What's new

New home network suggestions using RT-AX86U and ISP router

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

kanu2k23

New Around Here
Hey guys,
Really a noob here. I am looking for some suggestions on how to setup my house network. I have a 1GBPS internet connection with whole house wired with cat 5e cables from my basement to all the rooms.
Network equipment:
ONT router (ISP) - dont have access to the web interface of this but it has DHCP enabled (no WiFi but has a 2.5G port) In Basement
Wifi Router (ISP) - have access to the web interface with wifi enabled. On 1st floor
RT AX88U Pro - New I bought, will put merlin firmware
TP Link Archer C7 - Old router using with DD-WRT, was using it in my rental with 3 Wifi SSIDs, (5Ghz, 2Ghz and 2Ghz hidden for my wireless cameras)

Current Setup
ONT-> gigabit switch -> ISP wifi router

Now I need to setup my house with some smart devices, not sure how to set it up. Currently thinking of removing the ISP wifi router completely. Use the TP link with hidden 2.4Ghz wifi for all my smart devices on a different subnet and AX88U Pro for all my personal devices and PC using LAN cable.
How does this sound? any suggestions?

Last edited:
Hey guys,
Really a noob here. I am looking for some suggestions on how to setup my house network. I have a 1GBPS internet connection with whole house wired with cat 5e cables from my basement to all the rooms.
Network equipment:
ONT router (ISP) - dont have access to the web interface of this but it has DHCP enabled (no WiFi but has a 2.5G port) In Basement
Wifi Router (ISP) - have access to the web interface with wifi enabled. On 1st floor
RT AX88U Pro - New I bought, will put merlin firmware