What's new

Router Suggestion

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Jesse B

Regular Contributor
Howdy all,

I'm [possibly] in the market for a new router. Originally, I was planning on just running m0n0wall on an Alix board I have sitting around. I'm not against this, just exploring my options.

Basically, as far as features go, the must-haves are VPN, QoS and VLAN support. There will only ever been a maximum of 1 VPN connection. I am looking for a fun toy however, and I do want something I can learn on and play around with. I'm no networking expert, but I'd say I have above-average knowledge.

I originally saw the Ubiquiti EdgeRouter Lite, but have been told by others it's not really suited for home use. The RB2011UAS-2HnD-IN looks interesting as well, and the integrated WiFi is neat, but I've heard mixed reviews about it, and don't know much about RouterOS.

I'm just looking for suggestions in the $100-$150 range. If my best option right now would just to be sticking with the Alix/m0n0wall, so be it.

Thanks,

- Jesse

If you are willing to consider m0n0wall, you might want to spend $99 for the Ubiquti. Plenty to mess around with there.

The Ubiquiti EdgeRouter Lite will give you higher download speeds than m0n0wall on a Alix board. M0n0wall on an Alix board will only support about 50mbit, maybe a little more. I don’t know what your internet download speed is but m0n0wall loaded on an Alix board would be limited for today's download speeds.

Thanks for the input guys. Think I'm gonna order one of the Ubiquitis. Got some reading to do :D

New toy is here:D

2013-05-09190723_zpscdbcd0e0.jpg

2013-05-09191716_zpsc1800056.jpg