1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

How to get the most speed out of your LAN/WiFi.

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by Rob Q, Nov 20, 2019.

  1. Rob Q

    Rob Q Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2018
    Messages:
    144
    Hi,
    I'm sorry for asking this if this topic may already exists but I am unable to find it.
    Is there any settings of my RT-AC1900P that I could change for the maximum IO throughput on the WiFi and LAN?
    I'm using Merlin Firmware Version:384.13 and I think I'm using the default settings.
     
  2. dlandiss

    dlandiss Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2013
    Messages:
    494
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    Here is a compilation from several sources, including Merlin and John themselves.
     

    Attached Files:

    Zastoff and dave14305 like this.
  3. heysoundude

    heysoundude Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2016
    Messages:
    561
    If you compiled and maintain that, THANK YOU!
     
  4. dlandiss

    dlandiss Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2013
    Messages:
    494
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    The URL of my original source is at the top of the page. You can go there and see if any details have changed or been added. Credit also goes to a few regulars here who have this all figured out and freely share it with us. I think L&LD's messages have links at the bottom which further expand on this topic.
     
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2019
    heysoundude likes this.
  5. Rob Q

    Rob Q Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2018
    Messages:
    144
    Nice! Thanks for sharing. I got better coverage with the 2.4 and 5 GHZ networks now and the LAN seems to be quicker.
    For the LAN:
    Jumbo frame: enable
    NAT Acceleration: auto CTF, (Cut Through Forwarding) is enabled.
    Spanning-Tree Protocol: enable?

    Update:
    Later on.... I had to revert to 'factory defaults' because while streaming video, it kept buffering and wouldn't playback on the 2.4GHz network.

    The LAN settings such as 'jumbo frame' , 'NAT acceleration' and 'spanning-tree protocol', do they affect the Wifi or just the LAN ports?
     
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2019
  6. dlandiss

    dlandiss Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2013
    Messages:
    494
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    I'll have to leave that question for the guys here who understand the inner workings of the firmware. My best guess would be that they would affect everything on the LAN side.
     
  7. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    9,791
    Location:
    UK
    Personally I would leave Jumbo frames disabled. There's no real benefit and it might avoid packet fragmentation at the WAN interface.
     
    EventPhotoMan and Rob Q like this.
  8. Rob Q

    Rob Q Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2018
    Messages:
    144
    I'm keeping jumbo frames off.
     
  9. consorts

    consorts Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2018
    Messages:
    224
    Location:
    nyc
    just curious - has anyone encountered settings that may interfere with bluetooth devices, and if so what variations did you find may have alleviated such interference. i'm having difficulty where bluetooth devices don't resume handshakes after either the source or the output was powered off, so i have to keep manually re-doing it (deleting the device and adding it back again) between the source and the output (typically a speaker or headphone).
     
  10. Grisu

    Grisu Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    2,690
    USB3.0 is known to interfere in 2.4GHz band with WiFi and so BT too. Wifi and BT can be problematic to, better turn off 2.4G and use only 5G for your clients if possible.
     
  11. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    9,791
    Location:
    UK
    There used to be an option under 2.4 GHz Wireless > Professional for "Bluetooth Coexistence". Do you have that "enabled" (or "pre-emptive":confused:)?
     
  12. Rob Q

    Rob Q Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2018
    Messages:
    144
    So, turn off USB3.0. What do you mean by 'Wifi and BT can be problematic to'?
     
  13. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    9,791
    Location:
    UK
    WiFi and Bluetooth both operate on the same 2.4GHz band and it is quite common for them to interfere with each other.
     
  14. Rob Q

    Rob Q Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2018
    Messages:
    144
    Funny you should say that. Some days I do have issues syncing my Fitbit to my PC via Bluetooth. Maybe that's when the router's control channel for the 2.4Ghz network is operating on the same frequency as the Bluetooth radio in my watch.
     
  15. Rob Q

    Rob Q Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2018
    Messages:
    144
    My RT-AC1900P has that setting. What setting would you recommend that I have it on?
    upload_2019-11-22_20-2-30.png
     
  16. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    9,791
    Location:
    UK
    Your guess is as good as mine. Something other than "Disable".:D
     
    Rob Q likes this.
  17. Rob Q

    Rob Q Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2018
    Messages:
    144
    ColinTaylor likes this.
  18. Grisu

    Grisu Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    2,690
    I used to set Pre-emptive, but really dont know if it did anything better than disable or enable. It depends on BT-version and BT-client firmware to use this information from the router or simply ignore it.
    BT uses all 2.4-channels hopping around all the time. Problem will or may occour mostly on clients with active BT and 2.4-Wifi connection at the same time.
    And if you use USB3.0 stick or any device with badly shielded cable on the router it will influence 2.4 Wifi on the router. You can change USB-ports to use 2.0 only on GUI (only if a device is connected).