What's new

Notification on OpenVPN client connection?

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

BGood

Regular Contributor
Is there any way I could get a push notification to my cell phone or email every time a remote client connects to my OpenVPN server on my router? It looks like they get logged, but I'd like something more immediate.

I'm pretty sure I remember something like this being discussed in the past using OpenVPN's client-connect option.

Use this to call your "push" script.
Code:
client-connect /jffs/scripts/server.sh
client-disconnect /jffs/scripts/server.sh

Last edited:
@octopus So, being a total noob to jffs and scripts, I have to put your code into a script saved to jffs. Then I need to also find and save the "wan-event' dynamic script, and also save and configure "pushover" as well?

Use this to call your "push" script.
Code:
client-connect /jffs/scripts/server.sh
client-disconnect /jffs/scripts/server.sh

So I've been dabbling with this very occasionally over the past few months, but I'm still lost. I have managed to set up WinSCP and I can see the /jffs/scripts folder. I signed up for Pushbullet.

I've also looked at the scripts @octopus linked.

So do I create a file in /jffs/scripts called openvpn-event and inside that file I put:
client-connect /jffs/scripts/notifyme.sh
client-disconnect /jffs/scripts/notifyme.sh

Then I make another file called notifyme.sh with this code:
#!/bin/sh
pushbullet_token="" # Your access token here (https://docs.pushbullet.com/)

pushbullet_message () {
text="OpenVPN event"
title="$USER@$HOSTNAME"