What's new

Request for Help: Introduction to Firewall (iptables) config to increase 32 rule limit

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

kadlugan

New Around Here
Hi All,

RE: Could someone please explain the specific steps, and what code i need to add/change in asuswrt-merlin, in order to use iptables or another approach to increase my stock firewall 32 rule limit.

I am a newbie regarding the use of asuswrt-merlin. I have the stock asuswrt firmware (RT-AC68U) currently but i am considering using merlin to provide better firewall configuration. This is because i have hit the 32 inbound whitelist limit in the asuswrt > network services filter configs. I have my firewall set to whitelist things like (eg http, tcp, ssl, sftp, facetime, git, etc, etc ). I assume i am doing the right thing by adding them in as a whitelist.

my current whitelist rules in the network services filter look like the following:
Source IP - Port Range - Destination IP - Port Range - Protocol
blank - blank - blank - 80 - TCP
blank - blank - blank - 443 - TCP
blank - blank - blank - 2268:2297 - UDP (e.g. madeup)
etc

However i haven't yet been able to find a really clear and simple explanation of how to extend the existing firewall limit in these forums or elsewhere using asuswrt-merlin. I keep getting to explanations that are too complex or specific around certain issues for what i need.

From my understanding i can configure more rules if i install asuswrt-merlin and get my hands dirty with iptables config.