What's new

FlexQoS FlexQoS - Setting up a Multicast IPTV box

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

poolbeetse7en

Occasional Visitor
Hi folks,

I'm just getting started with FlexQoS, so appreciate your patience with me :)

I am having issues with streaming multicast channels on my IPTV box. More specifically, it is EE TV (formerly BT TV) in the UK. The channels are working fine, but every so soften, I get freezing or stutterring. This is almost certainly caused by latency when there is traffic on my network. FlexQoS seems like a good solution, but I'm not too sure how to prioritise the traffic for my EE TV box specifically. Can you prioritise traffic based on IP address? I'd really appreciate any advice. Thank you!

It depends on your router model and ISP bandwidth. Newer routers cannot use iptables rules to override Adaptive QoS classifications, unless Broadcom flowcache is disabled.

It depends on your router model and ISP bandwidth. Newer routers cannot use iptables rules to override Adaptive QoS classifications, unless Broadcom flowcache is disabled.
Thanks. It's an Asus AX-56U, so one of the older Merlin capable routers. I'm also on 900/110 Mbps. I have set the manual QoS Speed to 90% of this as roughly advised on the setup instructions. Thanks.

It looks as if the IPTV box traffic is being tagged as web traffic, though I could very well be wrong. I haven't actually tested the box yet to see if default settings would resolve it, but if it is being tagged as web traffic then I doubt it.

Screenshot_20240507_142607.png

You should be able to create an iptables rule in the GUI for the local IP of the TV box, and set the Class as “Streaming”.