1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Network Map and Client List missing on my Asus RT-AC68U after firmware upgrade

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by Holanos, Aug 19, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Holanos

    Holanos New Around Here

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Hey All,

    So i've done a search here but haven't found a solution.
    I have an asus RT-AC68U and had Merlin's 380.68.4 firmware on it. I updated to 384.13 and since then all my Client list/network map has stopped working. I can still find the names of connected devices in the system log and DHCP leases.

    I then did a factory reset in the hopes that if I started over from scratch and reconfigured my settings that it would solve the issue. Unfortunately, it has not solved the problem.

    I've also rebooted and unplugged/re-plugged the router. Note: I know that the mapping can take some time but after 24 hours, it still hasn't shown up, not 1 client.

    I've tried to go back to the 380 firmware but it won't let me... (i think this is by design though).


    Thoughts on how I can solve this or go back to the other firmware? I use network map/client list for parental/time controls.

    Thanks!

    *Edit:
    I do see a list of "offline" clients (when I click see offline clients) though when I attempt to set parental controls. They are not offline but the Router seems to think they are.. maybe that info will help.
    Edit2: And I do use a /24 network.


    *********
    ***** EDIT: Got it to work.. was able to go back to original firmware (found older firmware, SCP, Putty)...got everything back to normal... so sorry to have bothered you both and welp..now I know I have a TM router :(
     
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2019
  2. Swistheater

    Swistheater Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2017
    Messages:
    1,210
    Location:
    Florida
    You could try converting to stock rt68u most current and factory resetting and then converting back to merlin most recent.

    Just a quick question...
    Is this a converted TM1900 router?
     
  3. Holanos

    Holanos New Around Here

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Hi Swistheater! Thanks for the reply..

    I'm not sure about the TM1900... when I logon to my router config page it says RT-AC68U. Is there somewhere else I can check? I'm not the first owner...

    That sounds like a good idea... How do I convert back to stock? Is it simply another firmware upgrade or do I need to use Putty (or something)?

    Thanks!
     
  4. CaptainSTX

    CaptainSTX Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Messages:
    1,989
    The TM-1900 say T-Mobil on the front and have a couple of pink logos.
     
  5. Holanos

    Holanos New Around Here

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    I got my wife to look at it and it does indeed have a t-mobile sticker on it. Sigh...

    Ok, now that we know I majorly screwed up (cause I read about this issue since the upgrade), is there any way to go back? via putty, etc...? Now that the update is done, it seems that there is not much that can be done at that point... am I missing some way?

    Thoughts?

    ***** EDIT: Got it to work.. was able to go back to original firmware (found older firmware, SCP, Putty)...got everything back to normal... so sorry to have bothered you both and welp..now I know I have a TM router :(
     
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2019
  6. nathan909

    nathan909 New Around Here

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    I'm having the same issue with a R7000
     
  7. octopus

    octopus Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    Messages:
    1,206
  8. RMerlin

    RMerlin Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    31,020
    Location:
    Canada
    Forums aren't just for posting, they are also for reading...

    Closing this. The answers are already in the sticky posts right at the top of this forum that too many people are obviously failing to read.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.