssl - 1.1.1d-2
 librt - 2.23-9
 libsqlite3 - 3310100-1
 libssp - 8.3.0-9
 p7zip - 16.02-3
 procps-ng - 3.3.15-4
 procps-~g-tkill - (null)
 zlib - 1.2.11-3
 zoneinfo-asia - 2019c-1
 zoneinfo-europe - 2019c-1

 Entware Apps installed in /opt/bin/ (23)

 7z                      column                  entware-services        htop                    pixelserv-tls           sqlite3
 7za                     dig                     fgrep                   locale.new              pkill                   taildns
 7zr                     diversion               find                    localedef.new           procps-ng-pkill         xargs
 ash                     egrep                   grep                    netstat                 sh

 Non-Entware Scripts installed in /opt/bin/ (4)

 connmon                 diversion               firewall (Skynet)       uiDivStats

 Entware Apps installed in /opt/sbin/ (2)

 ifconfig        route


 Press Enter to return to menu
 
Last edited:

Treadler

Very Senior Member
Hey guys, fairly new to my ASUSRouter, I am loving Merlin and Diversion. I do have the Youtube blocking enabled and after at least a week of youtube watching with uBlock Origin disabled to help the router "learn" the Youtube ads I am still seeing tons. I've been following the Dnsmasq logfile and am not seeing any Youtube blocking. I've also verified that my DNS is set to only my router IP. Diversion is working wonderfully however with other ads. RT-AX88U, Firmware: 384.17, Diversion 4.1.12. Does anyone have any suggestions?

It does take a while of ‘learning’ to start doing the business.
I’m still getting a few ads, & I’ve been using the option since day 1.:)

Maybe it’s an issue that is always a work in progress, Diversion can only fix new badness after it appears?
 

thelonelycoder

Part of the Furniture
Something is terribly wrong and I don't know where to start to try to fix the situation. So I start here, with this thread.

When I just normally opened amtm and checked for updates, I got this:

Code:
Enter option  u
 amtm 3.1.7 FW             by thelonelycoder
 RT-AC68U (armv7l) FW-384.17 @ 192.168.1.1
    The Asuswrt-Merlin Terminal Menu

 1  open     Diversion                v4.1.12
 2  open     Skynet                    v7.1.8

 8  open     nsrum                    v30.3.0

 j1 open     connmon                   v2.6.0
 j3 open     scMerlin                  v1.1.2

 j5 open     uiDivStats                v2.1.0

ERROR: truncating field 8 <0x27d710> to 4 byteCollected errors:
 * parse_status: Failed to parse Status line for column
 * parse_status: Failed to parse Status line for locales
 * pkg_state_status_from_str: Internal error: state_status=armv7-2.6
 * pkg_get_installed_files: Failed to open //opt/lib/opkg/info/procps-~g-tkill.list: No such file or directory.
 * pkg_get_installed_files: Failed to open //opt/lib/opkg/info/$opkg.list: No such file or directory.
 ep manage   Entware packages    -> upd avail
- Package                version       -> has
- Package                version       -> has
- Package                version       -> has
- Package                version       -> has
- Package                version       -> has
- Package                version        -> ok
- Package                version       -> has
- Package                version       -> has


 m  menu     amtm   uu  force update   v3.1.7
_____________________________________________

 Third party script update(s) available! Use
 the scripts own update function to update.
_____________________________________________

When I open Diversion, I get this (notice the first line (syntax error) and obviously pixelserv-tls is not running:

Code:
/opt/bin/pixelserv-tls: line 1: syntax error: unexpected "("
 Diversion 4.1.12                 by thelonelycoder

 RT-AC68U (armv7l) FW-384.17 @ 192.168.1.1 IPv6

 37,638  blocked domains by  5  hosts file(s)
 4.832M t  11,135 w  626 n ads since Jun 15 05:20

 /mnt/ASUS_ENTWARE | Size 14.8G | Used 7.4G (53%)

 d   Diversion Standard   enabled
 c   communication        DivUn stats backup FWun

 a   ad-blocking          to IP 192.168.1.3
 l   logging              dnsmasq.log 4.2M

 ep  pixelserv-tls        192.168.1.3 (not running)

 b   blocking list  fs    Custom Thu, Sun @ 1:00
 el  edit lists            12 w  0 b  0 wb  86 yt

 f   follow dnsmasq.log

 e   exit  u  update                more options  o
____________________________________________________

 What do you want to do?

When I go from Diversion back to amtm, I get this (notice Entware line and "-> 8 p avail")

Code:
 amtm 3.1.7 FW             by thelonelycoder
 RT-AC68U (armv7l) FW-384.17 @ 192.168.1.1
    The Asuswrt-Merlin Terminal Menu

 1  open     Diversion                v4.1.12
 2  open     Skynet                    v7.1.8

 8  open     nsrum                    v30.3.0

 j1 open     connmon                   v2.6.0
 j3 open     scMerlin                  v1.1.2

 j5 open     uiDivStats                v2.1.0

 ep manage   Entware packages    -> 8 p avail

 dc manage   Disk check script   dcl show log
 lc manage   LED control  LEDs on
 sw manage   Swap file /mnt/ASUS_ENTWARE 2.0G

 i  show     all available scripts or tools
 u  check    for script updates

    amtm options
 e  exit      t  theme   r  reset   a  about

I rebooted the router but that didn't help. Disk check script log won't show any errors.

ep manage entware packages won't help.



Code:
1. Update and upgrade Entware packages
 2. Show installed Scripts and Entware packages

 Enter selection [1-2 e=Exit] 2

ERROR: truncating field 8 <0x32638> to 4 byteCollected errors:
 * parse_status: Failed to parse Status line for column
 * parse_status: Failed to parse Status line for locales
 * pkg_state_status_from_str: Internal error: state_status=armv7-2.6
 List of installed Entware packages (29)

 Package entware-upgrade version 1.0-1 has no valid architecture, ignoring.
 Package libatomic version 8.3.0-9 has no valid architecture, ignoring.
 Package pixelserv-|ls version 2.3.1-1 has no valid architecture, ignoring.
 Package libpcre version (null) has no valid architecture, ignoring.
 Package sqlite3-cli version 3310100-1 has no valid architecture, ignoring.
 Package libstdcpp version 8:iostall ok installed has no valid architecture, ignoring.
 Package |ibgcc version 8.3.0-9 has no valid architecture, ignoring.
 Package libsmartcols version (null) has no valid architecture, ignoring.
 $opkg - (2.23-9
 bind-dig - 9.14.8-1
 bind-libs - 9.14.8-1
 entware-opt - 227000-3
 entware-release - 1.0-2
 findutils - 4.7.0-1
 grep - 3.4-1
 htop - 2.2.0-2
 libedit - 20191025-3.1-1
 libncurses - 6.2-1
 libncursesw - 6.2-1
 libopenssl - 1.1.1d-2
 librt - 2.23-9
 libsqlite3 - 3310100-1
 libssp - 8.3.0-9
 p7zip - 16.02-3
 procps-ng - 3.3.15-4
 procps-~g-tkill - (null)
 zlib - 1.2.11-3
 zoneinfo-asia - 2019c-1
 zoneinfo-europe - 2019c-1

 Entware Apps installed in /opt/bin/ (23)

 7z                      column                  entware-services        htop                    pixelserv-tls           sqlite3
 7za                     dig                     fgrep                   locale.new              pkill                   taildns
 7zr                     diversion               find                    localedef.new           procps-ng-pkill         xargs
 ash                     egrep                   grep                    netstat                 sh

 Non-Entware Scripts installed in /opt/bin/ (4)

 connmon                 diversion               firewall (Skynet)       uiDivStats

 Entware Apps installed in /opt/sbin/ (2)

 ifconfig        route


 Press Enter to return to menu
There are 8 Entware packages available, did you try the update option instead of listing them?
 

Diamond67

Senior Member
There are 8 Entware packages available, did you try the update option instead of listing them?
Yes. But that did not change the situation.

edit: took a screen capture while trying to update Entware packages. The error listing shows for a very short time (for a second or so) and then vanishes. And nothing happens really.

Update and upgrade Entware packages error.png
 
Last edited:

Diamond67

Senior Member
I re-installed Diversion.

Code:
Diversion options

 0. Restart    Diversion
 1. Disable    Diversion
 2. Re-install Diversion Standard
 3. Update     Diversion Standard  u  force upd  uu
 4. Upgrade    Diversion
 5. Info/About Diversion
 6. Uninstall  Diversion
 7. Reset      Diversion ads counter or logs
 8. Open       Diversion local backup weekly
 9. Remember   Diversion UI last options view  o
10. Enable     Diversion WebUI beta feature!

 Enter your selection [0-10 e=Exit] 2

And after that there seemed to be some improvement because ep line of Diversion doesn't show the "not running" any more.

Code:
 RT-AC68U (armv7l) FW-384.17 @ 192.168.1.1 IPv6

 75,276  blocked domains by  5  hosts file(s)
 4.832M t  11,135 w  626 n ads since Jun 15 05:20

 /mnt/ASUS_ENTWARE | Size 14.8G | Used 7.4G (53%)

 d   Diversion Standard   enabled
 c   communication        DivUn stats backup FWun

 a   ad-blocking          to IP 192.168.1.3
 l   logging              dnsmasq.log 5.7M

 ep  pixelserv-tls        192.168.1.3 v2.3.1

 b   blocking list  fs    Custom Thu, Sun @ 1:00
 el  edit lists            12 w  0 b  0 wb  86 yt

 f   follow dnsmasq.log

 e   exit  u  update                more options  o
____________________________________________________

 What do you want to do?

And ep manage Entware packages of amtm shows "no upd", so it seems to be up to date now?

But when I check for updates with u there are still errors:

Code:
amtm 3.1.7 FW             by thelonelycoder
 RT-AC68U (armv7l) FW-384.17 @ 192.168.1.1
    The Asuswrt-Merlin Terminal Menu

 1  open     Diversion                v4.1.12
 2  open     Skynet                    v7.1.8

 8  open     nsrum                    v30.3.0

 j1 open     connmon                   v2.6.0
 j3 open     scMerlin                  v1.1.2

 j5 open     uiDivStats                v2.1.0

 ep manage   Entware packages

 dc manage   Disk check script   dcl show log
 lc manage   LED control  LEDs on
 sw manage   Swap file /mnt/ASUS_ENTWARE 2.0G

 i  show     all available scripts or tools
 u  check    for script updates

    amtm options
 e  exit      t  theme   r  reset   a  about
_____________________________________________

 Enter option  u
 amtm 3.1.7 FW             by thelonelycoder
 RT-AC68U (armv7l) FW-384.17 @ 192.168.1.1
    The Asuswrt-Merlin Terminal Menu

 1  open     Diversion                v4.1.12
 2  open     Skynet                    v7.1.8

 8  open     nsrum                    v30.3.0

 j1 open     connmon                   v2.6.0
 j3 open     scMerlin                  v1.1.2

 j5 open     uiDivStats                v2.1.0

Collected errors:
 * pkg_get_installed_files: Failed to open //opt/lib/opkg/info/procps-~g-tkill.list: No such file or directory.
 * pkg_get_installed_files: Failed to open //opt/lib/opkg/info/$opkg.list: No such file or directory.
 ep manage   Entware packages          no upd

 m  menu     amtm   uu  force update   v3.1.7
_____________________________________________

 Everything's up to date (Jun 16 2020 12:14)
_____________________________________________

I have run all the available update options using command ep in both amtm and Diversion.

How can I get rid of these lines?:

Code:
Collected errors:
 * pkg_get_installed_files: Failed to open //opt/lib/opkg/info/procps-~g-tkill.list: No such file or directory.
 * pkg_get_installed_files: Failed to open //opt/lib/opkg/info/$opkg.list: No such file or directory.
 
Last edited:

mnemonic34

New Around Here
Hello everyone. Thank you so much for diversion. This is a great thing but unfortunately I have a problem because it doesn't work for me (that's my impression)
I have installed the last stable version of asuswrt-merlin on ac68u. I installed diversion, unbound and skynet with amtm. Skynet and unbound work great but diversion does not. For diversion, I chose the standard version from pixelserver. For pixelserver I chose ip 192.168.1.2. On the DHCP router numbers from 192.168.1.3 so theoretically everything is ok. When I go to ip http://192.168.1.2/servstats I can see all the statistics from the pixelserver. The router settings are set to Enable DNS-based Filtering and Global Filter Mode - router. Nevertheless, advertisements appear on many websites, e.g. www.wp.pl and www.onet.pl. I will add that ad blocking does not work on any device connected to the lan or wifi network. Will anyone help to solve the problem?
 

dave14305

Part of the Furniture
Hello everyone. Thank you so much for diversion. This is a great thing but unfortunately I have a problem because it doesn't work for me (that's my impression)
I have installed the last stable version of asuswrt-merlin on ac68u. I installed diversion, unbound and skynet with amtm. Skynet and unbound work great but diversion does not. For diversion, I chose the standard version from pixelserver. For pixelserver I chose ip 192.168.1.2. On the DHCP router numbers from 192.168.1.3 so theoretically everything is ok. When I go to ip http://192.168.1.2/servstats I can see all the statistics from the pixelserver. The router settings are set to Enable DNS-based Filtering and Global Filter Mode - router. Nevertheless, advertisements appear on many websites, e.g. www.wp.pl and www.onet.pl. I will add that ad blocking does not work on any device connected to the lan or wifi network. Will anyone help to solve the problem?
Are your LAN DHCP Server DNS 1 and 2 fields blank? They must be.
 

Latest threads

Sign Up For SNBForums Daily Digest

Get an update of what's new every day delivered to your mailbox. Sign up here!
Top