What's new

Guest networks and DHCP

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

I am a bit new to this but this is the script I am using and I think it works (YMMV). It just has some small modifications from some of those linked in previous posts. In part it is structured to put all the guest networks on their own subnets. I have the entware platform installed so I just added it all to the end of the /jffs/scripts/services-start otherwise create that file, put #!/bin/sh at the top, chmod +xxx and reboot.

It does not appear to work on the RT-AC87U 5GHz interfaces (vlan4000, vlan4001 and vlan4002, clients on those interfaces will be allocated IP / subnet from the main interface). According to RMerlin (https://www.snbforums.com/threads/custom-dhcp-for-wireless-guest-networks.39347/) the 5GHz on the RT-AC87U is a separate firmware running on a separate CPU and I think that is causing issues (specifically it is causing the traffic to appear to come from the eth interface and not the vlan400X interfaces). I don't really know but I have tried hard and I can't get it to work at this stage. This also appears (in my testing) to mean it is not possible to disable intranet access from the 5GHz guest networks on the RT-AC87U (despite / contrary to the setting on the guest network page) so I have immediately disabled all 5GHz guest networks on my router anyway.

Hope it helps someone.

Ok I can't seem to get the code tags to work so I have linked it here - https://pastebin.com/wvbfuqFT

After having the same problem -- no DHCP for guest networks when main LAN has its own DHCP server -- I came up with a script to automatically take care of things. This works for up to three guest networks per band, or six in total, same as the Merlin GUI.