1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Max 2.4 GHZ Connections?

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by Xannicus, Jun 11, 2018.

  1. Xannicus

    Xannicus New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Hi All,

    Running RT-AC3200_384.5_0.zip firmware on my AC3200. The 2.4ghz channel seems to be tapping out at 8 connections. Is that expected?

    Thanks!
     
  2. kfp

    kfp Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2014
    Messages:
    707
    Some users hit 10, but yes it’s an issue with the drivers.
     
    Xannicus likes this.
  3. Xannicus

    Xannicus New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Ah, do any of the previous firmwares allow more? Planned fix for the future?
     
  4. kfp

    kfp Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2014
    Messages:
    707
    Yea, I’m not sure when exactly it started but I think it’s after they released fixed for KRACK.

    Most users that were willing to experiment reported that it is fixed in official firmware, some claim it’s still broken. You could give that a try? I’m guessing you’re not too heavily dependent on Merlin’s extra features.

    Lower channel help, narrower band helps. Good luck.
     
    Xannicus likes this.
  5. Xannicus

    Xannicus New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Thank you. I will just be patient and see what comes.
     
  6. sanjeevnuts

    sanjeevnuts Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    The current Stock firmware (July 1st) has been fixed. I had got restricted to 8, now I'm back to 15.

    Once ASUS makes the code available, Merlin will adapt it. For now, stock is the way to go.
     
  7. agilani

    agilani Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2012
    Messages:
    454
    I hit issues with 2 on my ac88 :( on stock
     
  8. kfp

    kfp Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2014
    Messages:
    707
    Yeah, it’s kind of weird that the latest stock is still hit and miss between all models. I’m starting to wonder if limit on number of devices has to do with the environment interference as well; more noisy less clients that kind of thing.

    Also, I’m beginning to think this is all because of the KRACK fix. With too much interference the router can’t reliably tell what is noise and what is an attack, so the authentication handshake fails.

    This also fits with the general advice of using lower channels since they are a tiny bit less prone to interference than the higher channels.
     
  9. agilani

    agilani Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2012
    Messages:
    454
    Does not explain why 2.4ghz on my repeaters are solid. I may just disable 2.4ghz on the main router and rely on the repeaters and just have the main router for wired and 5ghz connecions.
     
  10. kfp

    kfp Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2014
    Messages:
    707
    That’s interesting. Are your repeaters and main router different models?
     
  11. agilani

    agilani Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2012
    Messages:
    454
    The main router is an ac88
    Both repeaters are an ac68

    My previous setup which had the same problem was
    main router ac3100
    repeater ac66
    repeater ac68

    decided to upgrade everything hoping that putting everything on the new code base would resolve the issue.
     
    kfp likes this.
  12. Xannicus

    Xannicus New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Can confirm the most recent update resolved my issue. I can now hook up all my smart things to the 2.4 channel without any problems. Sucks losing my features on Merlin but thats the way it goes.

    Thanks all!
     
    kfp likes this.